Mass Effect 3 Extended Cut Ending DLC Review

NOTE: Duh, spoilers herein.

Closure, more than anything, was what the fans I spoke with about the ending of Mass Effect 3 seemed to be missing. The original ending, rushed and truncated as it was, lacked any sort of explanation of what state the galaxy would be left in after the events of the game. And with the release of the Mass Effect 3 Extended Cut free DLC, BioWare has brought real closure to Shepard’s story — finally.

That the ending remains, in many ways, ham-fisted and messy, was to be expected given BioWare’s stance on reworking its series’ finale. It seems that the Extended Cut is a hearty dose of ketchup to an undercooked meal — at least this time, it’s edible.

Mass Effect 3: Extended Cut DLC: PC, Xbox 360 (reviewed), Playstation 3
Developer: BioWare
Publisher: Electronic Arts
Released: June 26, 2012
MSRP: Free

First off, straight up — the Extended Cut is a much better ending than the game originally shipped with, and if BioWare had gone with this treatment, I’m confident it would have avoided the ending controversy without any trouble. There would have been discussion, sure; disappointment, definitely; but widespread outrage? No. Because the Extended Cut takes what was a failure of an ending in the first go of Mass Effect 3 and salvages it to actually conclude things. Most of the original issues remain, but the ending goes from its previous state of “broken,” to simply being “kind of bad.”

BioWare said in the lead up to the release of the Extended Cut that players would need to start the new content as far back as the trip to Cerberus’ Chronos Base. Most, if not all, of the added content doesn’t start to show up until the final 20-25 minutes of the game, when Shepard and his team arrive at the conduit to reach the Citadel. Here is where “clarification” begins to take effect.

Some of the better scenes and additions depict Shepard stopping on his way to the conduit to help his squadmates, who are injured in the run. They’re evacuated to the Normandy, and we’re given much more information about how Joker and the others escape (and more importantly, why) while Shepard goes on (to his inevitable death). Plot hole closed (more or less).

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

45 Comments on Mass Effect 3 Extended Cut Ending DLC Review

Disappointed J

On June 26, 2012 at 4:45 pm

I’m still disappointed about the ending, but the new stuff is at least acceptable. It’s poorly written, but at least it’s an attempt. At least they tried to fix it.

SXO

On June 26, 2012 at 4:51 pm

Well, hopefully this brings closure to the whole ordeal, but it doesn’t change my decision to no longer support Bioware in the future. Didn’t buy DA2, didn’t buy ME3, and won’t be buying DA3 when it eventually rears its head. The Bioware that made games like BG2, NWN, KOTOR & DA:O is gone.

wesker1984

On June 26, 2012 at 4:55 pm

SXO you are just an idiots, a troll et un trou de cul. With this DLC i’ve regained faith in bioware and i will buy Dragon Age 3 when it come out and i hope thei will do Mass Effect 4 in a near future! ^^

Shut up SXO.

Dave

On June 26, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Thought it would be like this – basically, still awful, but lots of awful rather than a little.

Peggle20

On June 26, 2012 at 5:20 pm

It’s still an ass-pull ending full of plot holes to a half-assed game no matter how much they extend it. Agree with you, SXO, more or less. I was willing to give them a chance at redeeming themselves for DA2 through quality dlc and an expansion for that game, but that’s never happening now, so no more bioware for me either.

Wesker, you realize you can disagree with someone without being rude and offensive, right? Maybe nobody ever told you that.

JawaEsteban

On June 26, 2012 at 6:43 pm

I’m with Phil on this one, just finished a playthrough with the EC and I agree that it improves the game from ‘broken’ to merely ‘kinda bad’. I still don’t like it, but working under the imposed restriction that the endings as originally shipped had to stay in, it’s the best one can reasonably expect them to do.

Also, for our earlier friend….you may find that actually making an attempt at using the English language properly drastically improves the tendency of others to not automatically dismiss your viewpoint.

Sapito

On June 26, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Feel happy about don’t buy or pre-order ME3, So long goodbye Bioware! n_n

Disturbed318

On June 26, 2012 at 7:36 pm

I have mixed feelings.

I feel like the endings, as they are, are fundamentally flawed anyway. However, I do feel that it provided more closure for the characters I grew to love over the series. Don’t really appreciate the giant middle finger that is the fourth ending, however, and the entire thing is diminished by the piece of we got in the first place. It would have seemed less rushed and desperate had it shipped with the game. As it were, I feel like BioWare is simply trying to get fans to shut the hell up. It’ll probably work.

As for my faith, BioWare, you lost it when you sold me that 90 dollar middle finger, and this certainly hasn’t gained it back. I might have found an ounce of goodwill in me, though that remains to be seen. I MIGHT buy ME4, or whatever the next Mass Effect game is, but if I do it will most likely be used and only if it’s getting rave reviews from my friends.

And it will only be because I love the Mass Effect universe so.

R.J.

On June 26, 2012 at 8:14 pm

This is pretty much exactly what I thought of it. Reject was a surprise, though having it be the “fail” option wasn’t. It definitely felt like Bioware was saying,”Don’t tell us what your Shepard would do.”

Personally, I’d say this raises the ending from “train wreck” to “passable.” As the reviewer said, if this is what we had to start with, we would have seen disappointment, but not the retake movement.

Jeklor

On June 26, 2012 at 8:55 pm

@ SXO
Well said. Between DA:2, TORtanic, and the way with which they regarded fans with utter contempt during the whole ME3 Endinggate controversy, it’s inarguable that the old BW we all loved is dead.

@ wesker1984
You’re obviously just an apologist plant for BW, so save your act. No one’s buying it. You should be spending your time doing something constructive, like studying grammar.

Twinkle toes

On June 26, 2012 at 10:41 pm

I choose the forth ending, and yes, it does feel like I’m given the middle finger for refusing. Plus I find hard that the crucible has those three options. Isn’t not of Reaper origin? Can’t it be aimmed at only at the reapers? Either way I lost respect and faith in Bioware. If not this ending, there was no real genuine communication or concern that they took this as real writers. Selective criticism is not good criticism. I would love to say it still not too late for them to still make changes to the ending, but at this point, they’ve lost it.

Fletcher

On June 26, 2012 at 10:51 pm

I pretty much agree with what’s been said here. It gave closure and made me feel a little better about it. I do however still have some big issues with the ending but nothing that hasn’t been explained already on this site.

As for me, i’ll wait a good month or so after the release of any new Bioware games. ME 3 was the last straw. For now on assuming we get anymore Mass Effect titles, i’ll be waiting a good month after the games initial release to see what the general consensus is. We’ll see if they can bounce back from this mess.

@wesker1984
Well I guess you are just easily won over then. I however am not so trusting especially with the majority of video game companies today. I’ve had too many bad experiences with gaming companies as of late especially with companies such as Capcom. I’ve basically blacklisted that company and I am not purchasing their games new until they make some serious changes. Bioware hasn’t made it onto that list yet but on their current course they could easily get there.

Axetwin

On June 27, 2012 at 1:48 am

Im gonna be honest here, I started losing faith in Bioware back when they released Mass Effect 2. I know its critically acclaimed and loved by fans all over the world. However, ME2 was the first real game EA had a hand in after their indoctirn….i mean takeover of Bioware. Yes, I know EA’s logo was on DA:O but that game was so far into its development cycle that if EA had stepped in with their own idea’s, it would have ment starting the whole game over from scratch. All the warning signs were there in ME2 and yet everyone was either too blind or ignorant to see it.

SXO is right, this is not the same company that made games like KOTOR and NWN. I know there are alot of people out there that still dont see it. So let me put it this way. To get a proper idea of the thematric changes made to the ME and DA franchises stemming from the first games, imagine if the next Fallout game made by Bethesda played more like a post-apocolyptic Call of Duty and less like the FPS RPG that many have come to love.

As for these endings, I think its a step in the right direction. However, EA has a one step foward, two steps back policy. So lets wait to see what those two steps back is going to be.

Robyn

On June 27, 2012 at 2:15 am

The new endings were a big improvement, if Bioware hadn’t been so smug about their ‘artistic vision’ during this whole thing then all would be forgiven in my book.

ted

On June 27, 2012 at 3:21 am

The EC should have been what the original endings should have been in the first place. Perfect? No. Still has plot holes? Yes. But at least it does give you a sense of an ending. As some have said, why Bioware didn’t do this in the first place or was so smug throughout the entire thing is beyond me.

I think this is evidence enough that it was rushed with so many cut corners.

MasterCK

On June 27, 2012 at 3:28 am

“It’s a comment thinly veiled, and it colors the Extended Cut, implying that while BioWare will give you what you demanded, you’ll still know what the developer thinks of you.”

Why does it color the extended cut? Is it so wrong? People have to realize game designers are also people, most people have no understanding on how hard and time intensive creating a game is. The way people reacted to original endings were just sad and embarrassing; you can be annoyed and even be angry on how the game ended but the way the community reacted was just out of line, its ridiculous. I kinda like how Bioware just threw in a little jab just to show that they are human and have emotions too.

That said, I did enjoy the extended cut, it really does a much better job of closing the series.

kareruren

On June 27, 2012 at 3:39 am

Bioware went from being my AAA, goose that craps gold, and was worthy of pre-ordering collectors editions, but the EC is a mint after finding a turd in your sandwich. It helps make the experience just a little more palatable, but in the end it wasn’t enough even to the point of the “refusal”. You want to give us the finger, mine comes in the form of keeping my money in my pocket.

My faith in your company has been shattered, you wanted your fans to know what you thought of us, it goes both ways. Your next game won’t be immediately purchased, I’m going to let other fans tell me to give you a legitimate chance, you burned a lot of bridges today, and that says a lot.

Gabriel

On June 27, 2012 at 4:21 am

I agree with the “better but still kinda bad” crowd. I also agree had this been the original ending that shipped, we would have avoided the uproar that came.

I wouldn’t say I am boycotting Bioware entirely (although in the short term that is actually true)…I do however have no interest in any project that Casey Hudson is in charge of.

strider0075

On June 27, 2012 at 6:04 am

Glad they did FINALLY answer some questions about the fate of the universe, but this still reaks of EA’s sequel whoring. I’ve already got my eyes on the horizon for a ME4, as it still feels as if the ending is left open so that they can create another leg on the game in the universe. Not with shepard of course, but start another saga in the universe similar to what 343 studios is doing with halo. Also i got to ask who’s really the spoiled kid throwing a tantrum, the gamers or the devs, bioware should’ve had more class than that. They basically got into a pissing match with the fans when what they should’ve done (if they intended to make extra content) is just creat the extra content without that little stab at the fans. You’re a COMPANY, not a commenter on youtube, ACT LIKE PROFESSIONALS BIOWARE.

Eddie

On June 27, 2012 at 9:32 am

So here’s my main issue with what they added. In their attempt to explain how both your crew and the rest of the fleet escaped they simply added more questions with no good answers. First when your squad gets blasted and sheperd calls for evac, normandy is there in about ten seconds, when they’re supposed to be in the middle of the giant battle in orbit. Then it calmly sits there as sheperd walks your squad up and has a final goodbye with them, and all this time Harbinger is sitting right there, but instead of shooting at the spaceship just sitting there it’s taking potshots at the tanks and infantry running around behind you? A bit of a stretch at best. Then why is the fleet running away when the citadel is firing? They have no reason to expect it to destroy the relays or do them any harm, and there are thousands if not millions of soldiers and civilians down on earth they’re just going to abandon? Additionally how is the normany, one of the fastest ships in the galaxy, the only one depicted as not being able to escape the relay explosion/shutdown/whatever its supposed to be now and crashes somewhere random. Plus with the relays inoperable for what would probably be years no matter which ending, I’m pretty sure that people on earth and a bunch of other planets are screwed anyways.

Mr Glassback

On June 27, 2012 at 10:36 am

So MasterCK, if you complained about a meal in a restaurant and sent it back to the chef, you would be ok with a big ‘f**k you’ pube put into your new meal?? Chef’s have emotions too.
Not everyone reacted embarrassingly to the endings but we all got the middle finger.
It’s a childish reaction to a problem they created and I feel sorry for anyone who feels it’s ok to be treated like this.

JimP

On June 27, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Another awesome review. Thanks for it. I pretty much agree with everything that’s been said here. The endings couldn’t have been truly “fixed” without a complete rewrite and I wouldn’t want that anyway. It’s too much like a cheat. Still, it brings the ending from “broken” to “just kinda bad” as has been said. The game still doesn’t introduce you to the “true villain” until the very end, which is a storytelling cheat, and the plot holes are still there, but at least it’s camouflaged with some tugs to the heartstrings.

As for continuing the franchise, I don’t see a problem with it. I always thought that Lucas made that mistake in Star Wars, telling and retelling the stories of the same handful of people. There’s a galaxy’s worth of people in the Mass Effect universe and I think a good writer could spin a few of their stories as well. I’m all for them creating a new story-arc, telling us what happens next, moving into the future etc… The problem is that I, like most people here, have a bad taste in my mouth. Sadly, despite that, I will probably end up playing any new ME games, but I’ll need time to let the wound close. I just can’t help but feel angry though, that while these endings (I’m being generous with the plurality) would have been unsatisfactory regardless, had the extended cut been shipped originally and had Casey Hudson not been so unbelievably smug and obtuse, I would have shrugged off the disappointment and still called Mass Effect 100+ hours of the best gaming I have ever done.

Gabrielle

On June 27, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Hi Phil

You wrote a great article on the Indoctrination Theory back some. Are you bummed now that it was quashed in the EC? I had hoped the EC would reveal that Shepard was being manipulated into the Control/Syn options… or that the whole Citadel segment was in Shep’s head. w\Would’ve been a brilliant twist to the end of the series.

wallydog1

On June 27, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Like I said in another post. Crap is still crap no matter how much you explain it, expand it, or season it. Expaining crap may make some feel better because they understand it more. They realize that it may have been a wonderful cut of steak when it began it’s journey, but by the time it’s digested, well, you know. Really doesn’t make it any easier to swallow now though. Doesn’t magically change it, just makes it a little easier for some to except. Deep down, we still know what it is though. A through digested piece of steak. Mass Effect 1&2 tasted good though.

Kevin

On June 27, 2012 at 5:41 pm

@Axetwin,

I think the reason a lot of people don’t look at it with ME2 is because they realize that, for the most part, ME2 WORKED. the overarching storyline was great. Okay, the characters were a step down. But the overarching mission was done masterfully. The introduction of the Illusive Man was exceptionally done. and the final suicide mission was so brilliantly designed, the shortfalls (and they did exist) could be overlooked.

Dragon Age 2 was trying to make the DA series like Mass Effect 2….. without the magic. They stripped out the RPG elements entirely, and simply thought that putting “DPS” in the stats screen made it an RPG. (Honestly, if you went something other than rogue you were doing it wrong anyways.) I fully understood what they were trying to do. Was still garbage tho.

Phil Hornshaw

On June 27, 2012 at 5:44 pm

@Gabrielle,

I am a bit sad that the Indoctrination Theory is, once and for all, put to bed. However, I’ve been expecting that to be the case, so it wasn’t unexpected — BioWare made it pretty clear throughout that it wasn’t their intention.

Still, for my part, I think the Indoctrination Theory represents some missed potential that could have really made for some interesting ground for BioWare to cover. Back when we wrote about the theory, I mentioned that it could possibly have been the greatest video game element ever conceived, and I still feel that way. Something I don’t think games do enough of is present an untrustworthy vision of their reality — with total control of player perception, developers have the opportunity to play with what we see, hear, feel and do in games and they rarely seize it. I’d love for Mass Effect to mess with Indoctrination of the main characters, and to bring that to bear on me, the player. It would have been some very interesting ground to cover.

Name*

On June 27, 2012 at 8:22 pm

Too little too late. I am done with ME games. That is hard to say because I was a huge fan.
Dragon Age 2 did the same thing for me regarding the Dragon Age series.
I have no more faith in Bioware at all.

dratkin

On June 27, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Actually SXO is exactly right.

James

On June 28, 2012 at 2:16 am

watched on youtube didnt really have the heart to play play through even from the base.

Disappointed and kinda accepting of that now ME was a great series with a very poor ending, very poor as in made better by EC but it was horrific when shipped.

also SXO stated his opinion in a fair statement, wesker comes across as the troll for being insulting and negative.

Bioware of old has gone that is just a statement of fact, a lot of the original staff have moved on to other projects even the DAO producer was gone long before ME3.

I’ll put my faith in companies like Naughty Dog and Cd Projekt Red who had a very cool thank you video recently to all their customers…Bioware thats good PR.

CatmanStu

On June 29, 2012 at 7:02 am

The biggest problem with the ending (original and EC) is the entire game leading up to it.
It was forshadowed in the first game that organics have been tricked into developing their technology in the direction the Reapers intended as to limit the threat they would pose and make them more predictable adversaries. When the story starts with the Reaper invasion the galaxy is already consigned to failure unless you:
a) Introduce a new plot element that will undermine all of the previous narrative context (change the rules), or
b) Have the organics win against insurmountable odds in the name of blind optimism (break the rules).
I don’t agree with either solution. My Shepard knew, from the moment he met Sovereign, that the galaxy was doomed and every edge they found was too little too late, but he/she was damned if they weren’t going down fighting.
That’s why, for me, the “Refusal” ending is by far the best and would have been the perfect ending if it had been handled with respect, rather than disdain.

Sol

On June 30, 2012 at 8:21 pm

Yeah, the endings are better, but still its not really good enough.
-Like you said, deus ex machina. Never a good way to end something, especially when it makes no sense.
-The Catalyst still breaks most of the plot of the series.
-New plotholes opened, eg. Why does Harbinger sit there and watch the Normandy evacuate your crew. Harbinger doesn’t do stuff like that.
-Closure is still not really achieved(for me at least, i have many, many questions).
-Epilogue is extremely short and non comprehensive.
-Synthesis still being plugged as the ‘best’ ending when it is unnecessary, the epilogue for it makes the least sense. Space magic abounds more than ever.
-The Catalyst actually manages to make less sense. He says the cycle is so new life, organic AND synthetic can flourish. Which makes no freaking sense at all. No reasons why Synthesis can affect every single different form of life in the galaxy, but destroy cannot only target reapers(who are STILL vastly different than normal AIs). He also says when you’re rejecting him, that the Reapers outnumber the fleet you gathered….Riiight. You gathered hundreds of thousands of ships(assuming you got maximum assets) the Reapers only had a few hundred around earth, max one thousand. Extraordinarily bad mathematics, even if you assume theres at least 3 reapers in every star system.
-War Assets are still not properly represented, so more than half of the side missions are a waste of time, some entire races etc are completely absent.
-Thanix cannons are still absent, the most powerful ship based weapons in the ME universe are never used, despite the codex stating their widespread use among the human and turian military. As well as a volus Dreadnought which has like two dozen of them.
-The reject ending just feels like a big ‘ you”. We’re not even shown everyone going out in a blaze of glory, everyone just dies in a fade to black.

Thats just the tip of the iceberg too. On the whole it just feels lazy. There should have been a part 1 and 2, part one is where they fix all the whole, show all assets and everything, part 2 should be the epilogue.

Karl

On July 1, 2012 at 2:39 am

A half arsed attempt by Bioware to add polish to an already crap game that’s not a shadow of the original,although it didn’t go far enough,I can’t believe it took them 3 months,3 days more like,well I watched the extended endings on You Tube it wasn’t worth playing the last 3 hours of this tedious game again to see a tacked on extended ending and it isn’t even worth taking up my hard drive space,I hope people go on complaining and when it comes to Bioware’s next release those people refuse to buy it,maybe when it hits them financially they will care,but by then it will be too late and their demise will follow shortly and I do hope EA will follow suit.

Maffa

On July 3, 2012 at 2:00 pm

2 giga slideshow. They just poured some ketchup on a bad meal, and i dont like ketchup.

The game was mediocre at best. The fact that few ever mention the fact that missions are lame and short only points out (if there were any need) that most of us were in for the story, the plot, the very plot that casey Hudson managed to screw at the very end because he wanted to play movie director and forgetting this was a videogame, meant to be played by someone that was not him.

Instead of a three way coloured 10 minute psychedelic cinematics we went on a 25 minute cinematic were things gets retconned and have finally some sense, but it’s a sense that manage to displease everybody. Whats the point of the planet crash? Who knows. How can spaceship out of Terra go FTL without a Mass Relay? Space Magic. What does syntehesis mean for them? A sort of Asimov’s Galaxia melding biological and synthetic intelligence and flowers and mountanis and bugs? How lame is that?

It’s merely patched, nothing worth waiting all these months I should’ve uninstalled ME3 sooner, glad i have plenty of space in my HD. Bioware is dead for me.

Way Cup!

On July 5, 2012 at 10:19 am

Gabrielle and Phil – The Indoctrination Theory ISN’T killed off, not even slightly. I assumed it was at first, but actually the plot holes weren’t the reason the theory became credible to begin with. It started as fans wanting any excuse to throw out the ending, but within days and now months there are so many things that seem like they couldn’t possibly have been errors or coincidences – like BioWare would actually have had to go out of its way to do these things. I’m not saying the theory is correct, but it is utterly incorrect to assume it’s been disproved by an expansion of this ending, when the ending itself is exactly the same.

In fact, the DLC actually provides even MORE clues that hint at indoctrination. My guess is that BioWare was trying to appease everyone by providing closure AND hinting at the possibility of the theory being true, and that they themselves still don’t know what they’re going to eventually go with.

Either way, the DLC allowed me to enjoy the ending at face value, even though it’s still flawed. Well done, Retake Movement – you’ve proven once and for all that the consumer does, in fact, have value. And thanks to BioWare for bothering to do anything – very few other developers would have done, so it shows they still have some integrity even if their reputation is still damaged from the initial failure to deliver on their promise.

Rilan

On July 5, 2012 at 11:55 am

Spoliers if you haven’t played….

If your EMS is high enough then Shep is not dead and your love interest does not put Shep’s name on the memory wall…and so the Normandy departs to go find Shepard (confirmed by Bioware employee on BSN). So….

Muabbo

On July 6, 2012 at 10:41 am

Seriously, the only ME3 ending you need:
http://koobismo.deviantart.com/

Just bask in its damn glory:
http://koobismo.deviantart.com/#/d55zj1y

Mr. Tastix

On July 6, 2012 at 9:20 pm

I like the Refusal ending in a whole “Human arrogance causes the death of humanity.” kind of way.

I mean, what did fans expect? If you don’t choose the Reapers endings then what do you do? Nothing. You’d stand there like an idiot, twiddling your thumbs wondering “what next?” and that’s exactly what Shepard does.

You could kill the Catalyst but how will that solve anything? The Reapers will still continue the invasion, not being programmed with any new “solution”, so Shepard has effectively wasted years fighting the Reapers only to do nothing when it really matters simply because he’s too arrogant to do so.

It’s a brilliant ending simply because that’s what human arrogance gets rewarded with.

I named my Chimp Casey Hudson

On July 6, 2012 at 11:42 pm

What’s all this Mass Effect 3 talk?
In Mass Effect 2 I trapped the reapers forever in dark space, ignoring the last cinematic of the game.
In my mind Mass Effect 3 never happened.

Monsoonicane

On July 10, 2012 at 7:20 pm

I’m one of the only people, well probably only person, that didn’t mind the original ending that I got (and thought that the indoctrination theory fit very well). I was completely against new endings. I mean, how can you change something that already is? And while it’s true these newer endings expanded upon the endings, they did change some aspects as well. I think because of that it was just too little too late for them. They really should have been included on my first playthrough. No matter what Bioware is just soured to everyone now. Much like Blizzard did with Diablo III, we no longer can feel confident buying a product from either company. Thanks Activition and EA.

wesker1984

On July 12, 2012 at 12:49 am

”What’s all this Mass Effect 3 talk?
In Mass Effect 2 I trapped the reapers forever in dark space, ignoring the last cinematic of the game.
In my mind Mass Effect 3 never happened.”

Now THATS a retarded comments!

Kostra

On July 18, 2012 at 4:14 pm

“We´ll only add some clarification as we believe in artistic vision of our tem” – adds new endig and changes that *** about Mass Relays and uses sentence “not enought time to explain” -_-
That part with Normandy as evac ship was… not good i guess fighing with reaper fleet takes place in Earths atmosphere.
Yes ending are finaly more then red/green/blue/screw-you-complainers but it´s still bad. I liked DA2 it was lot wors then DA1 but i still enjoyed it enought to replay it. I really wanted to replay ME3 as i have multiple end-saves from previous parts… i managed to drag my ass toThessia and then i just gave up,
couldn´t even bring myself to play extednded cut and just watched people with stronger stomach.
I was BioWare fan since the beggingin. There was a time i never bothered with info about theyr games, i knew they´ll be good and i jsut went for them, that is gone i´l probably try out leviathan as it gives me some reason to finihs it for a secon time (but going to watch it instead of finishing earth http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efeQx6GZAUA&feature=g-user-u ).
And when DA3 comes out… i am deffinitely going to wait for some prewies. But undestand (if someone manages to read this up there) – it´s not just BW fault, EA bears theyr part of a blame (yes talk about EA), they are doing to BioWare what they did to many companies before that (someone remembers Bullfrog or Westwood), so if you are pissed off by ME3 debacle and wanna show your displeasure by not buying stuff, concider this before deciding.

Busi

On August 6, 2012 at 1:11 pm

I’ve watched all the the extended cut endings on utube,(I don’t have internet connection on my Xbox ). And although I appreciate the effort that bioware team has put into the EC it is still not how the conclusion of the game should of happened at all. For all the reasons gamefront has already mention in its article of 5 reasons why the fans are right.

Bioware knew what the fans wanted because it has been made clear in every site where we’ve expressed our views and complaints.

We wanted the stupid starbrat gone with his ridiculous logic. We wanted an ending that made sense, that wasn’t riddled with plot holes and most showed the consequences of our actions regardless of the outcome. Not just the three reaper-philosiphical choices that contridicted everything Shepard and the galaxy has been fighting for. What it means to be alive, The right to make make our OWN CHOICES and CHOOSING THE PATH WE DESIRE and not the ones by the reapers.TOLERANCE,UNITY, FRIENDSHIP DESPITE DIVERSITY OR DIFFERENCE. TO CHOOSE OUR OWN FUTURE DESPITE THE ODDS.

And from the beginning these have been underlying themes throughout the series. Anything against this has been shown for what it is. The evils of indoctrination and control , genocide is not the only option( Mordins genophage modification ), The use of life as tools,(The geth in ME1 and the Collector’s, The ancient Rachni ), Synthesis( Saren, husks, the Collectors, THE REAPERS THEMSELVES) and hatred of other species(Saren, The Illusive Man, Cerberus).

And more importantly we wanted the ”MASS EFFECT” of the consequences of our choices in a way that mattered and stayed true to the lore of the themes and narrative.Many of us wanted to actually to fight the Reapers and see them come to life. But somehow you managed to make Cerberus the main enemy in the game not the Reapers themselves. Why? Imagine how epic that will be instead of writting it off as “We can’t defeat them conventially”. The potential is so amazing if done right could of been one of the most innovative battles in sc-fi.

Many of the fans has made countless profiles of their Shepard, including me just to see the possibilities of many outcomes carrying out from our choices.

If you truly cared about that and your fans Bioware I know you’ll do better than what you’ve done with ME3 cause let’s face it, it didn’t even come close to the first two and if you people here don’t agree with me just replay ME2. Much more love and effort has been put in that game, you can see it and the people in bioware will see it too.

I’m not going to blame the whole of bioware because I know they are many in the team who truly enjoyed making the mass effect trilogy and make it the best it could be. I promise you it shows and I sincerely want to thank you all for such a great universe.

But they are a few who lost track with what mass effect was about and that too also shows in the end, if not throughout the whole game. I have an idea of the people who wrote the ending…cough..( CASEY HUDSON and MAC WALTERS) need to stop acting as if the story is your own because its not. It’s the whole of bioware too and instead of holding onto your “artistic integrity” admit you guys made a mistake. Do what is artistically right for Mass Effect and not what is good for your ego. The fans are not stupid, we love Mass Effect just as you guys do if not more.

So yeah. I hope I made myself clear. I’m still quite sad of how much potential was wasted with this last installment. I didn’t expect a happy game or ending. Hell it’ll be awesome if there was an ending where the Reapers win. But it should be based on what you the player has choosen through the trilogy and not by the last ten minutes and some silly EMS score system.

From now on I’m not buying anymore bioware games until they own up. Its probably not going to happen but as long as they hold onto their “artistic integrity” I’ll be clutching on to mine.

Mass Effect has been one of the finest journeys in my short life and the best games I’ve played featuring some of the best characters developed. But since it ended on such a bad note I won’t be buying anymore Bioware games or EA.

nao

On August 10, 2012 at 10:18 am

sazs

Gung ho

On November 20, 2012 at 11:35 am

its very simple mass effect is a game where you make decisions there should have been decisions which lead to the demise of Shepard like in me 2 and decisions which lead to his survival. in terms of pot holes the game was ridden with them, i have not seen the extended cut and do not wish to. the indoctrination theory is garbage too!

zazoreal

On March 5, 2014 at 10:33 am

well i think mass effect did well even with the bad ending was still awesome game just bad ending. hope they learn from this and improve…bioware’s only mistake with mass effect was the point of the game was to go against the reapers and win…so what do they do they make you lose “only mistake in my opinion.”