Fallout: New Vegas Lonesome Road DLC Review


Fallout: New Vegas — Lonesome Road (PC, PS3, Xbox 360)
Reviewed on Xbox 360
Developer: Obsidian
Publisher: Bethesda
Release Date: September 20, 2011
MSRP: $9.99

One of the big reasons I enjoy Western RPGs is because I love conversations. Just love ‘em. But they can get out of hand, if developers aren’t careful, and Obsidian clearly wasn’t careful when they were putting together the Lonesome Road.

Old World Blues had it’s share of long conversations, but those were funny. Lonesome Road isn’t the least bit funny, and so long conversations can really wear on you if they aren’t engrossing. And they aren’t engrossing, either.

In Lonesome Road, you travel to the Divide, a place ravaged by earthquakes and nuclear fallout, at the behest of a former courier who refused to carry the Chip that is the catalyst for your adventures in New Vegas. You’ll find an eyebot there, and this former courier will talk to you through it. And he’ll talk to you a lot.

He’ll speak cryptically, for the most part, leaking bits of information about your past involvement with the community in the Divide. It takes a ton of prying on your part to get any real information out of him, and after about ten minutes of listening to him spout philosophy at me, I felt like I was ready to give up on this DLC altogether, because I really just didn’t give a damn about what he had to say.

He like the TV show Lost in NPC form, creating mysteries that aren’t really that interesting only to offer reveals that are ultimately boring. And that’s when he even bothers to explain himself. You’ll hear him rant plenty about the Chip and how Vegas is a corrupt vestige of the Old World, and you’ll never really learn why he gives a damn about those things.

The description for this DLC offered up by Obsidian says this: In Lonesome Road you are contacted by the original Courier Six, a man by the name of Ulysses who refused to deliver the Platinum Chip at the start of Fallout: New Vegas. Ulysses promises the answer as to why he didn’t take the job, but only if you make one last journey into the hurricane-swept canyons of the Divide, a landscape torn apart by earthquakes and violent storms.

Don’t worry to hard about the Chip, though, because he’s not going to tell you why he wouldn’t carry it. Or maybe he did, and I just zoned out during that part. The point is you’ll talk to him for an hour over the course of the quest — which should take you a solid four to five hours to complete — and it gets old fast, and he won’t tell you anything you care about.

But it’s not all talking, on the Lonesome Road you’ll explore what is probably the most interesting environments found in a Fallout game to date. Really, I can’t understate the triumph of the design team here. The Divide is ravaged far more than other places in the Mojave Wasteland; the terrain itself has been altered, and so you’ll walk through buildings that are tilted at an angle or that are comely toppled, and at one point I found myself wandering through a cave that was made from buildings falling against each other. It’s was exhilarating.

It’s a shame, then, that exploration is hardly encouraged, as for the most part the Lonesome Road is a very linear experience. But that’s OK, because the journey is for the most part very interesting. Now, if only that one guy would have shut up.

Final Score: 75/100

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

14 Comments on Fallout: New Vegas Lonesome Road DLC Review

Darkraidor

On September 23, 2011 at 5:14 pm

so many reviews 75-85 in the past few months.
cant wait till the end of teh year game surge

CHoedy

On September 23, 2011 at 7:22 pm

@ Darkraidor

This is DLC not a game you retard,The score dose not matter at all.You ing do eat a and die!

Phil Owen

On September 23, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Whoa now.

Sgt. Spliffs

On September 24, 2011 at 7:58 am

This is the only FNV Add-on I don’t have yet. I’m looking forward to playing through it, and getting me some sweet, sweet loots.
And yes, whoa now.

Kyle

On September 24, 2011 at 11:54 am

My favorite part is how you didn’t really try to write a review.

BTW, were you bored playing this? You hardly mentioned if you were bored while playing this.

JosephPS3 Dead State

On September 26, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Did DarkRaidor write something about CHoedy`s dead mother or something cause I read it twice I don`t see anything offensive but Choedy is all ape. Am I not seeing a post or something.

Anyways, I got Fallout: New Vegas for just $10 recently. Good things come to those who wait :D Don`t plan on getting any of these lame DLC. None of them sound interesting enough to continue that Fallout world after I finish this one.

Greg

On September 26, 2011 at 2:31 pm

I can’t believe you found the conversations funny in Old World Blues. They were tedious, puerile and weak, seemingly aimed at 11 year old boys and people whose family tree has to few branches. Right from the start the main annoyance of FNV has been the speed of the speech and text. It is so incredibly slooooooooow. It needs the option to esc out and move on to the next converstaion once you have read it. Especially dull if you are replaying a scene for a different ending.

The DLCs have been ok but not worth the money. They have either been too short, Lonesome and Honest Hearts, or great play but ruined by embarrassingly unfunny attempts at humour, Old World Blues. Wish I’d waited for the compilation.

@CHoedy: lol @ the hormonal plonker unable to express himself, raging at his keyboard while his face goes purple and his pimples burst across his screen.

TheDADA

On September 28, 2011 at 9:34 am

So, now we know where fallout 4 will take place. And with the Sykrim engine. *drool*

desertrat

On September 28, 2011 at 10:00 am

Being from the Mojave myself Fallout NV has been a real treat, feels like I have been running around in my own back yard a bit. I wish they would have included the hoover dam bypass bridge in the scenery if not the in one of the game’s quests itself. Kinda like the Golden Gate of the Mojave, so kinda weird that it got left out. And Primm is like 40 miles from Vegas so the scale is of course a little off but oh well. I would have liked to see the 4th DLC deal with some place like Sky Ranch Estates in Sandy Valley or even head southeast to Laughlin/Bullhead area or even down to Lake Havasu… kinda do a Water World thing down there with gangs on jet skis… or even all the way down to Yuma into the Sonoran “real desert” where there are marine and army bases, and bombing ranges galore to find goodies on, plus get some Spanish dialog perhaps? 3:10 to Yuma style NCR prison at Fort Yuma that the courier has to bust someone out of. Shoot your way in and out and you will enrage the NCR but be a hero to the Legion… sneak in to maintain good relations with the NCR or simply try to bribe people to look the other way… has a lot of possibilities… So too bad we have to leave the Mojave again to continue our adventures, when there are so many possibilities left to explore in the desert southwest… even a jaunt to Area 51 in New Mexico would have been more in context.

ryu

On November 24, 2011 at 9:52 pm

@desertrat
Bridges don’t last long remember this is like 200 years from now, look at what was left of the bridges in FO3
But then neither do dams in fact that is a great concern in the USA at the moment because a lot of dams/levees are failing or in critical condition most of which were built like 50-75 years ago
but I don’t think the game would have been nearly as good without hoover dam so I am glad they put it in

Aedan

On December 6, 2011 at 10:03 am

This is a late comment, but whatevs.

@Phil Owen and Grg
It’s a REAL RPG. Of course it’s going to have a TON of conversations. Don’t hate on the game just because you feel the need to zone out. It’s a universe that’s hardly been explored, then you try to skip the dialogue when they explore it? This is sad. To everyone else, these DLC’s are worth every penny.

@CHoedy
Calm the down, mein freund.

@Desertrat
Well, you have the remember, Bethesda gave them a damn strict deadline. They HAD to scale things to make up for a lot of the stuff they cut. Otherwise, there would’ve been big spots with NOTHING at all. Much like the Deserted Shack in NV.

@Ryu
You have to remember, though, DC got bombed to hell. Vegas did not. Also, it’s Hoover ING Dam. It’s the God of dams worldwide. It lasts longer than a dead SOUL. Because that last bit made sense!

c.pita

On January 28, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Iv downloaded the lonesome road DLC but its not sending me the message in the game talking about the new mission. Someone plz help me out here thx

Sosh

On June 9, 2012 at 8:51 am

I think you mean ‘overstate’ not ‘understate’.

TheClan09

On June 23, 2012 at 10:24 am

#Everybody

Lol xD