Lucius Review: Murders That Make You Want to Kill Yourself

It’s almost difficult to describe how angry Lucius often made me. The endgame — which I guess was supposed to be something of a “boss fight” — required so many restarts I can’t even guess at a number, except that it had to have been more than 50. AI glitches, falling through the map glitches, cheap shots, a total lack of information, bad ability design and bad checkpoint design in these final moments colluded to waste hours of my life and totally ruin my mood. This was another point where I very nearly gave up ever finishing Lucius in favor of condemning it as crap, unfinished. But I did, eventually, manage to finish it, despite itself.

Guess what: it’s still crap, and now I can say that without guilt because I endured every horrific second. Save yourself — avoid Lucius like the Anti-Christ.

Pros:

  • The concept of playing as Damien from The Omen is a cool one
  • Adult themes, nude characters and gory murders…I guess?
  • Some creative murder puzzles that actually resemble making sense

Cons:

  • Awful, esoteric, nonsensical puzzle design
  • Bugs and glitches: sometimes you’ll survive when you should die, sometimes AI characters get lost on their patrols, sometimes you’ll fall out of the map during one of the game’s most important, action-packed moments
  • Almost no information about what you should be doing — hints are either stupidly obvious or incredibly obtuse
  • Zero creativity involved on the player’s part, and puzzle-solving that requires an inordinate amount of searching for small, inconspicuous things in a really big place
  • Stupidly oversized map that’s really hard to navigate
  • Supernatural powers work almost exclusively as puzzle-solving implements and nothing else
  • Plenty of instant-fail moments that force you to restart the chapter
  • Boring writing, boring characters, boring story
  • Ugly, ugly graphics; I know, it’s an indie title, but good god

Final Score: 30/100


Follow Hornshaw and Game Front on Twitter: @philhornshaw and @gamefrontcom.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

11 Comments on Lucius Review: Murders That Make You Want to Kill Yourself

Johansson

On October 25, 2012 at 1:33 pm

I’ve been thinking about buying the game. I’ve red from other gaming sites about this and it has got pretty good reviews. It’s probably just not a game for Phil? I think I’ll try it since other sites have praised it.

Phil Hornshaw

On October 25, 2012 at 1:44 pm

@Johansson

Good luck to you, then. Let us know what you think here. I don’t think that it was “not a game for me” — I’ve been excited to try Lucius for about a year now, but the flaws were just too big to overcome. Still, like I said, if you end up with a different perspective, feel free to return and share it.

quicktooth

On October 25, 2012 at 9:08 pm

A “game” about a child explicitly murdering his family. This is why humanity needs God to squash it a few times, to get rid of the soulless horrible evil like this. I just got to remember there are decent folks out there too; this… heinous crime in video game form could cost a person their faith in humanity.

Dick Cheese

On October 26, 2012 at 2:07 pm

@quicktooth: This game is supposed to be like the movie “The Omen” maybe you’ve heard of it, or maybe it was too satanic for you, but that movie is basically like this video game. I guess games like Hitman, Grand Theft Auto or FPS games are also too evil for you too? What do you play, Barbie’s Horse Adventure? Grow some balls man, just because it isn’t a good game doesn’t mean the Devil made it!

ShutUp

On October 26, 2012 at 8:46 pm

@QuickTooth

No one asked you, jesus freak. I hate how religious people feel the need to remind everyone how sorry they feel for our deprived ways. We are just fine and are perfectly allowed to enjoy any heinous activity we want. I don’t think it justifies our race getting squashed. Some people enjoy “role playing” and probably contribute far more to society than you ever will.

As for the game, thanks for the review Phil. Helped me dodge a bullet since my mouse had hovered over the “add to cart” button on steam.

Ezelkir

On October 26, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Thanks for the review! Very fun to read! Too bad the game isn’t what I hoped it would be though. ^^’

Chips

On October 27, 2012 at 11:09 am

Sounds tedious.

SteelRat

On October 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm

I read this review before buying the game, and I read some others, all of which were positive, so I bought the game. It’s made me realize this, most video game reviewers are either paid off by developers or don’t bother to play the game and instead rehash the game’s publicity feeds.
Lucius is EXACTLY like Phil describes. Imagine, if you will, the most frustrating video game puzzle you’ve ever been stuck on. Now, stretch that out to an entire game. Yes the artwork is good, not great, but on par with other releases, and the actual murders are entertaining to watch… but the actual game play is about as much fun as trying to wander around a pit of broken glass wearing a blindfold.
From now on, I’m listening to Phil. If I had, I’d have 22 bucks more in my pocket.

gunar

On October 27, 2012 at 6:49 pm

I loved this game!!! I was just like MUHAHAHA!!! All the time I played it. Like I don’t think the game is supposed to be taken seriously because I was like MUHAHAAHA dumb es and I love you daddy to satan and just stupid ed up lines I would say and the gameplay didn’t bug me at all. Then again I like all puzzle games so thats just me and so yeah this game isn’t supposed to be taken seriously and your supposed to laugh as you murder these people because your satans child and its just so funny to me for some reason because we would never do that in real life but here you can be a stereotypical evil laughing funny kinda joker character and its just so fun to play this game….love this game….felt like the joker…..never knew my plan and had funny commentary to every situation….completely insane…

Phil Hornshaw

On October 28, 2012 at 8:52 am

@Steelrat

Hey, thanks! And thanks for reading!

Also, “about as much fun as trying to wander around a pit of broken glass wearing a blindfold” is a hilarious analogy.

Hmmm

On November 5, 2012 at 12:16 am

Well, after viewing a video playthrough of the 2nd puzzle, it does seem like this game is all about finding needles in haystacks.

It reminds me of those 2D Flash games i play from time to time; they’re exactly like Lucius, but they’re shorter. And being 2D means there are limited objects to click (but the concept is still the same i suppose, click everything till something works).

The cutscenes coupled with the music are nice though, but i think the horribly boring gameplay’s gonna turn me off.