Diablo 3 Review

I’ve previously expressed my concerns about Diablo 3 being able to live up to the colossal hype that surrounded it. Evidence of eleventh-hour changes seemed to suggest that the game was being rushed out the gate. With none of the original series’ developers working on the title, this would effectively be the first Diablo game Blizzard made. The industry titan has proven that it makes great MMORPG and RTS titles, but how would its first action RPG turn out without Blizzard North at the helm?

Having sunk a couple dozen hours into the game, I can now revisit the issue and ask:

Were my concerns validated?

Diablo 3 (2012): PC
Developer: Blizzard Entertainment
Publisher: Blizzard Entertainment
Released: May 15, 2012
MSRP: $59.99

Blizzard first caught my eye with Warcraft 2 in 1995, and I’ve been following the company ever since. Beyond the Dark Portal, Diablo, StarCraft, Brood War, Diablo 2, Lord of Destruction, Warcraft 3, The Frozen Throne, World of Warcraft, StarCraft 2 — I’ve played them all. I know Blizzard games.

To review Diablo 3, we need to consider the game’s success not just as a standalone action RPG title, but also as a sequel to a longstanding franchise. Let’s dive in.

Gameplay

Despite a completely revamped skill system, Diablo 3 still plays like Diablo 2 — furious clicking to get to the next loot piñata as quickly as possible. Combat is straightforward, fast-paced, and satisfyingly brutal. It’s simple enough to be quick to learn, but nuanced enough to offer depth for those looking to get into the numbers.

The new skill system is a welcome change for me. I love the flexibility it affords, no longer forcing players to commit to a decision they’ll have to live with for 90 levels. Other innovations improve upon the D2 experience as well, such as totems at the end of dungeons that allow you to teleport to the entrance rather than retrace your steps, the ability to drop environmental hazards on enemies, health globes that provide healing when walked over, a shared stash between all your characters, the ability to pick up gold by simply walking over it, and a more easily manageable inventory system.

It’s not all roses, however; some enemies are more annoying than difficult to fight, such as creatures with the Nightmarish affix. When they strike you, they impose a fear effect that sets your character running in the opposite direction for a moment and making combat tedious. This is simply not a fun mechanic — no one enjoys losing control of their character. But that’s just a minor nitpick.

What Diablo 3′s combat system does best is make you feel powerful. The combination of slaying demons in droves and over-the-top particle effects and animations leave you feeling like the biggest badass in the Burning Hells, even when you’re partied up with three other demi-gods. Each of the game’s five classes plays differently and carries a unique flavor, but they all feel powerful.

D3′s co-op experience is enjoyable; however, combat with a four player party can rapidly degenerate into a complete Charlie Foxtrot, especially with more than one Witch Doctor in the group. Distinguishing between the various particle effects and models is a greater challenge than some of the Act bosses. That said, playing with friends is always fun, generally allows for more rapid progression through the game, and with individual loot drops, you no longer have to worry about racing to click on loot before anyone else.

I wasn’t a fan of player-versus-player combat in Diablo 2, but I nonetheless appreciated the option to duel a friend now and again just for kicks. Although PvP arenas have been promised for D3, the lack of any form of temporary PvP measure is felt. If a friend and I want to cross swords, knowing full well the game isn’t balanced for PvP, why shouldn’t we be able to?

D3 challenges players with four difficulty modes, allowing them to replay the same content at higher levels. The challenge truly begins in the second difficulty setting, Nightmare, and continues to ramp up nicely from there. Those seeking a greater challenge can create a Hardcore character, who only has one life — death is permanent. However, given the current server issues, you’re as likely to die due to lag as you are through your own fault.

Visuals & Setting

Graphically, Diablo 3 is dated, with disappointingly low poly-counts and muddy textures. While this is nothing new for Blizzard given the relatively long development cycles of their games, I’ve never felt the gap in graphical quality between Blizzard and other AAA developers more than with D3. I understand that Blizzard likes to keep scalability in mind and create games that older computers can run, but a high-res option would have allowed the game to age better while still accommodating a wide range of gaming rigs.

The silver lining is Blizzard’s art direction. Diablo 3 looks dated, yes, but it doesn’t look bad. Far from it, in fact. Once you accept the dated graphics, you begin appreciating the artistry of the world, which is terrifically executed. Environments have depth, personality, and dynamic elements.

Visually, Blizzard has brought the Diablo series in line with its Warcraft and StarCraft franchises, with bold colors, clean lines, and stylized proportions. While D3 is certainly darker than Blizzard’s other opuses, it’s a far cry from the gritty, macabre horror that defined the look of the Diablo franchise — the more cartoonish style lessens the impact of gory visuals.

Advancing through D3′s settings relates a visual narrative that introduces darkness into the world progressively, dialing up gloom in pace with the story and letting players revisit familiar locales along the way. Thankfully, Blizzard realized how much players hated the jungles of D2′s Act 3 and wisely skipped that setting; though they strangely decided to keep an incarnation of the giant mosquitoes that manage to be all the more annoying by shooting bees — yes, bees — at you.

D3′s world is seeped in lore that has been wisely integrated into gameplay via tomes you find lying around that activate voice-over narrations. Without having to stop to read anything, you learn a little more about the game world while continuing your quest.

As usual, Blizzad once again delivers mind-blowing quality in its cinematics. While some clichéd dialogue may give you reason to turn down the volume, the visuals are a feast for the eyes. I’ve always looked forward to Blizzard’s cinematics, and D3 didn’t let me down.

The Story

Diablo 3 doesn’t offer Blizzard’s best storytelling. While there was a major surprise for me here and there, predictable plot elements and clichés pervade the story. Some lines of dialogue had me cringing — a first for a Blizzard title. I almost refused to believe that my favorite character would speak with such a mouthful of cheese.

Villain Belial is finally revealed in a scene so predictable that even your character lampshades the fact that she saw it coming a mile away — and he is the Lord of Lies, the one character you’d expect to catch you completely by surprise. Baal, Lord of Destruction, had a more shocking reveal back in Diablo 2.

Now, I can forgive a little triteness as long as the story’s ending is satisfying, but D3 fails to deliver here. D3 has some powerful and emotional scenes in its first Act, but ultimately left me hollow at curtain call. I won’t say the game’s story is bad, but I expected more from the conclusion to the Diablo trilogy. The most important plot twist was predicted by fans months to years ago, and is essentially glossed over by the characters and never brought up again. The ending simply doesn’t provide sufficient closure on the issues that emotionally engaged the audience — even factoring in the probability of a sequel.

I will applaud D3 for better incorporating your character into the story than its predecessor, and providing a protagonist with voice — both literally and figuratively. D2 made you feel incidental to the story; D3 makes you feel integral. Your character has back story, interacts with NPCs in meaningful ways, and is the driving force of the narrative.

Some may say that Diablo never had a strong story, and whether that’s true or not is irrelevant — the fact that Diablo 1 or 2 did not include something doesn’t make it okay for Diablo 3 to exclude it, especially given how far the gaming industry has evolved over the past fifteen years. We’ve come to expect more from stories in games: characters with depth, captivating plots, twists that keep us guessing, and an ending that we’ll remember for years. Other titles have served as paragons of how captivating a video game’s story should be; Diablo 3 should be measured against no lesser standard.

It should be noted as a companion point to the game’s art direction that the story direction also feels more in line with Warcraft than Diablo. D2′s story was dark, bleak, and unsettling; D3′s story is epic, cinematic, and uplifting. Neither style is superior — they’re just different.

One thing D3′s story does well is build up the anticipation for boss fights by introducing key villains early on and vilifying them through repeat exposure. Once you finally face one of these antagonists, you’re chomping at the bit to tear his head off. Although the device is overused to the point that the writers’ intent is completely transparent, it makes for more satisfying victories. That said, clichéd dialogue cheapens the bosses themselves, transforming them from frightening demons to incompetent Bond villains.

D3 pays homage to the Diablo series by either bringing back or making reference to a host of familiar faces, although it is sometimes heavy-handed in its approach, jabbing you in the ribs and saying, “Hey, remember this guy? Huh? Huh?” Though for every indiscreet reintroduction is a subtle reference that can easily go unnoticed, serving as an Easter egg for series diehards.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

42 Comments on Diablo 3 Review

Baker

On May 23, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Story wasn’t that great, I agree.

As for the graphics, this game has proven that you don’t need high poly count and high res textures to create absolutely stunning visuals. This was, in my opinion, one of the greatest feats of this game.

As for the always-online requirement, besides the lag issues and rubber-banding that occurs (which I assume will diminish in the next few days/weeks), I don’t see any other profit-maximizing options from a business point of view in this day and age of software pirating. Not to mention the infested item-selling market in D2, being online gives them the tools they need (Auction House) to combat things like that as well.

Nice review, 85 is what I’d throw at it :)

clamsarehot

On May 24, 2012 at 1:28 am

“The new skill system is a welcome change for me. I love the flexibility it affords, no longer forcing players to commit to a decision they’ll have to live with for 90 levels.”

Stopped reading here, . Forcing players to commit to a decision garnered much replayability. It doesn’t matter if it’s CONVENIENT, it matters if it has replayability. D2 with it’s lasting decisions had replayability; D3 has none.

“To circle back to my original two concerns, Diablo 3 does not feel rushed”

Oh my God you are a sell out got. It is extremely rushed. it plays like a mother ing alpha. Auction house bugs, players constantly hacked, itemization broken, boring repetitive play, terrible storyline. What the did you make an article claiming you were afraid to review D3 for? You sold out, you ing’ . this site. GG.

clamsarehot

On May 24, 2012 at 1:30 am

Sellout. This site isn’t any better than any other game review site. You ignored everything bad about D3 to give it a review it didn’t deserve. And you waited a week and a half to do it. Lazy, cheap, sellouts without any principles. You are pathetic.

clamsarehot

On May 24, 2012 at 1:40 am

You’ve represented yourself as an individual who gives an honest review. You didn’t, and you know it. Anyone who reads the Diablo III forums can see how much stuff is messed up about his game. Shame on you for your lack of integrity.

Reasons Diablo III is terribad:

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5149180398?page=1

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5150760298?page=1

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5271780486

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5150760810

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5149180916?page=9#171

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5271600670

btw

On May 24, 2012 at 2:06 am

I see right through your previous article claiming you were afraid to review Diablo III. Why? Plenty of other reviewers gave it less than a 90 score. You’re nothing special. In fact, that article was just a marketing strategy to draw in more folks to Gamefront just like you did with the Mass Effect 3 ending. But you really have no standards after all judging by this review. Just as you manipulate the dumb masses, so does Blizzard, and THAT is why we keep getting disgustly terrible games. Stop contributing to the problem. Have some pride in what you do. Jeez.

troop

On May 24, 2012 at 3:11 am

I really liked page 1 of the review, but page 2 came full circle back to high praise.

In my opinion the game was OK at best.

The story was not engaging whatsoever, I was skipping cutscenes and not invested at all.
Contrast this with ME3 where i was engrossed in the story more than anything I can remember in my 33 years – phenomenal stuff!

The gameplay is quite addictive, but its mind numbing in a hack-n-slash stupor fashion. I dont see much longevity or replay potential as is – but then again perhaps there’s a lot more mindless zombies out there than I’d expect?

Game is worthy of 65-70 tops.

Luther

On May 24, 2012 at 3:41 am

I agree with this review its dead on, for me personally I would of gave the game a 75 instead of a 85.

I really like how I can customize my barb to be a full on tanking or pure dps or a mixture of both on the fly. at lv 42 you get taunt which is awesome but i wish they could of changed it to have been around lv 20ish.

Ted

On May 24, 2012 at 7:18 am

It was an okay game, certainly doesn’t warrant 85 or anywhere in the 8 or 9 range.

CJ Miozzi

On May 24, 2012 at 8:06 am

@btw:

A gander at Metacritic reveals that ~77% of reviewers gave D3 a 90/100 or greater.

eddie

On May 24, 2012 at 8:33 am

I have to disagree with all of you who called this guy a sellout, maybe he liked the game a bit more than you but he was still far more honest in his review and much more critical of the game, especially the drm and server issues than a lot of other sites I’ve looked at such as ign

Nulltron

On May 24, 2012 at 8:43 am

@C J Miozzi

Why not ditto that, then. Like, “you like it? Fine by me.” And get done with it. Mind-Blowing cinematics does not make a game. Neither does artistically-rendered worlds. A game should first and foremost be able to stand on its merit as a “game”. The world can then enhance it. I have not played Diablo 3, but given the hype level, Blizzard, and what has transpired so far, I will lower my initial value of the game from 7/10 to 6/10.

Mark Burnham

On May 24, 2012 at 10:15 am

Let’s take a look here:

Polygon – 100
Giant Bomb – 100
Eurogamer Portugal – 100
Joystiq – 100
IGN – 95
Machinima – 95
Ausgamers – 92
Game Informer – 90
PC Gamer – 90
G4 – 90
Wired – 90
Eurogamer – 90
Edge Magazine – 90

Game Front – 85

CJ knows Blizzard games really well, and he wrote an honest, detailed, and (I think) accurate review that captures the essences of the experience.

B

On May 24, 2012 at 12:01 pm

You people don’t like the review…….write your own and try to post it online. Being a media critic is difficult work because of all the harsh feedback from differences in opinion. This review is based off of a SINGLE persons opinion of a game. As with any other critic review. Everyone’s experience is different and it shows with your comments.

I agree with most of the review, and thought it was fair……..oh no….here comes the talking trolls again!

Despite all the crap you guys talk about the broken game……your still playing it aren’t you? My guess is….you will all STILL be playing it years down the road.

Yes I hate the DRM, but I still find myself enjoying the game immensely. You dont? Go play MW3….

kaa0s

On May 24, 2012 at 12:58 pm

@ troop

“The story was not engaging whatsoever, I was skipping cutscenes and not invested at all.
Contrast this with ME3 where i was engrossed in the story more than anything I can remember in my 33 years – phenomenal stuff!”

You don’t seriously expect a hack-n-slash action rpg to deliver a story like ME? Do you also expect such a story from all the other different genre games you buy?

“The gameplay is quite addictive, but its mind numbing in a hack-n-slash stupor fashion. I dont see much longevity or replay potential as is – but then again perhaps there’s a lot more mindless zombies out there than I’d expect?”

Exactly. That is what this type of game tries to be. It is meant to be addictive and “simple”. It might be a little mind-numbing especially on normal difficulty. I’m pretty sure you have not yet to conquer Inferno, or Hell or even Nightmare, imo the game should’ve started from the current Nightmare difficulty. It is a totally different game past the normal. Enemies have different abilities etc. that you don’t even get to experience otherwise. Anyway, my point is that IT IS a hack-n-slash game. And it does its job gameplay wise pretty well. Thus 85 sounds about right to me.

psycros

On May 24, 2012 at 1:24 pm

A year from now, no one will remember Diablo 3′s botched launch, but that’s not the heart of the issue — the DRM is, which will never go away.

Oh, we’ll remember..we’ll remember. And with each new megafail brought on by the arrogance of devs and publishers, the gamer becomes that much less forgiving. This review was the most balanced I’ve seen thus far but I still felt that D3′s ongoing problems were glossed over a bit too much. The problems with D3 are staggering for something with an alleged 12 year development period, and Blizzard’s spin doctoring is only aggravating the situation. But this time they MUST address problems because they’ve got so much riding on money laund-errr, auction house transactions. If they want that cash cow to produce, they better get real, and real soon. At day’s end I’m left asking myself, “is this game better than Titan Quest?” For me the answer is a solid “no”.

clamsarehot

On May 24, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Metacritic’s critics gave it an 89. The game deserves a 70 or less. CJ clearly gave a middleground review so as not to push any buttons, after waiting for a bunch of other reviewers to set the pace with below 90 reviews. Sure, he isn’t a total sellout like those who gave it 90+, but he’s still being dishonest by giving it an 85. And after writing an article about how he’s afraid to review Diablo 3, indicating he’d actually give an honest review, this is a disappointment. And CJ, don’t bother telling me your review is honest. You compromised and you know it.

clamsarehot

On May 24, 2012 at 3:14 pm

But come on CJ it’s not even really the 85 that’s important. You didn’t even really focus on how bad a game it is. No customization, itemization broken, auction house buggy and broken which is even worse with the RMAH in the future, no pvp, cartoonish graphics, the game is like WoW.

I mean you called the auction house problems, where people are losing all their items and gold, and which Blizzard has now taken down, “a few kinks that need to be worked out”. Come on! You should be giving this game a review of 70 or less because it wasn’t even released in working condition. Everything about the game is broken, it is literally in alpha stage. An auction house that doesn’t even work???? With a Real Money AH on the way? ABSURD. Players constantly getting hacked? ABSURD. None of this is defensible. The game is crapola.

Honestly I’ve seen more thorough reviews on the battle.net forums. I already linked them.

clamsarehot

On May 24, 2012 at 3:16 pm

And apologies if I’m being harsh, but when you go on and claim you have integrity with an article about how you’re afraid to review D3, then go back on your word with an empty review, you have it coming.

Phil Hornshaw

On May 24, 2012 at 3:17 pm

@clamsarehot

Sounds like somebody’s got a case of the my-opinion-is-the-only-correct-opinion-because-it-is-mines.

CJ Miozzi

On May 24, 2012 at 3:38 pm

@clamsarehot:

I can see by your multiple comments that you feel strongly about this, and I’m sorry if your D3 experience has been worse than mine.

Ultimately, the worth of a game lies in how fun it is to play. Factors can add to and detract from that fun, and I believe I listed most of the major ones. I have fun playing D3. I find myself wanting to play D3 when I should be working. I know the game isn’t perfect, which is why I didn’t give it a perfect score, but ultimately it’s more fun than a lot of other games out there.

You’re allowed to believe the game deserves less than an 85, and I respect your right to express your opinion. But you’re not allowed to tell me how I feel about the game. I’ve played alphas, I’ve played betas, I’ve seen games completely broken at launch. I’ve tried far too many games that feel clunky and broken and simply aren’t fun to play because of it. I honestly don’t believe D3 is so bad that it falls into that group.

If you believe I deceived you, sold out, or was otherwise dishonest in my review, you have a right to believe that. But I urge you to recall one of the major points in my previous article: the magic number 90, and its importance in the industry.

If I were playing it safe, I would have given D3 a 90, like 50%+ of reviewers did. I didn’t, because I don’t believe it deserves a 90. Think about it — what’s the difference between an 85 and a 90? 5%. Not much, right? If I were being dishonest, why wouldn’t I just bump it up another 5% and give it a 90, knowing I would then be in good with Blizzard?

Because I’m not a sellout. I gave the game what I felt it deserved.

You’re allowed to disagree.

Jon

On May 24, 2012 at 5:47 pm

I find this review to still be generous in its assessment of D3. Having played it into Hell, I find the game is already getting tedious rather than staying fun and re-playable. It is nothing more than an average game. I truthfully had more fun playing Dungeon Siege 3 than Diablo 3.

If I were reviewing this game, it would get a 6/10; above average, but nothing stellar, and definitely not a good continuation in a well-liked franchise.

kevin

On May 24, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Don’t see what the big deal is. Unlike IGN, it wasn’t completely fawning. He listed some pros for the game, and some obvious cons.

In the end, 85 out of 100 is a B. It doesn’t get the “A” score, because, in the reviewers eyes, it doesn’t warrant it. Yet he also doesn’t feel the entire game is mediocre. It accomplished what it set out to do, albeit not in style. He also listed the negatives very clearly. So if you actually care about the negatives, you can see them up front, and make an informed decision.

I honestly think some would’ve never been happy unless the author just wrote “this game is teh suk” 100 times. Just like the blizzardbots aren’t happy unless you praise absolutely everything Blizzard does.

clamsarehot

On May 25, 2012 at 2:05 pm

And what’s the difference between and 85 and a 70? A lot of lost ad revenue I think, or you would have given it a proper score.

Did you even play Inferno? If not, why are you even reviewing the game? It has zero replayability, which is the TOP reason people played the previous Diablo games, even Starcraft too. The reason all the old Diablo fans bought the game is they thought it would be a great successor to the previous games with thousands of hours of replayability. But the game has none of that. It’s boring and repetitive, and the endgame isn’t fun. This review has no substance.

“Diablo 3 does not feel rushed”

The game is broken in nearly every way imaginable. Itemization is totally imbalanced. Gameplay is totally imbalanced. The servers are terrible. Accounts are being constantly hacked. The auction house keeps stealing people’s money and items, and they’re supposed to make it real money soon? The game is absolutely terrible, especially in endgame. It is acceptable for a company to make corrections to minor bugs after release, but that’s not what’s happening here. Everything that should’ve been tested is completely broken. It wouldn’t have been hard to properly balance itemization or gameplay. Beta testers have been talking about these issues for 8 months and Blizzard ignored them. The game is BROKEN, not just having minor flaws. They released a game that is basically a $60-$120 BETA. Completely unacceptable. Now they are ignoring all the users with complaints, or telling them it’s their fault. I am a lifelong Blizzard fan, I played Starcraft, the Diablo games, and WoW, but I will NEVER buy another Blizzard game based on the way they’ve treated the users and released an unfinished game.

MPSewell

On May 26, 2012 at 6:28 am

Oh look, another game review that bowed down and praised a pile of rushed crap because Diablo was slapped on the title, how shocking. The voice of the people is now the voice of Blizzard.

clamsarehot

On May 26, 2012 at 2:41 pm

I gave my thorough review here:

http://www.gamefront.com/friday-flame-wars-does-diablo-3-deserve-a-90-or-a-60/

Awaiting an update.

If the flame war thing was just a way to troll those who disagree with your review, well, you have the same attitude as Blizzard then, and I won’t be buying your product either.

clamsarehot

On May 26, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Still waiting for the OP to play through Inferno and tell us what a great, balanced, challenging game it isn’t.

Matthew

On May 26, 2012 at 4:52 pm

I have one really big negative thing to say.

Always on internet connection. IS EVIL

I am a Soldier and while I understand I am a very small minority here and that game companys have a right to protect their investmentsI would like to play the games I spend $50 plus on when I spend 6 months up to 18 months in countrys most people try to avoid.

just my two cents

Row

On May 26, 2012 at 9:19 pm

I agree with most of the review; here are some thoughts:

- I really enjoy the (visual) environment. To those saying the game is too bright / colorful for a Diablo game, I disagree; my main memory from D2 is Act 2 = all yellow, Act 3 = all green..

- The story feels too linear, it’s almost like we’re part of a movie. But the little side-quests, or events, are a welcome addition.

- Ok, there are many things “out of whack”, such as itemization and inferno difficulty. But from what I remember, they worked on itemization, and especially on legendary items, quite late in the development process. I think they just didn’t manage to balance it yet. That’s not good, but I have no doubts that itemization will be adjusted in the future. They are literally asking for feedback on the forums – and there are a lot of people crying, so no doubt that’ll get fixed. As for Inferno mode, I think I remember a quote about “Inferno being made too hard on purpose at launch, to allow balancing of classes and skills”. Again, I think they will nerf it down a bit later.

- Finally, there are so many little annoyances that were fixed from D2 to D3. Town portal tomes, arrows, bolts, shared gold, shared stash, the whole trading system, stackable gems, resurrecting mercs, loot jumping, ressource management.

- Overall, I enjoy the game a lot, and I also enjoy knowing that whatever is “broken” now, is likely to be fixed in the future, before even an expansion. Of course some things like online-only and visual style will never be changed.

satanukiss

On May 27, 2012 at 7:47 pm

This game is a huge waste of time. The Blizzard politics of WOW have taken this completely over.

it doesn’t matter how high your magic find gets (which is really not very high) you will still just as rarely find anything as if not having magic find at all. The only increase you will get is blue and useless yellow items. They actually tried to promote that there is no limit to the magic find hinting that Diablo 2 was limited.

You will be around second act of hell mode when you realize you are 58-59 under geared and that the experience dulls because of the level cap of level 60 when you have to grind 1-2 million gold per piece of equipment to be able to have any kind of fighting chance to make it to Diablo in act 4 hell. This actually would have been remedied if the level cap was 99 like it should have been, then you would be able to experience becomeing more powerful instead of struggling against thousands of bosses just to grind enough gold to buy 1 object in the auction house.

The story line was a huge improvement by about 1000 times, it’s just a shame most of it is in books you need to pick up, which you will not pay attention to and only pick up for achievements.

Diablo 3 is the perfect example of Capitalism gone crazy to make sure that you 1. go back to WOW and keep paying $15 per month until the expansion comes out.

I have been waiting over 10 years for Diablo 3 to come out and they didn’t even make it full 3D. I feel very upset and cheated that they only tried half way to make this game a wonderful experience yet underhandedly reserving 80% what it should be to pad their pockets later.

DO NOT purchase this game! it is a huge slap in the face to loyal Diablo fans and is only meant to make addicts of the next generation of players, while discarding the old school players.

The whole feel of the game is that you know some executive little weasel is sitting in a throne some where undermining everything wonderful about the original 2, setting a stage to make you buy expansions of long waits to unlock little pieces of what diablo should be in 2-4 expansions of years of wait, to make sure you go back to WOW and pay your monthly fee and get ready for the next expansion.

Devastator001

On May 27, 2012 at 8:00 pm

@clamsarehot

what you gave was a rant and not a review. If you don’t like the game then just post your review and leave it at that. Posting these challenges and rants just makes you out as an attention-w**re.

maniaaaaac

On May 28, 2012 at 4:39 am

Personally i find it boring and overpriced .. for 20 i d buy but not for 60. Not worth it imo … But everyone has his tastes i guess

John

On May 28, 2012 at 7:45 am

I like how the fact that you don’t even factor in how super important aspects of the game still don’t even work in your cons list. And what about all the server errors and issues STILL going on. It is the growing trend now for PC games to be rush released by publishers or over zealous developers or what not: to be plagued by bugs and “Beta” tested in mass by the gamer community, and zombie gamers just eat it up and toss over their cash without a thought.

So, Mr. “CJ Mioizi”, either your another mindless zombie gamer reviewer, or blizzard gave you cash to review this so positively while TOTALLY ignoring all the glaring issues. No I don’t mean pitiful subjects such as “Dated graphics” or the always online DRM. I mean serious issues that totally prevent use of certain aspects that are supposed to be included in the game, working, PAID for by the consumers.

SXO

On May 28, 2012 at 7:52 pm

I believe any score CJ gave this game would’ve resulted in people like clamsarehot overreacting to it. If the score was too low, Blizzard fanboys would’ve been dominating the comments accusing CJ of a biased review looking to please the anti-D3 crowd. This is why I believe the best way to review games is without a score system. A review should be a written summation of the reviewers experience of the game, the pros & cons and personal viewpoints, and should speak for itself without boiling it all down to a single number or letter.

Just imagine if all of you reading this review had read the whole thing, and the review simply ended with the list of Pros and Cons with no score afterward. How different would your reactions have been?

Kyle

On May 29, 2012 at 12:48 am

im not a hater, but this game was just plain boring. it seemed more boring than final fantasy 13. i was extremely disappointed. this game gets a 65 at max. it was just plain boring.

Ron Whitaker

On May 29, 2012 at 5:33 am

@John: So, what are these terribly important issues that you speak of? You don’t actually say, and if they’re so important, you really should enlighten us.

Why is it that whenever someone thinks that a review score is too high, they trot out the ‘You got paid!’ line? I’ve been in this business for a long time, and I can tell you that companies don’t pay for reviews. What they do is exactly what Blizzard did. They don’t let anyone have early review copies, so that we’re playing the game at launch. By the time we get through it and post a review, most of the people have already bought their copies. We still post the review we think a game deserves, but it really doesn’t have the chance to influence day one purchasers.

CJ Miozzi

On May 29, 2012 at 11:32 am

@SXO:

Well-said, SXO. No one should base a purchasing decision on a number. For the consumer, it’s the evaluation of the game’s strengths and weaknesses that matters, not the score.

Grim Squeaker

On May 31, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Fair review really. Only played D3 for a few hours on a friends account. I probably wont buy it myself simply because of the DRM meaning I have to always be online. Due to my job I’m often away in places where theres very little to do and zero access to the internet so spending £35 on something I cant then use anytime to keep me amused, isnt really a worthwhile investment. Shame really

Brian

On June 4, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Starcraft 2 lived up to the hype. Just saying

Brian

On June 4, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Mmm, actually, A gander at Metacritic reveals that while critics may have given the game an 89% (which, in all honesty, I’ve stopped trusting the integrity of metacritic critic reviews since they said ME3 “answered all of our questions” lol wow), 59.4% of users gave the game a negative review, amounting to a user score of 4.0 (which is probably more trustworthy as I believe the mass majority of common gamers know more about what is good and bad in a game, than almost any critic, no offense).

Nim

On June 6, 2012 at 12:32 pm

First off, I appreciate that you’ve written a review that comes from the heart rather than from blizzards wallet!

However, one weird thing is that the way you described the game does not match with the /100 score. I got the impression you’d rate it somewhere between 60-75 as your review did come across as being somewhat negative, but I guess this doesn’t matter really.

Finally, I think you went into a little too much depth concerning the plot. People don’t want hints as to what is going to happen at the end or what happens at the end of act I. You don’t need to give massive hints or name names to get this across IMO.

I hope this doesn’t come across as a rant. Take care

DEDE1973

On June 19, 2012 at 9:03 am

If you want a great action RPG, with endless replayability and superb graphics go and buy titan quest + expansion, you won’t be disappointed. it is on steam and it is cheap. But as always, reviewers did not give this game the score it really deserved (something in the 80s).

Daan

On August 9, 2012 at 2:26 am

Oooh, and this review started out so well. By the time I was reading the verdict I was a bit shocked and seeing the score you gave left me flabergasted. This review is far from complete, and I am not talking about what we know now, three months later, but by what should have been known by someone who has been playing the game for one and a half week. You only talk about the elephant in the room and leave so much untouched. I too had fun at playing the game, in a way, but it’s like going to burgerkings. By the time you’r done you feel defiled. There’s just too many small things that are wrong with this game and adding up make for a big flaw left almost completely untouched in this review.

- Level design. D3 starts out well enough. I think act 1 is gorgeous, well designed and does the series credit. By the time I had finished the butcher I couldn’t wait to see more. This is pretty much where it ends though and in handsight one can see that a problem that festers throughout the game also plagues act 1. I’m talking about dungeons. Diablo is the mother of all dungeoncrawlers, meaning I want to fight my way through hordes of nasties, bash the topnasty over the head and take their treasure. I don’t think I have ever had the pleasure of doing that in D3. Treasurechests are spread willynilly throughout the game, as are bosses, and the actuall dungeons can be finished in a matter of minutes. On top of that chestdrops aren’t any more usefull than other drops, which brings us to items.
- In a dungeoncrawler I want to fight nasties and take there , put it on and hunt for a bigger nasty and do it all over again. During 50 hours of gameplay in the first one and a half week after release I found one equipable item that truly mattered. That was in act 1 nightmare. Pretty much everything that drops is equally useless (with the emphasis on equally). All other items that were even remotely good spawned at vendors. I don’t like that. When people ask me where I got that sweet sword I want to tell them I boned an Umberhulk, not that I paid some fat deodorant salesman to just hand it to me.

Here we have it, my main concern about this game soon after release. The second incarnation of the mother of all dungeoncrawlers, ISN’T A DUNGEONCRAWLER! I mean, why would I enter a dungeon? There is nother nothing of use to find, there is noone to bash. Why would I do anything but rush on to the next boss? Which brings me to another concern.

Why would I even rush on to the next boss? The Bosses are rediculously easy to beat. Difficulty is just completely messed up. Normal was easy, nightmare was even easier, with gear I bought from the vendors. I think I stopped playing somewhere in act 3 nightmare. Hell is supposed to be ok so maybe I’ll go back and give that a whirl, but why would I keep supporting a game that forces you through two unchallenging renditions of the game with each character? It’s pathetic, and while the story is nice enough to forgive the lack of challenge during the very first playthrough, it ends there.

This could all be known by the time this review was written. Since than it has gotten even worse (RMA completely wreaks the game as everybody knows by now), but noone outside blizzard could have forseen that at the time, so I won’t hold that against you and won’t go into it here. The fact that the game doesn’t really give incentive to play the game is unforgivable IMO and the entire media has not been able to see that, or just didn’t want to mention it. I bought and played this game because it was the third diablo game. I stopped playing this game after two weeks because it isn’t a diablo game at all. Blizzard is dead to me.