Posted on November 15, 2007,

Did Reviewers Overhype Assassin’s Creed?

assassins_creed.JPG

I’m sorry to say this, but Assassin’s Creed was completely over-hyped in my opinion. I didn’t get a chance to check out the game prior to yesterday’s release and was relying completely on information I was getting from other reviewers. Unfortunately, I think this was a case of bandwagon reviewing where the first review was stellar and everyone else just jumped in line. Some people may disagree with me here, but Assassin’s Creed was not all I expected it to be. I suppose I was expecting some sort of medieval style Splinter Cell. I have noticed reviews continue to drop for this game and will probably continue to do so. It started out with all 10s from some of the major reviewers, but I see it permanently dropping to more of a 7 once all the official reviews are in.

Another unfortunate event in game reviewing is the tendency to point out only the negative aspects of a game. I’ll try not to be too harsh, but it’s upsetting when I feel like a game was over-hyped. The story in the game is amazingly good. It’s almost like watching a good movie at points of the game. Movement is extremely fluid in the game, with the exception of riding a horse. The horse seems to hop up and down like some kind of freaky rabbit, so I really kept imagining that I was riding a rabbit down trails instead of a horse. Besides that, the movement shines.

Assassin’s Creed provides some interesting entertainment for the first few hours, but it seemed to wear on me after that point. By the time I was 4 hours into the game, I was starting to feel less and less excited by the minute. The absolute worst aspect of the game is the control scheme. One button fighting simply does not cut it. I somehow imagined that assassinating people would be the coolest aspect of the game, but it’s really boring and repetitive after a while. AC is a very unique game, so it makes you want to keep playing to see what other new things have been thrown into the mix, but sadly there’s not much there.

The stealth components of the game are unique and interesting, but also not realistic in the slightest way and eventually become annoying. The fact that you can walk in front of a soldier’s face completely un-noticed simply by holding down A is totally absurd. Even though the game is set in medieval times, they could have learned a lot more from the success of modern assassins like Sam Fisher. Assassin’s Creed seems more like you are simply strolling through a story that you aren’t really in control of. This could be great for people looking for just a story, but I do not suggest you get this game if you think there’s going to be a ton of action you are involved in. You’ll spend more time traveling to points on the wacky map they have than actually fighting anyone. You will also spend more time on load screens, cut scenes (which you cannot skip) and just doing a lot of random and non-rewarding activities. The action that you control is really far and few between in this game. The game is beautiful and a true work of art, but they really should have tweaked up the gameplay a bit and given us more control of what’s going on. Very little skill if any is required to play this game.

There are some interesting aspects to this game. It had a lot of potential, but honestly just doesn’t cut it with me. I have lost all interest in the game in less than 5 hours. I apologize to all you Assassin’s Creed fans out there, but this game simply does nothing special for me. It’s not a terrible game, but it’s average and sub par in most categories. The game shines in places that aren’t really crucial. I just hope if they make another installment, that they give the player more control and make it less repetitive. If you haven’t made your mind up about this game yet, rent it first. You might love it, or you could end up like me hating it. I’ll probably be trading it in this weekend while it still has a high shelf value.

I’d like to apologize to our readers for the negative vibe of this article, but I’m just shooting my un-coated thoughts on Assassin’s Creed your way. Feel free to drop your opinions of the game in the comment area below. I’m sure some people out there love the game.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

42 Comments on Did Reviewers Overhype Assassin’s Creed?

Mr. Bojangles

On November 15, 2007 at 12:26 pm

Lamentably, you might be right. This game was overhyped but you have to remember that what you are asking for is a perfected version of a video game. Right now most of the hype is revolved around First person shooters (Bioshock, Halo 3, rainbow six, ghost recon etc.)and it is an unfortunate time to release a game like AC. I would have to disagree with you r viewpoint but you do make some interesting yet demanding arguments.

used cisco

On November 15, 2007 at 12:29 pm

“I think this was a case of bandwagon reviewing where the first review was stellar and everyone else just jumped in line.”

I hate this about reviews. It seems like the first batch of reviews is always a bit higher. Worst case scenario is that reviewers are “paying” for very early review privileges by giving a generous score. Best case is that reviewers don’t have the balls to honestly evaluate a game and base their score on existing reviews. If you combine the 2 scenarios you end up with completely borked reviews on a game. It looks like something like this may have happened with AC.

William

On November 15, 2007 at 12:34 pm

used… I do think that some reviewers are afraid to completely bash a game in fear that it will break a business bond with whatever company released the game. It’s an unfortunate event. I’d like to think that a majority of game sites are fairly honest with their opinions…. but it’s hard to say sometimes. The one thing I like about GT is that we are never pressured to deviate from our opinions.

Shawn Sines

On November 15, 2007 at 12:37 pm

I’m sorry you did not find the game to your liking. I’ve spent a number of hours now and its definitely got me. I think you need to hold on comparing it to Splinter Cell.. its more like Prince of Persia. If you didn’t care for that series I can see why you might be disappointed, or if you expected Splinter Cell.

I’m not done with it yet but I find the premise original, the setting and storytelling is also different than many games lately and the controls feel fluid and simple to learn.

I think you probably have a higher degree of interest in action titles or FPS games William, as someone who appreciates good storytelling and a plot to drive games – as well as someone who is unopposed to cinematic storytelling and dialog in my action games I find the game enjoyable to watch.

I disagree on the point that you just walk around and the game itself does all the action part but I respect your opinion on what you liked and disliked about the title.

I also am surprised you dislike it, based on the majority of what you write it appears a glowing endorsement.

Shiina

On November 15, 2007 at 12:43 pm

Assassin’s Creed is not a perfect game BUT what is a PERFECT GAME? Halo? MGS? Nothing is perfect, but this game rise some standred for next GEN game. Oh well

William

On November 15, 2007 at 12:45 pm

I don’t necessarily hate the game completely, but I don’t love it the way I thought I would either. I am definitely not a big fan of cut scenes and expected more hands on action. I think you will find that this becomes a game that people either love or don’t. There aren’t going to be many neutral opinions.

I agree that the game is similar to Prince of Persia in many ways. I just feel as if they were onto something huge and fell short. I am under the belief that this is the first game of a series of releases, so we’ll have to see what the future brings.

You are also right about me being big on action and FPS.

William

On November 15, 2007 at 12:46 pm

Shiina,

I think AC will raise the standards for next gen games in some aspects. With just a little tweaking, people like me would really enjoy the series. Perhaps I just don’t have the patience for all the cut scenes and such. I definitely desire a little more hands on action.

Norbit

On November 15, 2007 at 12:56 pm

Mr Bojangles said: “Right now most of the hype is revolved around First person shooters (Bioshock, Halo 3, rainbow six, ghost recon etc.)and it is an unfortunate time to release a game like AC.”

Well IGN gave Assassins Creed a 7.5 but a few days later they gave Uncharted: Drakes Fortune a 9.1 and they are both 3rd person action games.

It seems that Assassins Creed just isn’t as good as people were expecting. As William says the review scores will level out eventually. According to IGN the average press rating for it is currently 8.6 but that is definitely being skewed by some very high marks. 2 Games Radar sites and Game Pro gave it 10/10 and there are a few 9.5′s and 9.6′s which given what other reviews have said seems a bit odd.

Jonathan

On November 15, 2007 at 12:56 pm

yes, yes, god yes, the game was overhyped. i haven’t even played it yet (next on my list though) and the hype started to get to me months ago. the game was being touted as an absolutely flawless game experience, which is kind of a bad idea all around. when it wasn’t, people were quite reasonably unhappy. that may have actually hurt the review scores it might have received if not much was known about the game until it was released.

AC player

On November 15, 2007 at 1:16 pm

I have been playing it for a day now… Its not about over-hype, its about them screwing up big time. Its not enough to have awesome graphics, excellent cities, smooth animations, slick movements, etc etc. You have to make a da%# game!

I’m not into button mashers… as such, this game was a letdown.

Rafa Soares

On November 15, 2007 at 1:45 pm

Well, I haven’t played the game yet, but after seeing some ppl playing it I noticed that most of them go for the “kill! kill! kill!” playing style.

Just because you’re an assassin, doesn’t mean you’re going to have several bloody and hot-action kills.
I think the focus of this game is handling with the enviroment, movement, and so on.

I really want to play this game due to the free-running and free-roaming. A combination I’ve been expected for years. That’s why I think I’m going to love this one. I just hope to have some fun playing around the enviroment, just as I could have with any good free-roaming game.

Mike

On November 15, 2007 at 6:22 pm

I agree with this review completely assassins creed looks cool on the outside but is sort of boring on the inside what good is a game about assassinating people and fighting guards if everyone says “combat is dull” and “not much thought in the fighting system” this got a 7.7 on ign and they are the reviewers i trust most so screw this game and im getting mass effect.

Norbit

On November 15, 2007 at 7:09 pm

“this got a 7.7 on ign and they are the reviewers i trust most so screw this game and im getting mass effect.”

What if IGN give Mass Effect a lower score than Assassins Creed?

alex

On November 15, 2007 at 7:10 pm

the problem w/ you people is that your all impatient!!! What do you want? KILLING SPREE CREED!! An assassin has one target, and lots of research. That’s exactly what the game is giving you. I enjoy how the game is different, and calm. Then you suddenly do a quick kill and hide, like a f*ckin assassin would! Rafa Soares, I’m w/ you on this one. I prefer variety, not the same old game again and again.

cdk

On November 15, 2007 at 7:42 pm

booo, cut scenes are too long and drawn out…hitting X for every battle movement is weak…oh i forgot u can hit B to do some throws….if there were a ring and they wore tights it would be WWF…..maybe i need to get deeper into it, but i was turned off by the above immediately….i will give it another shot as FPS games are a bit repetetive and COB 4 on legendary is getting in my head a bit

Norbit

On November 15, 2007 at 7:47 pm

alex people saying a game is boring does not automatically mean they want more action. It can also mean they just want something more interesting to do. Apparently the game missions are extremely repetitive and once you have figured out the techniques they become just time consuming chores.

pc gamer

On November 16, 2007 at 6:25 am

Think games like this will fire up that debate again about gameplay v Graphics. Assasin’s creed has a great story, looks beautiful, but when it comes to the actual playing part of it falls fairly short, due to being too easy and too repetitive.

Similar to The Darkness I guess, good story, great graphics but not so great gameplay. To quote a particular review of the The Darkness “Would have been an all time great with its background and graphics, if not for the gameplay” which is a very debatable comment especially the all-time great bit…

AC Player

On November 16, 2007 at 9:44 am

Norbit – you’re correct… saying the game is boring doesn’t mean I want a Halo-style action-packed shooter.

Hitman wasn’t like that, but it was interesting.

Oblivion wasn’t like that, but it was interesting (and much more interesting to simply explore in that game – AC is boring to explore, though very nice looking)

I’m going to try to sell this game for $50 USD… hopefully someone will bite…

Ron Whitaker

On November 16, 2007 at 10:04 am

I was hoping that AC would turn out to be a sort of merger of Prince of Persia and Hitman. It’s decent, but it doesn’t hit that mark that I set for it. Of course it’s completely arbitrary on my part, but who cares? It’s not a bad game, I just don’t think it realizes its own potential.

Tim

On November 16, 2007 at 3:01 pm

Early reviews are high because they only get to play a portion and see all the potential which is what they end up rating.

Jayden

On November 16, 2007 at 3:08 pm

Well i disagree with this opinion completely
currently i dont ahve an xbox 360 or a ps3 but i have been palying it in the local games store
its a beautiful game and i love every aspect of it
to be able to run and leap over buildings
to be able to dive and soar like an eagal
also you can pretty much go were ever you want

also what equipment is every 1 using
you couldnt possibly enjoy this on a 15″ screen
if you playing it on a 50″ screen its a diffrent matter also having the speakers up loud is a good thing because you can realy apppreciate the music.

when your in a battle scene with a huge screen and soround sound its diamond

wen you and your enamies swords make contact its verry realistic and i dont think the game could be appreciated if played on low spec equipment

and i know i have tryed both types

also about the people complaing about the controlls…isnt it a good thing that the controlls are simple
in real life most fight are over in seconds so there isnt any need for a complex controlls

to sum this all up
play the game on the best equppment you can get your hands on
and accept it for what it realy is
i think its wayyy beyound next gen
now all i need to do is get my own 360 and save up for the rest of my life to get a big enough screen to play it on :)

J.W.

Ron Whitaker

On November 16, 2007 at 4:02 pm

@Jayden: Playing it on my 360 and 56″ HDTV. It still doesn’t live up to its potential.

Sowhat

On November 16, 2007 at 5:12 pm

This game is kind of a let down… for now. It shines everywhere but the absolutly retarted AI. The crowd AI is amazing, but the gaurds and such are just dumb. But thats ok. Since this game is testing new waters, its going to have to learn to swim the hard way. But the next two games of the series are going to fix all that and be as near to perfect as any game can be.

Billy bob

On November 16, 2007 at 11:29 pm

Ok…
What i’ve heard about the game is that the storyline is really far from the point in what they advertised. I thought this game was going to be an awesome game…great combat, fighting movements, and from what they said the plot was fantastic…but now that it’s come out i heard a rumor it was bad.. so i look it up on youtube and watch the intro video…WTC..the storyline strays waaay off line from what they said it was going to be and what the videos protrayed. Side missions with random objectives, AI messing up?.. A HUGE Disappointment to me in what i thought this was going to be. I’d mention the plot screw-up but i don’t want to spoil it for those that still want to play it out.

I mean, the fact that they wouldn’t even mention a “twist” to the gameplay and that it’s revealed in the first few minutes of the game is just sad. Why can’t you just be an assassin… always has to be a catch to a perfect game. The Graphics look great, i thought the combat would be great, but apparently it’s not. I told my friend about this and he went into a fetal position on the ground…it’s very upsetting…

kris

On November 17, 2007 at 10:20 am

I am confused on how people are saying that the game has not anough action or that the twist is givin away at the start i think this game is for people who like games like prince of persia which is a game that i loved and look even at the prince of persia trilogy the first pop wasnt brilliant but they got better as the trilogy progressed and that is what i think ubisoft id tryin to do with this game the first game is kind of a bench marker to set the game up but they will get better as or if they make another assassins creed and i think it is good that they give the twist at the start because then u know what is happening.
you are all bein to serious about this game its jus a fun game to play with easy but great gameplay great graphics and fun so jus stop talkin crap enjoy the game dont try and be game reviewers because your not where jus here to play the game what i would say is get a life outside of your house but enjoy playin as well

Jayden

On November 17, 2007 at 6:03 pm

@kris
yer i agree with you there
its a good game and just accept it for what it is
but also another point i would like to make
things seldom come out as you hoped
if you expect too much from something you will proberly be dissapointed
for the next series of next gen games im going to keep my expectatons low
so that i can be amazed when they finaly arrive
J.w.

Norbit

On November 17, 2007 at 6:19 pm

kris said: “dont try and be game reviewers because your not”

The criticisms we are discussing on here are what the game reviewers have also said.

Ignoring a games faults because it’s sequels might be better is a bit daft imo.

kris

On November 18, 2007 at 5:27 am

if u look at the first few reviews espeacially the preview one with jade raymond taking us through the game on one of the first videos we got to see in 2006 she says the main aspects of this game where crowds which i think is brilliant how they got so much npc’s into a game and they all look natural walking about and the free running is so fun but the thing i love about this game is the stealth ive heard people say that this game doesnt have enough action but i dont think thats what ubisoft were trying to do with this game its about the investigations before planing your attack and the adrenaline rush when ur getting chased and trying to escape so in my opinion i really dont think this game has been ovrehyped because everything they say about this game is true and u have to remember that its mostly from the team of prince of persia its not from the team of games like splinter cell its not that sort of stealth action game and just think to urself at least its not another fps but i am annoyed that ps3 gets metal gear solid and we dont coz that game just beats everything and them guys have been doing them games for years and this final one looks brilliant

Jayden

On November 18, 2007 at 8:07 am

lol so basicly
every one was hoping for something that ubisoft didnt intend to do
they wanted action
but ubisoft intended for steath and they gave the people that
think of other stealth games that dont include guns

for its genre its a flawless game
i know many people will disagree and i think i might of gone a bit of topic on what i origanaly said

but heeres another thing
if people hoped it was like PoP and it came out like PoP people would still be angry
because people would just see it as PoP with a new skin so you cant please people even if you give them what they want

im not sayimg im any diffrent its just every 1 had there own idear of an ideal game and when that ideal has been reached we set a new bigger better ideal and i think thats what game makers try achive

but trying not to be bias:) i will list the good and BAD! points that i think this game has

Good :)
The most natural AI in NPC’s i have seen i like forever
The doo what you want aspect in HD looks amazing and is well fun
The way the game links its gamplay and cutscenes not waiting times and looks amazing
The story is like from a movie
The battle system is simple but effective

Bad :(
You cant skip the cutscenes if you wanted to
sometimes is easy to feel lost sometimes having no idear where to go
Tho collecting the flags gets you nothing it is there for pride :)

and personaly i think all the gamer magazines should get a new rating system
if halo 1 was rated 10/10 and halo 2 rated 10/10 then what rating does halo 3 get
its just were using the old rating system for net gen games
william said that the ratings would go down to a 7
for a next gen game!
i think its should be something like 17

lol anyways rant over but i have so many idears about this kind of topic
what do people realy want?
again im not sure if any one agrees with me
but ill be happy to hear your idears
anyways im off

J.W. :)

Rod

On November 18, 2007 at 11:54 am

I think this game was Over-Hyped, I cant freaking believe I paid £60 for a limited edition xbox 360 one of these, I completed it in 6 hours! its soo freaking REPETITVE! you do exactly the same MISSIONS on every city (btw all cities just look exactly the same. and OMG the last boss AHAHA I couldnt stop laughing this crazy Sci-Fi game, the Boss had special MAGIC POWERS ahahah!

sophie

On November 18, 2007 at 2:03 pm

“I completed it in 6 hours! its soo freaking REPETITVE” said rod. well i think thats rubbish the missions are only repetitive if u make them like that the way i play the game is maybe try and do a whole mission stealth then come out with a full action one jus killing every1 like all the guards then assassinating the main person he also said “btw all cities just look exactly the same” he clearly doesnt look at the game in detail and see how gawjuss it all looks if u where to get photos of each of the cities u would c how different and the amazing detail put into them and also accuracy and they way they made it like that but still had it all interactive i think was brill.

now for the bad things that jayden said about the game about the cutscenes well u wouldnt want to skip them i think they are very well done and its a time to relax and just listen and follow the story line and yes u can fell lost but i actually loved that aspect because it reminded me of shadow of the callosus for ps2 which was ooo my god brill i duno why the graphics where great it was loads of fun and even though u didnt know where the cretured where i loved havin to search for them and for any1 who doesnt know what that game is plzz look it up i wish i still had it because i think it was the best ps2 game ever but theres my argument done

William

On November 18, 2007 at 5:21 pm

cutscenes are a personal preference I guess. Personally, I despise the use of cutscene after cutscene. It starts to feel more like you are just watching something instead of playing something. I think games like Final Fantasy need cutscenes and they provide a break from hours and hours of action. It seems with AC, that as soon as things get a little exciting you are on a load screen or cutscene. I just don’t like them.

Brandon

On November 19, 2007 at 4:06 am

Pretty bad if u ask me, they made it out to something out of this world and its the same , over and over and yet over again. Nothing becomes new and nothing suprises you as you progress. EVER, Period. It’ll be forgotten in no time…..ahhh thankful i beat the hell outta it in a few days with nuff time to get right into mass effect(an actual good game).

Brandon

On November 19, 2007 at 6:33 am

Though the storyline was great, the graphics were pretty and fluid but they forgot the main element thats gonna make or break any game…….how fun was it to play? All I’m sayin to those who say this game is the best of the new next gen games is this…..do you seriously like doing one of five things the whole game? You pickpocket, you eavesdrop, you save poor souls, you climb oh so high in the sky, and last but not least you assasinate your target. This ok for 1 hour into the game, but come on. Your gaming experiences must be pretty shallow if you think the fun factor of this game is anything above a 7 1/2. I’m not saying this is a bad game I’m jus saying that it was way way over-rated.

kris

On November 19, 2007 at 10:50 am

i like the game dont care what any1 says yes it may be boring for some but i think the free running and planning out the way ur goin to assassinate some1 is brill yes it can be repetitive if thats the way u play games its not repetittive if u do the missions differently like stealth a mission then come out with a big action one and it will b remember because even though it has its flaws it is one of the starting games for next gen with the brilliant graphics great accuracy to detail great and easy gameplay and brilliant npc’s or people as u call them

Jayden

On November 19, 2007 at 12:50 pm

yer i definetly agree with kris
the game is what you make it
you have a choice to make the game fun or not
you can choose to travel by hoping over buildings or just blending into the crowed to get to your target
the most popula games ever are based around choice like gta
you can have so much fun with that and you dont need to do any missions
this game is the same and i could never get bored of the beauty of it
and for those who dont like cutscenes i think there a good thing
its like watching a movie your in controll of :)

J.W.

kris

On November 19, 2007 at 3:46 pm

yes exactly jayden
and people should jus stop more to look more closely
at the game because it really is a work of art
but wot i think would have been great would be xbox live or the thing for ps3 online because it might have been fun i dont know how they would have
done it but i think it would have jus added
a bit more choice and a little more fun but im not
sayin that it doesnt have them things
coz it does and yes i agree with jayden i like cut
scenes as well coz im more of a chill out gamer
jus listenin to my music and i like settin my controller down
and watchin the game and chillin

kris

On November 19, 2007 at 4:08 pm

ok omg im actually pretty excited about this and its very fancinating
this is a spoiler though so if u havent completed the game
or u dont want to know this the dont do it
but for the others who have completed it and want awnsers to the mysterious things and by that if u want to know what i mean go to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sf_Scc5ncu4&feature=related
that url watch it then go to the url
http://www.computerandvideogames.com/article.php?id=175552
after you watch and read both of these you will b axcited like i am hopefully
and omg u will realize how good this game really is
and how much affort they actually put into the story
and by what ive seen and read the second installment of this will be sweet so plzz
check it out

Jayden

On November 20, 2007 at 6:06 pm

thanks for those now im realy excited
the people at ubisoft are standing now teratory
its definetly a nice twist to the story
till the next game comes out i should be rich :P
so i got plenty to look farward to :)
and yeah its nice shareing idears with every 1
im glad theres people with simlar views to mine
it would be great if the next game had dan brown in it :)
J.W.

Ononimous

On November 23, 2007 at 4:16 pm

Your review was very interesting and mad me think twice about getting this game. At first I was all for it and wanted it for christmas, but if I am like you and I do not like then it will just be a big waste of money. In fact that would really stink if I got it for christmas and did not like the game. I would hate to be dissapointed on christmas. I will see if I can rent the game first and take it on from there. The only thing for that is if I do like it then it is just going to ruin the surprise for it. I have never played Splinter Cell but I have played Prince of Persia and absolutely love it. I thought it was going to be a Prince of Persia thing with assassination. I hope I really like it instead of being dissapointed like you. Thank you for the advice.

sriram

On March 21, 2008 at 2:01 pm

hi, i just read ur review..and skipped all the other comments…personally i didnt hate the game…i liked it actually…i am more of a non first person gamer….but still have finished games like commandos 3d , call of duty series etc…for me this game was a gift like (i love third person) ..the points u have told is absolutely correct.. the game controls get repetitive and boring and also we dont have much of the control of the story..i was fed up of the cutscenes too since they couldnt be skipped .. +vely i liked the graphics and gameplay(not controls) better than prince since the enemy was more brilliant and only i had to kill limited amount of enemies…it was like a real place not just a game…anyways ..very sad to hear u were disappointed ….All the best,,

Mal

On July 16, 2009 at 3:10 pm

I 100% agree.

A few hours into the game I was tired by it. I really had no desire to continue playing. For all of the artsy fartsy prettiness of the game, it just wasn’t fun.

The world didn’t interact with you and there was a very strong feeling of being alone. I never felt a part of what was going on.

The missions got so repetitive I really just didn’t want to play them, but forced myself to continue the game hoping that something new and fun was in the mix yet to be revealed. New powers, skills and abilities. Sadly, most of the abilities that you get are just plain uninspired.

While there’s a lot of great things about the concept, the game is just not fun. They could have done a lot of things to make it a more enjoyable game, but I feel that this is an area where many developers have lost it. They’re so concerned with building great graphics, presentation, and storyline that they forget to make the game person-friendly and enjoyable. I would much rather play Excitebike for the NES than play Assassin’s Creed.

I also believe that Assassin’s Creed was an experiment. An experiment to make an awful game and hype the out of it, market it EXTREMELY and deceptively well, and pay off a lot of publications and websites for good reviews. The game sold a ton more than it deserved to, and many people who bought into the hype still have that hype jammed in their heads and are fanboyishly touting the game as being enjoyable, despite whether they really did enjoy it or not.

The argument in these comments that people don’t like it because it’s not a First Person Shooter in an age of First Person Shooters is ridiculous and unfounded. In my opinion, Assassin’s Creed was an awful awful game, and I’d give it something around a 5/10.

On the flip side, the recently released inFamous, which is a Superhero version of Assassin’s Creed, got it right. It is immensely fun, and the world feels alive. The missions only begin to get repetitive by the time you finish the game…and by then, it doesn’t matter.