Game Front Podcast #5: Mass Effect 4, Watch Dogs and Reviews

It’s Monday, and thanks to a few technical difficulties, we’re just getting Episode 5 of the Game Front Podcast out to you. This week, we tackle Mass Effect 4, and whether or not we think Bioware can possibly succeed with it. After that, we talk about the Watch_Dogs delay and what that might mean to Ubisoft and next-gen consoles. Finally, we tackle the topic of game reviews. What are reviews for, and what’s our goal when writing them?

We’re also happy to announce that you can now subscribe to the Game Front podcast on iTunes! All you need to do is click the link below and you’ll get all of our new podcasts on your iPod or iPhone.

Subscribe to the Game Front Podcast on iTunes!

Start your week out with the guys from Game Front!

This week’s participants are:

Ron Whitaker – Senior Editor, Game Front
@ffronw

Phil Hornshaw – Deputy Editor, Game Front
@PhilHornshaw

Ross Lincoln – Features Editor, Game Front
@RossALincoln

Enjoy, and stay tuned for new podcasts from Game Front each week.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

12 Comments on Game Front Podcast #5: Mass Effect 4, Watch Dogs and Reviews

fethski

On October 21, 2013 at 1:04 pm

I have to disagree about a Mass Effect prequel being a viable option. Even if Bioware creates a game in the Mass Effect universe where knowledge of the Reapers would be nil, unless they’ve had no exposure to anything ME related, the player is going to know that at some point the Reapers are going to show up and stomp on everything making anything that happened in the game kind of pointless.

What scares me about a prequel game is that we’re going to get one based on the First Contact War and we’re going to meet Ashley’s grandfather who’s going to mentioned his newborn granddaughter and/or we’re going to meet Garrus’ grandfather.

Hemlock3630

On October 21, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Agreeed…..I’m worried about a prequel to the ME trilogy.

There isn’t enough time prior to ME for that to have become ‘history’. Think…25 years ago from today it was 1988…..while a lot of things have changed, things haven’t changed too much, and 1988 hasn’t become lost to the fog of memory like let’s say….1888.
And I also agree, that they would be way way way too tempted to shoehorn in Ashely’s grandfather, maybe going to the biotic place and meeting a child-Kaiden, Garrus relatives….etc.
Near history that still has living actors, should be kept to the realm of comics and books.
History that has been lost to the myth of legend can be told as a prequel. But even then, while it might be interesting to go back in time to the previous cycle and get told more of a personal smaller scope story…..we know that they end in tragedy. I don’t see Bioware pulling that off too well.

And yes, I’m a ME3 ending hater, but I still follow the news, hoping that Bioware is able to pull out a winning storyline…..

Now as for Dragon Age Inqusition, count me as excited, and planning on preordering (since even going back to other games, reused assets abound (although yes…with dungeons at least the layouts and drop points should be different…..randon dungeon generator?? Come on, please??)…..once you’re looking for it you see it everywhere…..I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve spoken to the same looking named NPC in 25 hours of Kotor.)

Starbuck

On October 21, 2013 at 3:56 pm

I think that it is a pivotal mistake to not involve Shepard in ME4 and to make a prequel. I cant imagine a fourth game of ME without the involvement of the galaxy’s biggest hero. There are also many unanswered questions that a sequel could answer, the main one being the fate of the galaxy and if there is an emergence of the ME relays. As for a major nemisis, there are the Leviathans which created the Reapers. Much to know about this ancient, intelligent race is still vacant and potentially could serve as an additional threat to the galaxy, more so than the reapers. ME4 should focus on Shepard’s mission of getting the ME relays back online so the galaxy’s races can reunite and reform the council. In doing so, Bioware can create a backstory of also finding lost comrades that were spread out throughout the galaxy when the destruction of the reapers and therefore the ME relays occurred.

CodySchoonover

On October 21, 2013 at 10:29 pm

I think it is really uncertain the direction that Bioware takes the next Mass Effect installment, as they have shown some amazing decisions and moments while also displaying a number of head scratching ones. What I personally would like to see is a setting in the distant future, but not far enough to reduce the ME feel. I think that Bioware would have to address every ending options through a substantial beginning cinematic scene that is dependent on which ending option you chose in ME3. The new installment would have to address which ending you chose in order to preserve the decision based gaming that has made ME so great. I think a new story that involves the reconstruction of the ME universe and Mass Relay system would be intriguing and would create the opportunity for new species. I believe that though you had the three options in ME3 all options would have to lead to a single inevitable event in the future to create a new game based on ME universe reconstruction. This inevitable ending would likely be that of a segregated universe that creates new societies, culture and possibly species. Now it can be debated which kind of societies would develop with the three endings, but if set far enough in the future it is safe to say that Mechs will once again come into being and return to their natural state. I think the biggest feature is that of the destruction of the mass relays which creates a Universe of no contact once again. This will allow for a new first contact to be developed in the story and would allow a new character that would be easily introduced at a young age for further development and connection to the player. I am unsure the route that Bioware would take or how the specifics of what I would like to see would work out, but I do believe that a new game set in the future leads to more potential. A future game would lead to new knowledge and discovery which every players loves, and I think that there is a possible way for Bioware to create a game in the future while addressing the, all be it, disappointing ending in ME 3. A prequel seems like it would just be sucking whatever life Bioware can get out of the series and would be an empty feel for a game. A game set in the future would have obvious challenges, but challenges are just the existence of greater potential success from there conquering. ME’s decision based RPG is unlike many games I have played and would hate to see Bioware not recover from the disappointing ending of ME 3.

Michael

On October 22, 2013 at 11:01 am

Bioware is risking too much money on 2 IP’s that are forever ruined. They should use that money to fund new ideas before they wind up like THQ which I see happening.

reece

On October 23, 2013 at 1:43 pm

If they do a new male and female character like male Shepard and female Shepard at least give them a different name that way if it has multiplayer online the character’s can chose to be a team and work together bringing both of there crews together as a team that would be vary fun.

daniel

On October 23, 2013 at 1:44 pm

I would love to see 5 main playable characters OR your own team customization characters that can be played in in the game. also i would love to see a Horror side of the mass effect series that would be interesting.

erik

On October 23, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Mass Effect 3 was the best can’t wait for Mass Effect 4 to be released.

petekwando

On October 23, 2013 at 2:56 pm

I agree that a prequel is a horrible idea, given the limited scope and the events hanging over them. Having said that, I really think they have to go with the Control ending. It’s by far the least destructive to the gameworld – you end up with Shep basically removing the Reapers from the equation, and leaving everyone to sort out their own futures.

Roy Batty

On October 23, 2013 at 4:58 pm

@erik

I agree with you. It was the best ending in entertainment since the ending of Death Wish 3 – it was a comedic masterpiece.

ME fan

On October 24, 2013 at 3:25 pm

I think a prequel would be a BIG MISTAKE. the BEST option would be to continue with shepard and his team. I don’t want BIOWARE to make another huge hero because it would seem like I am playing a lousy version of what I played before, also if they give you a different character the entire time you would be feeling overshadowed by shepard. They realy can`t thrill us any more with a different character than they already have with shepard so if they go with shepard and the game is not as exciting as the previous games (wich would be unlikley just by being shepard) the players won`t be disappointed simply by remembering what shepard has acomplish in the previous games. PS:I would really like to continue my love interest (would hate to start a new one and I think a lot of players agree with me)

Noone

On November 25, 2013 at 8:02 am

Some warning for spoilers would have been greatly appreciated!