Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Review (PC)

Speaking of leveling, the XP system returns in MW3, with a new max level cap of 80. There are a ton of weapons to unlock, with a slew of attachments for each. Pretty much all of them have been in CoD titles before, but that’s OK. The newest thing is Strike Packages, which allow players to customize their killstreaks.

Choosing the Assault strike package means your killstreaks work pretty much like they always have. You’ll unlock drones, airstrikes, and even helicopter attacks. The Support package offers a more defensive reward set, with things like SAM turrets, recon drones and even counter-UAVs. One other plus to the support package is that your killstreak count won’t reset when you die, making it easier to reach those hard-to-access 18 kill rewards.

The final package is the Specialist, and it’s probably the most rewarding when properly utilized. With this equipped, you’ll unlock a specific order of perks as you pile up the kills. You’ll still have your 3 perks for your class, but as you wipe out the enemy, you’ll gain more and more perks from a list that you pre-selected. It can be tailored to fit your strategy for any game mode. For example, you could add Scavenger to help refill the ammo you spent to get the kills, or anything else your heart desires. Of course, if you have a bad round and don’t get any kill streaks going, you’ll be without any benefit from this package.

Call of Duty Elite is the final addition to this year’s offering. Unfortunately, since the PC version of Elite is still missing in action, I wasn’t able to spend any time with it.

One thing that wasn’t added to Modern Warfare 3 was a new graphics engine, and the game suffers for it. It’s not so much that the game looks bad, it just looks dated, especially next to its competition. Graphically, it’s not a step forward from MW2 at all, unless it’s a tiny, shuffling step. Still, the upside for gamers is that if you have a PC that would run MW2 maxed out, you can also run Modern Warfare 3 maxed out. Even on an older GTX 260, I was able to get blazing fast performance with everything maxed out. It’s not a deal breaker for this game, but with the age of the engine showing, Infinity Ward will be hard pressed to wring another game out of it.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is an iterative step up from its predecessor. It’s not a bad game at all; in fact, it’s a rather competent one. If this was your first Modern Warfare game, you would have a blast. Unfortunately, the vast majority of people who purchase MW3 will be veterans of the series, and for them this will be a minor upgrade. Still, fans of the series will find a lot here that they will like, and those new to the series will find plenty of exactly what they expect. It’s a fitting conclusion to the series that any fan of Modern Warfare would be happy to own. The shame of it is that with all the hype, all the advertising, and all the expectations, it just seems like we’ve all been here before.

Pros:

  • Enormous, elaborate set pieces keep the campaign action moving
  • The new Kill Confirmed mode is a gem
  • Strike Packages let gamers customize their character even more
  • Runs extremely well, even on older hardware
  • When it works, multiplayer can be a blast

Cons:

  • Incomprehensible story
  • Small, crowded multiplayer maps result in chaos and repeated insta-death
  • Locked game modes
  • Dated graphics
  • PC CoD Elite is MIA
  • Lack of dedicated servers on PC means lots of time wasted trying to start playing

Final Score: 80/100

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

18 Comments on Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Review (PC)

Luther

On November 10, 2011 at 1:52 pm

I’m sorry but I really don’t understand how you are scoring this, can you explain please how those cons don’t lower what would appear to me as being a really high score.

Is the kill confirmed mode giving this review 30 points?

brice

On November 10, 2011 at 3:26 pm

I dont know if it was because I bought and played BF3 first, but I was really disappointed in this game and wished I preordered Skyrim instead. First thing noticable was the same engine. Although it was apparent before release, I was expecting something….more I guess. The set pieces were pretty decent in the single player campaign, but everything else has much to be desired. I also hated the spawn campers, and it made it hard to get away from my spawn points fast enough. It became very frustrating. I played for a good 2 to 3 hours then started BF3 back up. Sorry COD, your days for me are about over. Ive been a COD fan since the start, but it hasn’t changed….

Ray

On November 10, 2011 at 6:26 pm

80 sounds a bit high for a 2007 expansion pack at full price in 2011.

Mlking21

On November 10, 2011 at 6:40 pm

The big problem with this game was that it was already thought of as a bad game months before the release, which already lowered it status. They should of used that as motivation and made the game better, however they didn’t which resulted in this catastrophe of a game. For me I might give this a 65/100.

Wolfman

On November 11, 2011 at 11:54 am

This review simply isn’t objective enough about the expectation that gamers expect something truly new and original in each release.
Its just another run of the mill COD games with, lets be honest, nothing that hasnt already been done bigger and better in other games.
The campaign mode even more painfully shorter than both COD titles last year, the mutiplayer lacks any originality. There has been no real attempt to uplift the GFX models and utilise the latest DX technologies to their best effect.
I think this effort will drive many many people away from the COD franchise for ever. If you are a die hard fan you will still buy and you will still pretend to like it.
But for me this truly is the final straw!

Matt

On November 11, 2011 at 12:14 pm

I like the other commenters here also found the game a big let down. The graphics look like console graphics, the maps appear to be more in number but all reduced in size.

I found that even the graphics on Black Ops looked better than this. I played this for about half an hour on release before loading up Battlefield 3 for another epic battle with 64 players on a game powered by a decent gapphics engine.

That is something of a major snub to the series considering when I check my steam account I sunk 750 hours into Black Ops and am prestige 15.

The problem with releasing a dud in a series like CoD is that you lose a customer forever, becuase that customer isn’t going to take a risk on another CoD when they have been burned by $60 which I feel I have in this case.

I am sure I am not alone either on this.

John

On November 11, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Disappointing to say the least. I had been looking forward to this game sionce it was released and look at it…..it looks like a dogs dinner. Sorry Activision but I won’t be getting another CoD.

Frank

On November 11, 2011 at 12:19 pm

No no no no no more buying CoD for me. This is the death of CoD for me.

Jan

On November 11, 2011 at 11:57 pm

I’ve bought the game for the multi player, not the short single player or even the dated gfx have dented the experience for me. I’m sure to get my $ worth in terms of hours spend shooting at friends and foe’s alike before moving on to newer and better things.

I agree that alot of the con’s listed does leave a disappointing taste in my mouth every now and then, and I would probably not pre purchase the next cod, but right now I’m happy with what I still rate as good Multiplayer fun.

nailboy6789

On November 12, 2011 at 3:00 am

i knew it well i’m not promoting piracy, but i downloaded the cracked version first then after playing the single player campaign (which is really short, same graphics, new guns, and finally the story is over so no more MW4!) then after playing the survival mode i was like HOLY SH*T DUDE I’M GOING TO BUY THIS RIGHT AWAY! then off to the nearest game store.

BSC

On November 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm

They really need to stop putting these pictures on their reviews that are clear and crisp and look like up to date modern graphics. As far as im concerned this is false advertising. Take about 10 years worth of graphic advancements and upgrades off of that picture. Then you will have a true representation of what the game looks like.

Derka

On November 13, 2011 at 7:29 am

@John

You are going to buy it because your friends have it.

That’s why COD keeps selling so much.

mhmad

On November 14, 2011 at 9:56 am

Is possible for the game I want to downloaded

John

On November 15, 2011 at 10:16 pm

I just recently got back into the FPS world. I had originally bought the BF3 just advised by friends. the game went with out disappointment. the only thing I was missing was the fast paced fighting that COD offers. Tonight I dove in and bought the MW3. I feel like i was lied to and robbed. I see why they spent so much on advertisement, because this game alone wont sell its self.Playing on an MX14 with all settings up, my Wii looks better.

BitKilla

On November 19, 2011 at 8:00 pm

I love that they have not messed with the graphics engine. This is a smart move for infinity ward based on the catastrophic failure of the Black Ops engine enhancements.

Djwess

On November 24, 2011 at 7:45 pm

too bad cod no more for me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

kdawg

On November 24, 2011 at 7:47 pm

see yah s!

Peter Suns

On March 18, 2012 at 7:27 pm

It’s got a good idea that it’s based on, but I would be very cautious about buying it. I did a search for it on Yahoo and I found several sales websites that had it listed, but none of them listed the exact ingredients… the most I could find was “Red hot chilis or capsicum extracts are the main ingredients while it also has small amount of caffeine.” The other concerning factor was that most of the websites were offering free trials, which are just screaming red flags for potential fraud.