Awesome New Rock Band 3 DLC Drops December 28*

XBLA members who also own Rock Band 3 are about to have a very happy New year indeed. After endlessly flogging the Beatles canon, it seems that Harmonix has finally decided to thow some love to Paul McCartney’s solo career. They’ve also blown a wee kiss to Souxsie and The Banshees too!

OK, before we go any further, first of all, shut up Paul Haters. Paul’s career does, in fact, have some amazing stuff. McCartney, though uneven, is on Par with anything released by the other Beatles in the wake of their split. Ram is one of the best albums of the 70s, period, and ditto Band on the Run. It’s conventional wisdom that Paul McCartney was the shallow, uninventive one, but we are talking about the guy who wrote Penny Lane around the piccolo trumpet, kickstarted the ‘important’ phase of the Beatles career with Elenore Rigby, and conceived of the concept behind Rock’s first concept album. Sure, he’s a major pothead and that breeds a kind of happy laziness, but haters need to step off. Musical Genius: He haz it.

It’s also worth noting that Siouxsie and The Banshees are also very, very wonderful, and Cities In Dust happens to be my favorite of their songs. Anyway, allow me to quote liberally from the Press Release:

Harmonix and MTV Games today announced that a four pack of songs from Paul McCartney, as well as singles from Inhabited and Siouxsie and The Banshees will be available Dec. 28 in the Rock Band 3 Music Store of downloadable content for the Xbox 360® video game and entertainment system from Microsoft, PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system and Wii™.

Rock Band provides the deepest and best selection of artists, songs and albums through the Rock Band music platform, which features more than 800 artists and more than 2,000* tracks via disc and download purchase (complete list of tracks at Rock Band’s gigantic music library dwarfs that of any other rhythm video game on the market. To date, more than 75 million songs have been sold through the Rock Band Music Store since its launch Nov. 20, 2007.

Rock Band DLC Additions for Xbox 360, PlayStation®3 system and Wii

Rock Band 3 and Paul McCartney fans should have a blast taking on the keyboard parts in next week’s roster of downloadable content. “Celebrating Band on the Run Pack” will feature the legendary Paul McCartney ballad, “Maybe I’m Amazed,” as well as “Band on the Run,” “Helen Wheels” and “Let Me Roll It,” which features a Pro Guitar/Pro Bass upgrade. Those three classic songs are from Paul’s epic No. 1 album from 1973, Band on the Run. Band on the Run was remastered early this year and is now available in multiple formats, including the original album remastered, rare bonus audio and video content, all in exclusive packaging. Paul personally supervised all aspects of the Band on the Run reissue. The remastering work was done at Abbey Road using the same team who recently remastered the complete Beatles’ catalog. Click here to purchase your copy.

Available on Xbox 360 (Dec. 28) and Wii and PlayStation 3 system (Jan. 4):

* Paul McCartney – “Maybe I’m Amazed”
* Paul McCartney & Wings – “Band on the Run”
* Paul McCartney & Wings – “Helen Wheels”
* Paul McCartney & Wings – “Let Me Roll It”
* Inhabited – “Open My Eyes”
* Siouxsie and The Banshees – “Cities in Dust”

Sorry PSN and Wii users. You’ll have to enjoy this in 2011. XBLA members, on the other hand, are going to rock the hell out.

In the meantime, merry Christmas Gamefronters.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

No Comments on Awesome New Rock Band 3 DLC Drops December 28*