Blizzard Details Diablo 3 “Runestones”

We’ve known about the existence of Diablo 3‘s runestone system for a while, but Blizzard has finally posted an official details page.

How do runestones work? Each of the 100+ skills in the game can be modified with one of five runestones, resulting in 500+ combinations.

There are five runestone types: Crimson, Indigo, Obsidian, Golden, and Alabaster. Each runestone affects skills differently. For instance, this is how the iconic Barbarian Whirlwind skill is affected:

Crimson - Shoots bits of rock and gravel in every direction, dealing area effect damage.

Indigo - Barbarian spawns smaller whirlwinds which deal direct damage.

Obsidian - Provides the barbarian with immunity to immobilizing effects.

Golden - Reduced Fury cost.

Alabaster - Critical strikes confuse enemies, forcing them to attack their allies for a short time.

The visual effect is also altered, so astute players can deduce which runestone is applied to a skill based on visual clues alone.

Visit the official page for more details and videos showcasing the visual effect changes on skills for all five classes.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

No Comments on Blizzard Details Diablo 3 “Runestones”