Mass Effect 3 Citadel Review: Almost Enough. Almost.

What Works

Warning: The Citadel is enormously heavy with fanservice. This might irk some players but I found it charming. You’ll listen to Admiral Anderson’s autobiography and wonder just how obsessed he is with his protege. You’ll wander around Silversun Strip and gamble, play video games, and enjoy a competitive combat simulator. You’ll get to talk to random squad members and see how they spend their off time. (Traynor is a strategy game expert, and Garrus very bad at putting the moves on women.) You’ll even get to film a role in a Blasto movie. And during the combat mission, constant references to previous running gags are dropped casually, and Shepard at one point vows revenge for the mistreatment of her pet hamster. This is but a sampling of what is thrown at the player on a nearly constant basis.

Yes, it’s very winking, but it’s a lot of fun, helped by witty dialogue and a constant barrage of one liners and quips that almost break right through the fourth wall to the point it feels like Shane Black directed it. (At the end, the secondary villain says “Admit it, you’ll miss me” as she escapes. If you choose the renegade prompt, Shep shoots her and quips “Not at this range.”) That’s fine with me, because the lines don’t feel like out of character moments but instead like the culmination of a team forged from years of service together.

If nothing else, the point of The Citadel is that those years matter. Throughout the DLC we see not the usual RPG meandering from conversations to battle, but evidence that Shepard’s crew are the baddest warriors in the galaxy. And for once in this game, we actually get to see that play out. Everything they’ve done, everywhere they’ve been, we now see proof of what happens when they all come together. This is particularly evident during the last half of the combat portion of The Citadel when, as you lead your two chosen squad members through a firefight, you can see other members of your crew in squads of their own fighting alongside you. It’s similar to the end of Mass Effect 2 at the Collector base, but far more cinematically realized.

The party you’re allowed to throw immediately after the mission is also quite inspired. It’s literally a sidequest-length chance to get hammered with all of your surviving crew from all three games. Awkward conversations, boasting competitions, bad drunken decision-making, Shepard’s awful dancing, even a painful next morning hangover are all included. By the time you’re done, assuming you play this after you’ve already beaten the game once or twice, it feels precisely like the last hurrah you needed before putting Mass Effect 3 to bed.

Of course, if you haven’t actually beaten Mass Effect 3 before, or if you’re paying attention, then you’ll notice that The Citadel has some very serious problems.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

71 Comments on Mass Effect 3 Citadel Review: Almost Enough. Almost.

Fletcher

On March 7, 2013 at 7:51 pm

You know, it finally hit me when I read your 2nd footnote. The ending of Mass Effect 3 should have had the same structure as the series finale of Star Trek Deep Space Nine. You basically described DS9′s finale in your 2nd footnote.

Brad

On March 7, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Personally, I think they brought in the cloning idea to hint at the fact that the fourth installment will probably have something to do with a clone of Shepard, or a descendant of a clone of Shepard. But, I agree. Any future game is going to be devoid of any RPG elements.

Personally, just as with the Tomb Raider series, I think that Mass Effect is going to wind up being rebooted at some point in the next ten years or so.

R.J.

On March 7, 2013 at 8:10 pm

While I still would have preferred that they actually FIX the myriad of problems in the ending, this is probably the second best way it could go out. The plot might have been shaky, and it certainly didn’t seem to fit for the most important person in the galaxy to be living it up while so many die, but ultimately, I didn’t really care about that too much at this point. This DLC actually did address something that was sorely missing from the game: meaningful character interaction. The cameo level interaction from the main game felt like a disservice to a series that derived so much strength from getting players to care about these characters. Sure, there was still plenty of instances where they talked AT Shepard rather than to Shepard, but at least a ton of it was funny.

This DLC was equal parts touching and frustrating for me. I loved the jokes and getting one last time to have fun with these characters, but I was also frustrated knowing that it still heads straight back into the problems that have been there for a year. It was great to see that the folks at Bioware still seemed to have some concept of what fans want, but it was equally sad to know that they chose not to use that knowledge when it really counted. Overall, I can’t say that I’m looking forward to the next ME game, but at least this DLC was a fun sendoff for a series that I’ve loved for years.

TheDog

On March 7, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Sorry. The only thing I can muster at all this is, Yeak, ok, whatever.

Charlie

On March 7, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Good review, fun reading.

I purposefully avoided all the DLC’s firstly as a protest against EA and Bioware for the shocking ending, but also because as you and others have said, it feels empty to play through something which, even if it is fantastic, you come out of it and that ending is there looking at you stupidly on the horizon, sucking you towards itself.

I’m glad they did something fun as a final farewell though, but this sounds like something I’d rather watch than play.

Ross Lincoln

On March 7, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Fletcher, it’s funny you say that because, and I’m not kidding, that is exactly what I was thinking. With a smidge of B5 thrown in.

Michael

On March 7, 2013 at 10:52 pm

But its all irrelevant in the end when you finally remember the star child.
After the ending I had to get rid of the game. I’m just glad I got half of what I paid for all 3.
The only thing that goes through my mind to this day is; what was going through the minds of all the people working on this game when they saw that ending, and why didn’t they voice there opinions on how it was wrong.

Choad

On March 8, 2013 at 3:42 am

Michael – exactly. The ending was created solely by the egotists Walters and Hudson, with no input allowed from the rest of the team. Creatively, this gives the other writers a free pass. However, there is no record of a single one of them voicing their displeasure either before, during, or immediately after the creation of the ending. The only people who have spoken publicly did so weeks or months after the backlash began. If even one member of the team would have had the courage to send word to the press that the ending wasn’t going to meet the standards or the assurances explicitly set by BioWare for the fans, and that Walters and Hudson were solely responsible for it, we would have avoided the fatuous “artistic integrity” non-argument and childish name-calling of the mainstream outlets, the damage limitation debacle known as the extended cut, the fragmentation of the fanbase, and everything in between. BioWare needed someone to tell them, and EA, that what they were doing was wrong WHILE THEY WERE DOING IT. At the very least, they needed a press that would have the mettle to take them to task afterwards. Instead, it was just allowed to slip through the cracks where the obedient outlets came up with all manner of mindless defence mechanisms to wave away their own inability to understand what was a meaningless sequence. The worst was the whole “endings don’t always have to be happy” nonsense, as previously respected publications such as OPM tried to convince people that the ending was in sync with the rest of the game purely because it was downbeat and about sacrifice, ignoring the whole ‘gritty choice-based sci-fi shooter suddenly turns into entirely linear, consequence-free Deus Ex dreamscape in the last ten minutes’ thing, and BioWare’s lies of course. By either deliberately diverting attention away from the real problems, or by hiring staff who never understood the criticisms in the first place as their public figureheads, the mainstream outlets essentially allowed BioWare to get away with what was simple, undeniable deceit on a product that was marketed incorrectly and treated its loyal fans like scum. Every writer who was worth a damn to the lore and themes of the series has now either publicly dismissed the ending or just left the company without saying why. Those who are left are creatively bankrupt and commercially irrelevant, as Merizan’s shameful “haters of the ending are not the majority despite all the evidence that indicates they are because of my poll which I won’t reveal” mantra on Twitter proves.

Essentially, the ‘fans’ – including those championing this rubbish in the press – who want everything to remain stagnant and won’t accept the idea that others can have intelligent, viable views that don’t match theirs on a given subject, have allowed BioWare to destroy itself by not holding it to account for shameful practices and poor production. Jim Sterling called them ‘enablers’, and that’s exactly what they are. They’ve enabled a once great games developer to implode in front of our very eyes in less than a year.

C***s.

John

On March 8, 2013 at 5:45 am

I always figured that the ending to Mass Effect 3 was to get people unattached to the series, because of some studies related to how attached people who play the Mass Effect Series would get towards the characters. Kind of like Bioware and EA trying to pull everyone out of the experience to say “this is just a game” moment. Otherwise they would have probably changed the ending and not defended it so vigorously. Oh well, gave me plenty of reason to try out other franchises especially new Tomb Raider Reboot.

Larissa

On March 8, 2013 at 8:02 am

I will sound very silly with this, but I’ll be honest: the last phrase “Not bad, all things considered. Good riddance, but for once, also farewell.” brought tears to my eyes.

You may call me crazy or overly attached, but I really loved this series. It basically defined my indulgence for video games, but, ever since the ending of ME3, I can’t get attached to anything. For as much as my love for video games was born with Shepard standing over the wreckage of Sovereign in the Citadel council chambers, it also died or was fatally wounded with Shepard’s last breath after the reapers were destroyed.

For me Mass Effect was never a series about action or “pure RPG” elements, it was about continuity, about investing time and thought on decisions that you knew, at some point, would have a consequence, good or bad. But the third game, for all reasons already explained ruined that.

And wiuth it my passion for video games, as, after depositing so much emotional matter on this story, that, different from a book, I could be part of, I could change with my decisions, and seeing it go down as all irrelevant, it turned pretty much any other story-driven game irrelevant too. Because, it sparkled the fear that what happened here, could happen to pretty much any other game. And I can’t live through this again. I won’t.

My last hope for the series was these DLCs, and they proved to be absolutely out of touch with the part of the fanbase that i consider myself in, and so, the end has indeed come. End for my hope for the series, of my respect for the company, and potentially, of my days pretending that video games can be anything more that clicking buttons for things to explode.

Sven

On March 8, 2013 at 8:43 am

Poor haters. You didn’t get your Star Wars-style ending for ME3, not did Shepard turn out to have been indoctrinated (a ridiculous ‘theory’ that tarnishes anything else that uses the word). I actually found the ending for my Shepard to be poignant, though a deus ex machina was not the best way to go about it. Watching the Reapers fall (I picked Destroy) was awesome after the journey you’d just taken through the game and series, plus my Shepard survived (as s/he quite clearly can if you do things right).
The ending backlash has always seemed to me like a ‘we can do better’ tantrum from those fans that wanted a KotOR ending. The ME3 ending makes the KotOR ending look even worse – at least in ME3 there are additional scenes and explanations. Revan just got a ‘well done, you won!’
The ending is what it is. If you profess to hate it, then bye bye. You’ll probably still buy ME4, or pirate it so you can claim you aren’t a hypocrite after being ‘through with EA and BioWare’. You will always be laughed at because if EA messed up ME3, then surely it was EA who were responsible for ME2 being the best game I’ve ever played?

Larissa

On March 8, 2013 at 9:16 am

By the way, I apologize for my grammar in the previous post, as you can obviously perceive, english is not my native language.

TheDog

On March 8, 2013 at 9:20 am

Sad thing is 5 years ago, they could do no wrong. People prebought all their stuff, because we trusted them to do it right. They were at the top of the dev heap, along with Valve and Blizzard. Now look at all of them. Valve still hasn’t finished half-life 2 ep3. The whole reason they put it into episodes was to cut back on dev time and get them out quicker. Right. Blizzard and Diable 3. Need I say more. Now to Bioware. A failing Old Republic instead of KOTR3. Dragon age 2, and of course ME3.
The three companies that were the best of the best now not trusted by the people (not all distrust but a very good chunck of the crowd, although Valve is probably the most trusted of the three. They haven’t failed in the making, just the delivering). Oh how times change. How the mighty have fallen. The kings got sloppy and overconfident. Lets hope they get humbled to the point of change. Probably a slim to none chance, but a chance none the less.

The Defenestrator

On March 8, 2013 at 9:23 am

So Citadel has basically all the same problems as the endings, they just turned the dial from “shallow nihilism” to “suffocating fan service?” The tone doesn’t fit with the other 90% of the game, the plot is ridiculous, shallow, and makes little sense, etc. That sounds, sadly, par for the course from today’s BioWare. I would have much preferred something well-written over something that appealed to my “feels.”

I think this is going to be a bellwether for future BioWare releases: emotion (in this case, incongruously syrupy sentimentality) trumps solid storytelling.

I really can’t imagine trusting them enough to buy another game with their name on it. Their weaknesses as writers, and as a business, are too clear now for me to suspend disbelief. I’ll just wait for the next CD Project RED game.

Kevin

On March 8, 2013 at 4:45 pm

@TheDog,

Valve at least had Team Fortress 2 and L4D over the past 5 years, and now DOTA2. that it takes a company a long time to release a game isn’t a problem…. if the game is good. Valve also has Steam, which along with things like kickstarter have led to a revival of PC gaming.

This is contrasted with EA/Bioware, whose record is pretty poor since the merger (Origins doesn’t count as it was 90% finished before the merger), with only Mass Effect 2 really standing out as a quality game (even if it lost a lot of the RPG elements it was still well done.) DA2 was terrible. The less said about Old Republic the better. And of course ME3.

Heck, even if D3 sucked, Blizzard has had SC2 which most people aren’t really complaining about. EA/Bioware is pretty much alone in the truckload of fail they’ve delivered since 2007.

TheDog

On March 8, 2013 at 6:40 pm

@Kevin What you fail to grasp is those games are both multiplayer. Lots of us don’t do multiplayer, and to release those instead of ep3, well, sorry but that really doesn’t sit well with most. While I’ve heard they’re pretty good games, they are still letting the majority down. Steam is good, but it’s just not a game. People want ep3, not excuses.
SC2 was ok, but to me it didn’t hold a candle to the original. So no, I stick by my original statement. In fact, Blizzard is planning more D3 stuff. I definitely stick by my statement.

Brad

On March 8, 2013 at 8:24 pm

I definitely see EA/Bioware going the way of THQ at some point.

Wesker1984

On March 8, 2013 at 9:04 pm

I definitely recommend this DLC. This DLC is as good as Lair of the Shadow Broker, many fun moments, many easter eggs and reference to the precedent games and a good farewell to our characters we loved so much. This DLC offer the end everyone wanted before the final against the Catalyst.

And stop being so y with the game. Mass Effect 3 still rock as hell and much more with this DLC. Not geting this DLC is an insult to the memory of Robin Sachs(Zaeed) last role. Sachs died last month RIP buddy.

Hellblazer

On March 8, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Games are still more than clicking a button to make things explode Larissa and the Mass Effect franchise in my view is still an inteligent great series.

Just go out of your basement and try to look around and you will realise they exist hundreds of games who is more than ”clicking a button”. The Metal Gear series is a good example(The Solid series not Rising).

Sorry but your statement is one of the stupidest i ever read here.

TheDog

On March 8, 2013 at 10:03 pm

@Hellblazer Dang dude, your statement is the stupidist I’ve seen on here. Just like Bioware couldn’t grasp what it’s fans really wanted, you don’t have a f’n clue what she is saying. It’s a bloody medifore for saying she can’t see herself getting sucked into another game like she did with ME. She felt like it was almost alive. She cared about the characters, and the universe. You really should read what is said first before making a total (donkey), out of yourself.
She was emotionaly tied to the game, the characters, the universe that was created. She pretty much fell in love with it all (just a tad much in my opinion, but hey, to each there own). Games 1 and 2 set up the universe. Game 3 crushed it. The writing was subpar in my opinion, as were alot of the mechanics.
She feels betrayed. Bioware made many feel that way if you ever took time to read the comments and actually tried to understand them. Just like gameinformer made the moronic statement that the fans were mainly upset because Shepard died, and that’s just not the truth.
And just like a person who’s partner breaks their heart, she’s doesn’t want to get emotionally tied to another game because she doesn’t want to feel betrayed again.
So if you could pull yourself out of your gramma’s basement and interact with real people, you might have know what was really being said. Buttons and explosions? Good Go.d man. Grow up.
Don’t worry Larissa, you’ll find another game. Just give it time. Time mends the broken heart.

TheDog

On March 8, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Dang. Almost forgot about Wisker. Little hard to trust your opinion as you recommend anything Bioware puts out. Just like a dog recommends it’s masters shoe for dinner because it loves to chew on it. Just saying.

Brad

On March 8, 2013 at 10:15 pm

@TheDog: I agree completely.

@Larissa: Listen to TheDog. Just give it time.

b0j4ngles

On March 8, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Thanks for this great review. I now know I shouldn’t buy this.

The Defenestrator

On March 9, 2013 at 1:05 am

Wesker. Did you seriously just use an actual human being’s death as leverage to try and bully people into playing friggin’ downloadable content for a friggin’ video game? That is probably the scummiest, most self-absorbed and least empathetic thing I’ve seen said in a comment thread since… well, I’m coming up blank right now.

Congratulations?

Now go sit down, kid.

Johnson

On March 9, 2013 at 10:02 am

I’m now more convinced than ever that Wesker1984 and Hellblazer are the same person. There’s barely any difference in what they say or how they say it, they usually post within minutes of one another, and they’re both brainless idiots.

Blarty

On March 9, 2013 at 11:51 am

Mod the game to put MEHEM on and then with Citadel it all feels more coherent, I can see the ‘no one wins in war’ idea behind the ending (ignore the star child, its what I do), but MEHEM gives an option that some feel makes the ending more in tune with what some people wanted. I’m not going to allow myself to be bothered or annoyed by 10 minutes in the whole series even if it is the ending

JawaEsteban

On March 9, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Well, this is a bit embarassing. My new GF bought me Citadel as a gift (she has my origin login). She’s spent enough time around me to know that I’m a huge Mass Effect fan but not enough yet to know how much I despise EA. Honestly, she’s not enough of a gamer to really grasp the whole publisher/developer thing anyways. Probably a good thing. And getting further off-topic. Anyways, she would have been really offended if I didn’t play it, and she honestly didn’t know, so I made an exception to my ‘No EA games and John Riccitiello can burn in hell’ rule. Hate me if you want to.

That being said, I’m in total agreement with Ross. The plot and the timeline for Citadel are both ridiculous in the overall game. Does not fit. HOWEVER, big however, the character dialogue is outstanding. Rumor was that all the BW writers did the dialogue as a group project without Casey jumping in and screwing it up this time, and it shows. Had more than a few times where I was honestly laughing, and that hasn’t happened since ME2. The dialogue with Grunt especially is just priceless.

There is also a ton of content here. I’ve read through the walkthroughs on ME Wiki for the other DLC to try and get some comparison, and citadel seems to have much more to offer imho. I really am quite torn on how I feel about the whole thing. As Mass Effect story content, citadel is fail. As Mass Effect character content, being honest, I have to call it epic win. I do know that when I finished citadel and logged off, I finally felt at peace with the series for the first time in a year. To me, that’s worth the price of admission.

Belch

On March 9, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Blarty – good for you, but a lot of people will never stop being annoyed. Not so much with the content itself as bad writing does happen and can usually be overlooked (there’s equally bad writing elsewhere in Mass Effect, most notably with the whole “resurrecting Shepard” thing in the second game), but with the fact that BioWare – either deliberately or just thoughtlessly – misled its customers as to the nature of the ending and its levels of interaction. If you can look past it then great, but please be aware that this goes far beyond simply not liking ten minutes of a videogame. It’s a clear crisis of consumer trust.

Sachel

On March 9, 2013 at 7:58 pm

I hope this vindicates everything I’ve said in the forums before.

None of it was, sadly, a lie.

Matchoo

On March 9, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Last night I broke down and bought the ‘Citadel’ expansion. I avoided all the others because since I pretty much knew how the story ended and the expansions weren’t going to change it, why bother. After reading GameFront’s review of it I decided to give it try.

People are right that the premise behind the expansion is kinda silly but it was still a fun experience. There was a lot of humor in it and I found myself laughing quite a bit. The best part definitely is the party at the end. Having the chance to get all the friends I made throughout the game together in one place and just relax was really nice. In my opinion it is the way that ME3 should have ended. We all fight to defend the universe, kick the reapers butts, and celebrate in the end. Unfortunately we all know how the game did end, but this expansion helps add closure to it and really did more to help me accept the current endings then even the extended cut did.

I’m not saying that Bioware and EA didn’t screw up the ending; they did. Also they way they handled the aftermath saying that that there wan’t a problem and putting the blame on the fans was huge mistake, but to Bioware’s credit they did get a lot of stuff right with this expansion and they restored some of the desire I have to continue playing it.

If you really feel that buying this expansion is just going to make Bioware and EA think what they did was all right, then by all means don’t get it. But if you were like me and felt more like “the ending doesn’t change, so why bother” then I would recommending trying it out. Hopefully you won’t be disappointed.

(one thing I wish they did do, though, is at the end of the party when you get a ‘family’ portrait taken, I wish they would have hung a copy of it in your cabin on the Normandy. (as I type this I wonder if they put one somewhere else, I guess I’ll go looking))

Hellblazer

On March 10, 2013 at 12:07 am

Again the dog come and think he know everything.

You really think i was not emotionaly tied to the game too? Mass Effect is a part of my f*cking life! I’m in love with this franchise maybe more than any of you. But i dont do a drama like everyone here and i passed on something else.

I recommend this to you. Grow up you have a life beyong gaming and computing.

Hellblazer

On March 10, 2013 at 12:21 am

”And just like a person who’s partner breaks their heart, she’s doesn’t want to get emotionally tied to another game because she doesn’t want to feel betrayed again.”

Stupid statement and cowardice, enought said. If she’s doesn’t want to get emotionally tied to another game because she doesn’t want to feel betrayed again she just need to pass on something else.

Never a misleading in a story of a good franchise will give me fear to get emotionally tied to another game. Never!

Wesker1984

On March 10, 2013 at 12:36 am

”Wesker. Did you seriously just use an actual human being’s death as leverage to try and bully people into playing friggin’ downloadable content for a friggin’ video game?”

No. I wanted to pay homage to that guy. Sorry if i offended some peoples it was not my intention. Again english is not my native language and it was not really like that i wanted to describe my thought on him.

”Congratulations?
Now go sit down, kid.”

Maybe i’m older than you.

”Dang. Almost forgot about Wisker. Little hard to trust your opinion as you recommend anything Bioware puts out.”

Dang. Hello Doggy still acting like the leader hey? And i do not recommend anything Bioware puts out i recommend EVERYTHING linked to Mass Effect.

”Just like a dog recommends it’s masters shoe for dinner because it loves to chew on it.”
Look’s who talking, TheDog!

TheDog

On March 10, 2013 at 1:12 am

@Hellblazer D.amn, are you and Wisker a couple, cause you sure sound like it. Two fantoys in love.
As for knowing everything. Nah, not even close. I was just saying your a moron and your breath stinks). And of course you love ME. Duh, your a fantoy. You worship the ground Bioware walks on you freak. Just reading your comments shows the world just what an idiot you really are. A pimple faced, dweab who spends his time in gramma’s basement avoiding real life.
Have you ever even had a girlfriend. No, I mean a real girl, not the kind you blow up. Have you ever played a real sport? Gone to a bar to spend the night dancing. Probably not. Just listening to you, I can’t imagine any girl wanting to go home with you.
As for growing up. You insult someone for making a emotional statement that you couldn’t grasp, then come back with those lame a.ss retorts for what I said. Not only do you need to grow up, you need to learn how to talk. Oh by the way. I have a daughter, a job, I’m on several sports teams. I do work in the community, and at the senior center, and on the weekends, I’ll sit in with the local band for a couple of sets. I have a life. A good life.
Wisker, don’t think I’ve forgotten about you, you fantoy you. My analogy of you was perfect. You are Biowares lapdog. You lick there feet and sniff there bu.tts, like a good dog. Your the perfect toy. You just proved what a freakin tool you are with your own statement. You recommend anything dealing with ME, (whether it’s good or bad). So in a nutshell, your opinions are worthless, garbage, gamespot material. Yes, they call me the dog, but for much different reasons then I’m calling you. Mine deals with women. Yours deals with spanking your monkey to a pic of Commander Shepard.
Alright, now give me your best come back. I need a good laugh. I just love days like these. Come on boy, come on. Sit boo boo, sit.

Simon Cowbell

On March 10, 2013 at 5:38 am

Notice how, once again, Hellblazer and Wesker1984 posted within a few minutes of each other essentially saying the exact same thing. I am convinced they are the same person, either that or they’re in some sort of childish pact to attempt to ‘bring down’ Gamefront by flooding every single Mass Effect 3 article with useless fanboy nonsense. They’re either one unscrupulous sc’umbag or a pair of them pretending to be more than one, to be honest I don’t know which is worse. All I know is it’s gone beyond simple crying and is becoming personal attacks on other users. It’s about time the moderators actually did their job and banned these two, along with ‘lol’ and ‘magnetite,’ for repeat trolling.

Ed

On March 10, 2013 at 6:08 am

As many others have said, I also gave up on any DLC after the cruddy ending. Am tempted by this though as a last hurrah with the franchise. Does it come recommended even though I’ve missed all other DLC?

Blarty

On March 10, 2013 at 7:03 am

Oh come on, thedog and Simon, ‘fantoys’ and ‘bringing down Gamefront’, FFS all of you grow up, and that includes people like Wesker. You want to say people want to bring Gamefront down…. Go and have a look for the most commented upon posts on here, I’d wager the majority of the top 20 most commented on posts will be about Mass Effect 3 and that 90% of those comments were resoundingly negative. This site, other the BSN, has become the place to incessantly about the game. For pity’s sake is there nothing more constructive people can come up with than personally directed vitriol and criticism against EA and Bioware – sure they messed up, and for some this is something they can rationalise to themselves and come to terms with and for others they can’t, the key is ‘to each their own’…. Now can we just give it a rest, and instead for those that still have some degree of joy, no matter how small, in their hearts for the Mass Effect franchise, can we get to thinking about how we’d like to see the next game be better than Mass Effect 3?

Laser

On March 10, 2013 at 8:28 am

Blarty – what exactly are you bringing that’s constructive to the debate? All you’ve done is essentially say that you’re willing to keep forgiving BioWare regardless of what reasons the fans have for remaining dubious towards them, that anyone who isn’t 100% apologetic to their behaviour should “grow up” because you still appear to think this was about content (user ‘Belch’ already addressed you on this though you chose to ignore it) and that basically you don’t want the debate to exist unless it’s tailor-made to your exact specifications.

The majority of us here have expressed no desire and no interest in Mass Effect 4, because BioWare’s practices over the past year, coupled with EA’s philosophies for the past two DECADES, has led us to the conclusion that we should never provide either of them with any money ever again. You can either choose to agree or disagree with this, or to handwave it if it makes you feel more secure. But you certainly do not get to tell us what we can and can’t discuss on here. If you don’t like the nature of the debate and don’t feel comfortable enough with the consensus to do anything other than moan because you don’t like what others have to say, go and find a site that caters to your ideology and leave us to what you assume to be ours.

Buck up or sod off. It’s your choice.

Blarty

On March 10, 2013 at 9:35 am

@Laser – What am I bringing that’s particularly constructive to the debate? Nothing in particular, and at least I’ll admit it, but if you think that this is still seen as any kind of debate then I’m not sure I can reasonably answer your questions to any degree that you’d find to be to your statisfaction. However, I’ll try.

You’ve said that I’m ‘willing to forgive Bioware’ can you point out where exactly I said that, what I said is that my opinion may not be your opinion and I’m fine with that, I’m not going to tell you what your opinion should be, and I would hope, respectfully so, that you’d do the same. I’ve been able to rationalise it to some form that doesn’t grate _for me_, I however completely respect that other people can’t – this is not ‘willing to forgive Bioware’. I’m also not asking that people who are not 100% apologetic to their behaviour should grow up, what I’m asking is how is throwing personal diatribe at each other (from both those who dislike or loathe the endings and other missteps in ME3 and those who, and using your own words are ‘willing to forgive Bioware’) actually achieving anything? You will have noticed that I referenced pro- and anti-Bioware people when I asked people to grow up – don’t assume that I have thrown my lot in with anyone simply on the basis that I wish for a return to reasoned debate, rather than seeing yet another Mass Effect post turn into hostile back biting between commenters. Please do not cast me in one ‘clique’ because you prefer one outcome and I beg to differ on certain parts.

And on raising the post made by Belch, which I didn’t see as making a contrary point that I would have to respond to, but a supplemental one that I felt didn’t require some kind of arbitrary ‘+1′ esque response ( so n,o I didn’t ignore it) , you may have noticed that I mentioned in my previous post that I can if I wish use a mod (created by fans that were 100 against the endings produced by Bioware, no less) that could change my playthroughs from this point, reinforcing the point that the endings didn’t meet my expectations.

I’m not in the pro-EA camp, nor in the anti-EA camp, and also I’m not handwaving it – but turning every discussion into a personal flamewar and baiting people on ‘the other side’ does no one any favours, and that’s not ideology, it’s not telling you what you can or cannot discuss, that’s common courtesy.

Perhaps I was off-hand with the ‘grow up’ comment, and for that I apologise, however my point regarding the massively negative nature of ME3 comments and the fact that the most commented upon posts will likely be ME3 related still stands, and reducing any ME3 related post into a series of tit-for-tat exchanges does what exactly? Does that make people ‘feel more secure’? Most people on this site will have stated their view time and time again. When Omega came out probably most people who said they wouldn’t buy that, have said they also wouldn’t buy Leviathan or Citadel, which is completely and utterly fine – that is your decision.

But surely having the same wars and saying the same thing over and over moves no one on any further.

TheDog

On March 10, 2013 at 11:04 am

@Blarty There is a purpose behind all the negative comments. EA/Bioware, I’m sure has people checking out sites like this for feedback. Are people still po’d. Are we calming down. What are the people saying?. This tells them that, no, they are not forgiven, people are still very angry, and yes, they are still the slime of the earth. We don’t ever want them to forget that. They need to know this wont blow over, that if they want any kind of possitive feedback, they need to really work at it, and that what they did is still unexceptable.
I think if they made some really incredable games, that they could win people back. It would still take a while, but they could do it. They would have to work on pleasing the fans more than the almighty dollar. Problem is, would they be willing. With EA backing them, doesn’t look promising. We all would love to have the old Bioware back and join hands singing campfire songs, but honestly, do you think they would do what it takes?
We are actually doing a job here. Letting them know where we stand. It’s hard work but someones got to do it. If we all played nice, they might (meaning of course they would) think we let them off the hook. Heck, if we could do it, I would have thousand of angry fans pick up torches and pitchforks and storm the place. That would be awesome to see, by the way. We don’t want much, just our old Bioware back. The non flipping the fans of Bioware, who didn’t screw up so bad or so often. That’s all.
If this all seems like a repeat, they didn’t print my last statement so I’m trying again. So hopefully you wont get a twofer. If you do. SORRY!!!

Blarty

On March 10, 2013 at 11:19 am

TheDog

Thanks for your comment – I know they’re not forgiven right now, and it would take a massive effort for EA to be forgiven as it stands,or perhaps for Bioware to buy itself out and go back to being more independent again. I completely agree that it is for sites like this to stay the course, and make sure that people are allowed to voice their opinions on games and the industry as a whole. I know there’s bad feeling and resentment but us just baiting each other doesn’t help. And I know the issues as they stand go far beyond just the game, which is often why people who, for want of a better word, ‘coped’ with the ending are often seen as not getting the big picture, because they see the issue about being about not liking the ending of a game, which whilst in itself isn’t great, it was the corporate and pr reaction to people not liking the ending that caused the real fuss. Honestly, I don’t have an issue at all with people who are up in arms over the ending – you can’t expect people to become emotionally engaged in a story and universe and not expect them to have strong feelings over the ending of it – just sometimes the signal to noise ratio can get a bit low when personal stuff starts flying. Everyone’s entitled to their opinion, god shout it from the proverbial rooftops if you want, I won’t stop you.

Not being a grump, just would love to try and look forward whether that is the EA/Bioware breakup scenario or to what could potentially repair the damage through ME4 – id like to think that there’s at least some hope that everyone has that it can be ‘made right’ some how, even though early opportunities like the EC didn’t deliver enough and a full apology, at least for the PR disaster after release, never arrived.

By the way thanks for the thoughtful reply, much appreciated.

TheDog

On March 10, 2013 at 11:29 am

@Blarty Cool beans.

goose2989

On March 10, 2013 at 8:35 pm

JawaEstegan summed up my feelings almost to a T.

On a side note to Ross; you haven’t been getting to many articles on GameFront recently. I think you need to step up your game to compete with Ian, who’s been running this place, and also bug the editors on GameFront about getting you more headlines.

Brad

On March 10, 2013 at 10:48 pm

@Blarty: I agree that the personal attacks need to stop completely. They don’t help anyone.

@TheDog: I agree with you, also. However, do you really think it really matters. I don’t think EA, and perhaps Bioware, don’t really care at this point. I’m sure you’ve probably seen the video where one of the guys at Bioware, at a convention or whatever, said something along the lines of: “We know the ending’s controversial and that it offends some people. *Laughs* Now here’s some multiplayer stuff we’ve been working on.”

Aedelric

On March 11, 2013 at 12:50 am

I have your money right here Bioware, just fix the rubbish ending first and it is all yours.

I see the usual one or two Bioware fanboys are here claiming this DLC is the greatest thing since sliced bread, opinions hard to trust, especially when they are the same people who claim the universally criticized Dragon Age 2 as a work of genius. *rolls eyes*.

I think Bioware’s next game is make or break, their reputation is in tatters and the majority of fans are sitting on the fence waiting to see if they screw up again. I do not see them surviving another Dragon Age 2 or Mass Effect 3 controversy.

InXile with Wasteland & Torment, Obsidian with Project Eternity, Bethesda with Fallout and Elder Scrolls, CD Projekt with Witcher & Cyberpunk, plus many more. The competition in this genre is hot, Bioware better stop standing in the corner of the room picking their nose and admiring their own reflection in the mirror. So many developers are absolutely trouncing them in the field of roleplaying games.

Roy Batty

On March 11, 2013 at 5:49 am

First I want to thank the writers at GameFront, you were the only ones that were “officially” critical of the game.

Just from what you are describing the ME franchise is going down the path of “just another shooter” (I guess it will be cheaper for EA to produce it). Hopefully in 10 or 20 years someone will pick it up, reboot it, and do it justice.

I thought it was funny when you stated that “they” just didn’t know what they were doing. I sit at a desk all day. I am paid to come up with solutions to complex problems. That’s all I do 8, 9, 10, however many hours it takes. “They” do the same thing, they get PAID to come up with ideas and THIS is the best they could do? Sheesh!

“Your “best”! Losers always whine about their best. Winners go home and phuck the prom queen!” ~ John Mason (The Rock)

TheDog

On March 11, 2013 at 9:44 am

@Brad Will it help? Maybe, maybe not. Will I remind them what a piece of doggy doo doo they are on a semi regular basis. Oh yeah. Always. Do they care. Probably more than you know. They’ve already made their stance know so of course they’ll act and react like they do. The number one rule. Don’t let them see you sweat. As long as thousand upon thousands of fans are really po’d, thats dollars lost. Yeah, they care, cause dollars is all they really care about. Articles in all different game magazines constantly remind them of the ending fiasco. It’s always in their face. Yeah, they care.
Personal attacks. Do they help? Maybe not, Do they hurt? Not really. Do some people deserve them. Definitely ( it can also be very theraputical). Not to mention it can be great for a laugh. Sorry, that was wrong to say (but it felt so right). But you’re right. It’s like fighting an unarmed opponent. It’s just that some comments (or fantoys) beg for a special response. I mean really, really beg for one. Just saying.

Michael White

On March 11, 2013 at 4:07 pm

I’ve been following your Mass Effect coverage for a while now, and i think you may be the one games journalist that actually cares and understands this series. Thank you for being a voice of reason.

This article was so ing spot on.

S

On March 12, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Garrus bad at putting the moves on women? Well that’s not what my FemShep learned in ME3! That dude has some slick moves. And also, is amazing at Hanar-style poetry.

Seriously, though, I might actually be interested in this and I didn’t think I would be. I’d like my last taste of Mass Effect to be a bit more enjoyable than what 3 left me with, even if it sounds like it’s going to be too sugary sweet.

Hellblazer

On March 12, 2013 at 8:24 pm

@TheDog
Oooooh you just proven to me how immature you are with your last reply to us. Do you feel superior or inteligent to precise how awesome your pathetic life is? When someone like you use insults and describe a suposed perfect life like that just prove how dump you are. Wasting your times in this comments section and debating on the same subject as everyone else make you a no-life too. Maybe what you said is true but i doesn’t care if you frequent bars, have childrens and a good job or love sports.

I hate sports, alcohol and dancing. The things i love are my lover, my children, my dogs, my japanese mangas and my video games. Also i’m a game tester at Eidos and Bioware Montreal. I’m also the co-owner of a manga shop in Quebec.

Admit it you love to be taken in doggy style and this why you cry like a b****.

Beside of that i’m a girl idiot and i’m Wesker1984′s wife. So basicaly yes we are in a couple if you know what the definition of being wife and husband is. We have two children together and i’m sure i have a more gorgeous body than your girlfriend.

Again i still find the other girl statement stupid and you stinks like a wet dog.

Wesker1984

On March 12, 2013 at 8:34 pm

@TheDog:
I spank my monkey on my wife when she is in her cosplay of Female Commander Shepard. So basicaly yes, i do kinky things with a version of Commander Shepard.

Wesker1984

On March 12, 2013 at 8:57 pm

@TheDog
”You lick there feet and sniff there bu.tts, like a good dog. Your the perfect toy. You just proved what a freakin tool you are with your own statement. You recommend anything dealing with ME, (whether it’s good or bad). So in a nutshell, your opinions are worthless, garbage, gamespot material.”

The same things apply to you your opinions are worthless, garbage, gamefront material. You are negative on everything Bioware release because like a puppy you doesn’t know how to get over it and continue to enjoy a good game even if the las 15 minutes sucks.

”Yes, they call me the dog, but for much different reasons then I’m calling you. Mine deals with women.”

I’m sure they call you TheDog because you growl and bark all day long like you do here. And you know why peoples call me Wesker? Because i look like him in real life. And with what you said i deduce you are a single parent. A pity because me i still live with the mother of my childs and doesn’t do sports and do work in the community to drown my chagrin of being alone. Also when i was alone before marrying my wife i slept with a real pornstar, Lanny Barbie.

TheDog

On March 12, 2013 at 10:15 pm

OMG I was right………………. the tools are a couple!!!!!!!!! Hah, what a freakin joke. Two losers in love. You know there’s a show about you two. It’s called Beavis and But.thead. Only problem is they’re probably cooler than you two. I doubt you’re a girl Hel.lgrazer. Probably some fat dude who likes feelin little wiskers up. You both are so lame it’s not funny. You insults are sad, lame and full of patheticness like the both of you.
Wiskers, you aren’t bright are you? That’s ok. The mentally handicapped have a place. You’ll find yours yet. Dont give up yet. I do sports and work in the community because I like to. Unlike the fat, pimple face peanut that you are.
You know, I can believe you’re a playtester for Bioware. That would totally explain the lack of intellegence and the total toolies that you both are. You’re not only tools, you both suck their tools. OMG, this is too funny. Kids, not likely. There probably actions figures that you cuddle, and wiskers, your not fooling anyone. You spank it to the male Shepard. Thats who your boyfriend dresses up like, or does Hel.lgrazer dress up like Cortez?
Well I would love to slam the Sh-t out of you all day. But you two aren’t intellegent enough to make worthy comeback. They really do suck. Practice on yourselves till you get better. You just look stupid here. Beside the other nice folks are getting tired of you spankin you monkey on line, so I’ll let you two tools in (can’t say love cuz fat, sweaty boy toy sex, doesn’t really count), but I’ll quit now just for them. still this news is priceless!!! LOL……………..I really can’t wait to hear everyones elses reaction to this. Oh by the way wiskers, there is no s in child (childs……lol), oh and I hear it was Ron Jeremy you slept with. You lie worse than you insult, F’n dweeb.
Sorry people. Couldn’t help myself. The news was just too much to resist. I tried, really I did. Tools in the same shed. Hah!!! And wisker, ME3, DA2, and Old Republic. Nuff said weenie boy.

TheDog

On March 12, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Oh wiskers and Sowgrazer. Feel free to make all the dumbas_ remarks you want. I’m going to respect these people and not respond. So here you go. Free shot.

Wesker1984

On March 13, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Here some true fact about us doggy:

Me and my girlfriend share the same point of view as everyone else here about Mass Effect 3. We say the complete oposite just for the fun of geting on the nerve of everybody because they repeat the same things on every topics since last year. Some members here realised that and decided to ignore our posts. Pay attention and you will see that all our posts are incoherents and immatures.

Search the archives and look for the first Mass Effect 3 news who had followed the release of the game in march 2012 here at gamefront and you will see that i was among the ones who had fight againt the original endings. And i still fight for betters endings in video games and i share my real point of view on the Bioware/Ea forums.

Hellblazer is really a girl and she is really the co-owner of my manga shop. And yes she work as a game tester at bioware Montreal, Eidos and sometime at Ubisoft. And she is a good game tester and a better english speaker than me.

This is true we have two nice children and we are married since 2 years.

We still love the Mass Effect franchise and we still like Mass Effect 3 as a good action/RPG shooter but we understand and support all the anger around the endings and the catalyst.

Her name is Hellblazer because she is a big fan of the comic book Hellblazer by DC comics.

And is not true, she doesn’t really hate sports since i am an amateur Hokey player myself.

The extended cuts really helped us to accept more Mass Effect 3 in our trilogy but are we satisfied with the end result? Not really! We wanted a last boss fight in Mass Effect 3 and Harbinger should have been the big bad guy of Mass Effect 3, not the starbrat.

It a pity to think about that since in the original script we were supposed to fight against a mutated Illusive Man reaper monster as the last boss in the presidium tower of Mass Effect 1 under the control of Harbinger itself. And YES in the original script before the final product Harbinger was suposed to be the body of the supreme AI who controled the Reapers. And his projected child form(the original starkid) was to be used as a form of indoctrination to try to covince Shepard to not use the Crucible against the Reapers after defeating the last boss.

We like Dragon Age 2 as a decent sequel to Origins but we agree about the fact this game is far more inferior to the original.

We never played The Old Republic because we wanted Knight of the Old Republic 3 and not a war of warcraft style MMORPG.

My wife really have a cosplay costume of female Shepard and she also possess an Arkham City Harley Quinn costume, a Mileena costume and a Lara Croft Underworld costume. She done her costume when we go at the comic-con and other similar expo.

So far the two DLC from Mass Effect 3 we really liked are the Leviathan and the Citadel. Do we reccommend them? Yes. Do we find really stupid the peoples who refuse to play them? No! We played them in hope those DLC will offer us some more decent change in the endings but by the end we liked them on the story level but not on the gameplay points.

I really sucks at english. My girlfriend sucks at writing english but she talk very well that language.

I really look like Albert Wesker but the Albert Wesker from the movies. A little shame yes.

I really slept with Lanny Barbie before meeting my wife. She retired from the porn industry because she wanted to raise more comfortably her little daughter.

TheDog you seems to have taken our posts too seriously and personal and it degenerated into immature statements with useless insult from the three of us. Our appologies for all those incovenient we made. Our goal was just geting on the nerve of the users not to make them out of their mind and giving them a bad day.

No hating here.

And yes EA like Twentieth century fox are just leechs who think only by profits and not quality. Mass Effect doens’t needed a multiplayer mode. Mass Effect was one of the best single player game ever but it became one more victim of EA. The future of our beloved franchise is dark and we hope all the buzz the endings of Mass Effect generated will give us the chance to have a new and more stronger entry than part 3 and that Bioware will realise their stupid mistake. Please no Starchild and no stupid artistic integrity excuse. The endings of Mass Effect 3 sucks admit it Bioware, admit it. Admit the Extended Cuts was a form of apology and this is why you released it free.

Again, they released a Mass Effect trilogy but without the DLC. They can shove it up in their arshe!

Every Mass Effect fan

On March 14, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Another extremely intelligent “ the ending!” squeal from the pathetic Retarders who work for Gamefront.

You and Hornshaw should be banned from the internet, with death as the punishment for breaking your ban.

Rustedness

On March 15, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Woah, since when did this place transform into the Bioware Social Network? I left that joint for a reason!

TheDog

On March 16, 2013 at 1:42 am

@Wesker1984 I’ll even use your real tag as you were very civil. I agree, it got way out of hand and I apoligize as well. Although I can’t agree, I’m happy you like ME3 and it’s addons, I really am. I wish I could. I’ve beaten the first two with every romance and every possible outcome possible. So I realllllllly wanted to love 3, but just couldn’t, and it wasn’t just the ending. I hate the cover setup. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve died running and brushing up against a wall, only to take cover right there in the open. Or dove out of cover just trying to stand up and shoot, or even jump over the cover trying to shoot but it wouldn’t let me out of cover. No, I miss the ability to just crouch and shoot.
Sounds like you two have a good life up there. Give your wife my apologies as well. To be honest, I didn’t have a clue as to who Albert Wesker was till I googled his name as I don’t play the RE series. Watch the movies, but don’t play the games.
As for DA2. I didn’t hate it like most. Just felt a large sense of disappointment, as it strayed so far from the first which I loved. I almost felt like they turned it into a Japanese fighting game. A corridor shooter only with swords and arrows.
No hate here either, and I’m one who forgets past arguement rather quickly, so cool. Later.

Wesker1984

On March 16, 2013 at 12:46 pm

@TheDog
”Although I can’t agree, I’m happy you like ME3 and it’s addons, I really am”

Thanks! The most appropriate designation is me and my wife decided to accept Mass Effect 3 and to be honest the Extended Cuts helped us to enjoy more the game as a whole.

”So I realllllllly wanted to love 3, but just couldn’t, and it wasn’t just the ending. I hate the cover setup. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve died running and brushing up against a wall, only to take cover right there in the open. Or dove out of cover just trying to stand up and shoot, or even jump over the cover trying to shoot but it wouldn’t let me out of cover. No, I miss the ability to just crouch and shoot.”

I know, its hard to appreciate a game when you doesn’t like the new gameplay mechanics and, at the top of that, endure an wrecked and incoherent scenario. We hope Bioware will release a stronger next entry to make us forgive all the mess they had done with part 3.

”Sounds like you two have a good life up there. Give your wife my apologies as well. To be honest, I didn’t have a clue as to who Albert Wesker was till I googled his name as I don’t play the RE series. Watch the movies, but don’t play the games.”

Dont worry she doesn’t have any anger toward you and she apologies again. Because is our fault and not yours. Also my wife apologies to Larissa for what she said.

And yes we have a good life and we hope it will stay like that. Sure our life is not perfect but we like it.

And for the Resident Evil franchise like you surelly realised it i am an hardcore fan of this franchise and this is the only game series i love more than Mass Effect even if Mass Effect, for the most part, is a better series. The Resident Evil movies with Milla are a total wreck and bad adaptations of the games. They doesn’t look what Resident Evil is suposed to look. But i admit, i enjoyed some parts of the movies but my favorites ones are the two animated movies. Resident Evil: Degeneration and Damnation are actually two side story of the actual games taking place in the same continuity. Lol i will stop here.

”No hate here either, and I’m one who forgets past arguement rather quickly, so cool. Later.”

We are glad to hear that :) ! And i guarantee you that my ”troll” role is dead and buried. I decided to let it go and for now then i will act as the real me. No more trolling and no more fanboyish attitude just to get on the nerve of others.

Wesker1984 is reborn!

Have a nice day TheDog and later buddy.

Greg

On March 16, 2013 at 4:10 pm

And almost only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades.

I genuinely want to have more funny or poignant moments with all these characters I’ve come to love, because some of those kind of moments along the way are in fact more memorable to me than the big battles and plot twists/revelations. But I refuse to pay a $15 cover charge to get into a digital party that BioWare only threw to get us all to feel shiny, happy, and nostalgic without actually having to fix any of the problems people have complained about.

With the same ending in tact, buying middle-of-game content is like paying to upgrade to the finest suite on the Titanic as it is sinking. No matter how good it feels at the time, it won’t make the end any more enjoyable.

Foehunter82

On March 18, 2013 at 12:27 pm

@S: Yeah, that sugary sweetness you referred to, it’s an artificial sweetener.

Kazoo

On March 18, 2013 at 12:43 pm

Wow.. Now I have to reread every Wesker/Hellblazer comment on these boards. ;)

The ME Majority

On March 18, 2013 at 1:22 pm

I love how all the Biodrones here don`t have any rational arguments aside from: ITZ THER GAME, STOP ACTING LIKE THEY OWE U!!!

I wonder how much different it would have been if biowares PR people had handled the situation like adults instead of ”YOU WHINY LITTLE S NEED TO STOP PRETENDING THAT YOU`RE DEVELOPERS AND JUST BE GRATEFUL FOR WHAT YOU GOT!!!”.

Wesker1984

On March 19, 2013 at 12:37 am

I wonder how dirrerent Mass Effect 2 and 3 would have looked if Bioware stayed with Microsoft?

R.J.

On March 21, 2013 at 8:41 pm

@Wesker

One wonders, but we’ll never know.

csm3561

On June 13, 2013 at 1:23 am

@Wesker1984

Catalyst is a Reaper. Did you not play the Extended Cut? Shoot the kid, starts sounding like a Reaper (they wanted to clarify the ending, not to change anything).

I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t trust a Reaper. People say his logic doesn’t make sense. He’s a Reaper. Of course it doesn’t make sense.

Hell, even Sovereign said “you can’t even grasp the meaning of our existence”. And people go on about how the Catalyst doesn’t make any sense. It’s not a thing you can comprehend. Sovereign was right. People can’t understand it, because it is way beyond their comprehension. Fits perfectly with what Sovereign said.

Harbinger also said something about “you insult a future you cannot comprehend” at the end of Mass Effect 2. Harbinger was right. People couldn’t understand the ending. Well, some people managed to make a Google document detailing why it doesn’t make any sense, and explained a lot of the stuff which aren’t really plot holes, because you can explain it using information in the game. Or by using simple logic and reason. This is sci-fi after all. Not everything is going to be spelled out for you. Might have to think for yourself and use your imagination a bit. If people can’t handle that, then sci-fi isn’t for you.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1QT4IUepvrU1pfv_B95oQj0H84DlCTUmzQ_uQh1voTUs/mobilebasic?pli=1

Reapers are the enemy if people kind of forgot. They are the ones harvesting all our friends and using them for slave labor (for anyone who read the codex, specifically the Harvesting entry in the secondary codex).

If people wanted his logic to make sense, why not just have the kid agree with you on everything? I guess the Catalyst can’t have an opinion other than what Shepard says. Shepard thinks the Geth and Quarians can get along. Catalyst says they can’t. Fans go nuts and think the kid should just agree with Shepard on everything.

Fun fact. A catalyst is a synonym for harbinger. Look it up if you don’t believe me. Both words mean the same thing. Catalyst is a harbinger. Harbinger is the Catalyst presented to you as a ghostly boy who died on Earth. Not a new character that was introduced in the last 5 minutes of the game. It’s the same kid you saw die on Earth. The same kid you saw in your dreams. The same kid you’re seeing during the ending sequence. Harbinger appears as this kid and tricks you into letting the Reapers live and continue to harvest everyone.

Why do you think they reversed the Paragon/Renegade at the ending. Illusive Man, paragon? Nope, renegade. He’s a leader of a terrorist group, remember? Anderson, renegade? Nope, he’s an Admiral in the military, who’s been your ally since the first game.

Think about it people.

magnetite

On August 17, 2013 at 1:25 am

@Simon Cowbell

Good luck with that, Simon. I know plenty of ways to get around bans. You can’t get rid of me that easily. Truth is, this whole controversy lies in the fault of the fanbase, not Bioware. If you guys simply paid attention to what was going on during that ending sequence, this whole thing would have never happened.

There is many smart people out there who managed to figure out the ending sequence with no help from Bioware. They didn’t go crying home to them demanding a patch like little children. Instead, they quietly just played the game and used all the information provided to them. When they got to the ending, it made perfect sense. There was no plot holes or anything.

Not to mention, they carefully read Bioware’s PR statements (or lies) as many put it, you would know they didn’t actually lie to you. Some of their claims may have been a bit exaggerated, but that’s what marketing is. It’s like that Simpsons episode where Homer thought he was getting a giant donut only to find out it’s just a regular sized one. Can’t blame him for being stupid now, can we? Same goes with these people who did the same thing regarding Mass Effect 3′s PR statements. They thought their choices would affect the ending. Technically, they did, although indirectly through an EMS number, rather than a cutscene. They didn’t tell you how the choices would affect the ending. Be it a cutscene, EMS number or slideshow. Just said they would affect the ending. Gotta love marketing speak. A lot of you guys fell for it. Ah well, stupid people breed stupid children.

Your choices did have impact, maybe not a huge impact as was claimed, but as long as it did have an impact they didn’t lie to you. As long as the endings were different in some way, even if it was a different squadmember getting out of the Normandy, earth getting incinerated vs. being saved, Bioware technically told the truth. There was multiple endings, and not just 3 identical ones like these fans are claiming.

Fans really shot themselves in the foot on this one.

Tired of Trolls

On August 17, 2013 at 2:48 am

@csm and magnetite, who are repeat trolls proven to have used multiple aliases on here – nobody’s interested in your banal, fantoy-orientated rubbish. Fans did not ‘shoot themselves in the foot’, they merely had the burden of being more intelligent and less obedient that either of you two.

Trudge back to a site that caters to your nonsense, we’re too independent and too critical to accept this.

magnetite

On September 21, 2013 at 1:26 pm

“Fans did not ‘shoot themselves in the foot’, they merely had the burden of being more intelligent and less obedient that either of you two.”

Fans couldn’t figure out the ending sequence even after Bioware practically spoon fed them the answers via DLC. Essentially repeated the same stuff that was in the game for you lazy asses with no work ethic, as well as closure DLCs for those who have no imagination whatsoever. That’s how stupid you are.

http://social.bioware.com/forum/1/topic/355/index/10782781/4

http://social.bioware.com/forum/1/topic/355/index/14291913/3

http://www.twitch.tv/spoonyone/b/312765460?t=5m55s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoKCdpksYYM&t=23m40s

http://www.twitch.tv/spoonyone/b/312765460?t=31m08s

Tired Of Trolls is a troll, don’t feed the troll.

Leave, Now.

On September 21, 2013 at 1:54 pm

Please stop this, magnetite. You have no valid counterarguments and get destroyed every time you visit. You clearly don’t like the site as the ONLY pages you ever comment on are the ones rightly criticising ME3′s ending and BioWare’s conduct. We’re not interested in your childish, obedient clichés. Stick to IGN, muppet.

Tired of Trolls

On September 21, 2013 at 1:57 pm

I find it hilarious that junior (aka magnetite) is calling others stupid when he’s fallen hook line and sinker for a theory based entirely on conjecture because he himself is too intellectually lazy to realise how the interpretation contradicts itself AND has not been formally or officially acknowledged or accepted by BioWare. And, of course, the little idiot still misses the point as to why most people were upset in the first place – that BioWare made a series of promises that they broke. No amount of head-cannon and apologetic tripe can change the simple fact that BioWare did not deliver the product they spent months assuring people they were developing.

Magnetite is the troll, here. A vapid, empty-headed apologist who spouts the same guff hoping in vain that there’ll be someone as equally dense to listen to him.