Heart of the Swarm Leveling Rewards Explained

Players who are picking up Starcraft 2: Heart of the Swarm later today will be pleasantly surprised to discover the game’s new leveling system, which we first detailed a few months ago.

The game’s new leveling system applies to games played online, and provides players with a plethora of rewards to unlock as they gain levels by playing competitive or cooperatively with friends and strangers in Matchmaking or Custom Games.

There are several different types of rewards that are available to players, including character portraits and decals, and unit skins and dances.

Character Portraits and Decals

First introduced in Starcraft II, character portraits allow players to show off their accomplishments, and the new system provides players with additional portraits to unlock as they earn levels and achievements.

Unit Skins and Dances

Heart of the Swarm offers two new forms of customization which can be unlocked as you gain levels. According to Blizzard, dance animations can be unlocked at levels 10, 15, and 20, while unit skins become available at levels 20 and 30. The skins and dances allow you to customize your army and make buildings and units look more badass than their generic counterparts.

Starcraft 2: Heart of the Swarm is set to unlock for players in North America later tonight.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

No Comments on Heart of the Swarm Leveling Rewards Explained