Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Review (PC)

Much like its biggest competitor (Battlefield 3), Modern Warfare 3 has become known more for its multiplayer than anyting else. Making a return is Spec Ops, the solo or cooperative mode that lets players join a buddy (or go it alone) in a series of missions. Each has a discrete objective, such as disarming a bomb or capturing a hostage. There’s also a survival mode that pits you against ever-increasing waves of enemies.

While both of these modes can be played alone, they’re really desiged to be taken on with a buddy. Attempting them solo can be a frustrating experience, especially on harder difficulties. You won’t get an AI companion to aid you, so you’re completely on your own. That can be a tall order when you’re surrounded by enemies intent on only one thing: your death. The enemy difficulty doesn’t seem to adjust to the fact that you’re going it alone, so you should be prepared to have quite a fight on your hands.

Multiplayer remains largely the same, with the exception of the addition of two new game modes. The first is Kill Confirmed. The premise here is simple. Kill an enemy, and he’ll drop a dog tag. Pick it up, and you’ll gain extra points for yourself and your team. If you or someone on your team doesn’t pick it up, that kill won’t advance your team’s score. You can also grab the tags of fallen teammates to prevent the enemy from scoring those kills.

The other new mode is Team Defender, which is an interesting twist on Capture the Flag. Once you grab the flag, your job is to hold onto it as long as you can. The longer you hang on, the more points your team receives. It can become a hectic free-for-all, but it’s a simple and straightforward concept.

Other than the new game modes, not much has changed in MW3′s multiplayer. In fact, it feels almost exactly like Modern Warfare 2′s offering. Maps are small and tight, with multiple routes through the war-torn environments. It’s not at all unusual to spawn, take two steps, and get immediately gunned down. Repeatedly. Ultimately, that’s the biggest problem that MW3′s multiplayer presents. It’s far too easy to be eliminated multiple times without having any chance to do anything about it. While gamers who’ve memorized the spawn points to maximize the effectiveness of their camping might disagree, this can’t in any way be considered fun. It’s frustrating to anyone to be defenseless, and this is something that the series will need to address moving forward.

That said, when the multiplayer is working well, it can be great fun. Killstreaks, fast-paced action, and bullets flying everywhere can really get your adrenaline cranking. Unfortunately, Infinity Ward decided against Ranked dedicated servers again, leaving those of us on the PC to wend our way through a matchmaking process that moves at a snail’s pace. First you have to wait for it to find a game, then join, then test connections, choose a host, and then finally start the game. It might be acceptable if there was a valid reason behind it, but there just isn’t. It doesn’t combat cheating, as I watched multiple players track enemies through walls with their gun barrels. It’s a design choice that just should never have been made, and it’s only exacerbated when you try to play one of the less popular game modes, as finding a game takes forever.

Likewise, there are a number of game modes that are unavailable until players earn a certain rank. Again, it’s a baffling design choice that makes no sense. Why should I have to be level 10 if I want to play classic Capture the Flag? Maybe that’s my favorite game mode, and I don’t want to earn ten levels playing something else. Too bad, says Infinity Ward.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

18 Comments on Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Review (PC)

Luther

On November 10, 2011 at 1:52 pm

I’m sorry but I really don’t understand how you are scoring this, can you explain please how those cons don’t lower what would appear to me as being a really high score.

Is the kill confirmed mode giving this review 30 points?

brice

On November 10, 2011 at 3:26 pm

I dont know if it was because I bought and played BF3 first, but I was really disappointed in this game and wished I preordered Skyrim instead. First thing noticable was the same engine. Although it was apparent before release, I was expecting something….more I guess. The set pieces were pretty decent in the single player campaign, but everything else has much to be desired. I also hated the spawn campers, and it made it hard to get away from my spawn points fast enough. It became very frustrating. I played for a good 2 to 3 hours then started BF3 back up. Sorry COD, your days for me are about over. Ive been a COD fan since the start, but it hasn’t changed….

Ray

On November 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm

80 sounds a bit high for a 2007 expansion pack at full price in 2011.

Mlking21

On November 10, 2011 at 6:40 pm

The big problem with this game was that it was already thought of as a bad game months before the release, which already lowered it status. They should of used that as motivation and made the game better, however they didn’t which resulted in this catastrophe of a game. For me I might give this a 65/100.

Wolfman

On November 11, 2011 at 11:54 am

This review simply isn’t objective enough about the expectation that gamers expect something truly new and original in each release.
Its just another run of the mill COD games with, lets be honest, nothing that hasnt already been done bigger and better in other games.
The campaign mode even more painfully shorter than both COD titles last year, the mutiplayer lacks any originality. There has been no real attempt to uplift the GFX models and utilise the latest DX technologies to their best effect.
I think this effort will drive many many people away from the COD franchise for ever. If you are a die hard fan you will still buy and you will still pretend to like it.
But for me this truly is the final straw!

Matt

On November 11, 2011 at 12:14 pm

I like the other commenters here also found the game a big let down. The graphics look like console graphics, the maps appear to be more in number but all reduced in size.

I found that even the graphics on Black Ops looked better than this. I played this for about half an hour on release before loading up Battlefield 3 for another epic battle with 64 players on a game powered by a decent gapphics engine.

That is something of a major snub to the series considering when I check my steam account I sunk 750 hours into Black Ops and am prestige 15.

The problem with releasing a dud in a series like CoD is that you lose a customer forever, becuase that customer isn’t going to take a risk on another CoD when they have been burned by $60 which I feel I have in this case.

I am sure I am not alone either on this.

John

On November 11, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Disappointing to say the least. I had been looking forward to this game sionce it was released and look at it…..it looks like a dogs dinner. Sorry Activision but I won’t be getting another CoD.

Frank

On November 11, 2011 at 12:19 pm

No no no no no more buying CoD for me. This is the death of CoD for me.

Jan

On November 11, 2011 at 11:57 pm

I’ve bought the game for the multi player, not the short single player or even the dated gfx have dented the experience for me. I’m sure to get my $ worth in terms of hours spend shooting at friends and foe’s alike before moving on to newer and better things.

I agree that alot of the con’s listed does leave a disappointing taste in my mouth every now and then, and I would probably not pre purchase the next cod, but right now I’m happy with what I still rate as good Multiplayer fun.

nailboy6789

On November 12, 2011 at 3:00 am

i knew it well i’m not promoting piracy, but i downloaded the cracked version first then after playing the single player campaign (which is really short, same graphics, new guns, and finally the story is over so no more MW4!) then after playing the survival mode i was like HOLY SH*T DUDE I’M GOING TO BUY THIS RIGHT AWAY! then off to the nearest game store.

BSC

On November 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm

They really need to stop putting these pictures on their reviews that are clear and crisp and look like up to date modern graphics. As far as im concerned this is false advertising. Take about 10 years worth of graphic advancements and upgrades off of that picture. Then you will have a true representation of what the game looks like.

Derka

On November 13, 2011 at 7:29 am

@John

You are going to buy it because your friends have it.

That’s why COD keeps selling so much.

mhmad

On November 14, 2011 at 9:56 am

Is possible for the game I want to downloaded

John

On November 15, 2011 at 10:16 pm

I just recently got back into the FPS world. I had originally bought the BF3 just advised by friends. the game went with out disappointment. the only thing I was missing was the fast paced fighting that COD offers. Tonight I dove in and bought the MW3. I feel like i was lied to and robbed. I see why they spent so much on advertisement, because this game alone wont sell its self.Playing on an MX14 with all settings up, my Wii looks better.

BitKilla

On November 19, 2011 at 8:00 pm

I love that they have not messed with the graphics engine. This is a smart move for infinity ward based on the catastrophic failure of the Black Ops engine enhancements.

Djwess

On November 24, 2011 at 7:45 pm

too bad cod no more for me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

kdawg

On November 24, 2011 at 7:47 pm

see yah s!

Peter Suns

On March 18, 2012 at 7:27 pm

It’s got a good idea that it’s based on, but I would be very cautious about buying it. I did a search for it on Yahoo and I found several sales websites that had it listed, but none of them listed the exact ingredients… the most I could find was “Red hot chilis or capsicum extracts are the main ingredients while it also has small amount of caffeine.” The other concerning factor was that most of the websites were offering free trials, which are just screaming red flags for potential fraud.