Metacritic Users Review Black Ops 2 on PC: 3.0/10

Surprise, surprise: Black Ops 2 isn’t being well-received by the gaming community at large, with the PC crowd being the least impressed with this umpteenth installment in the FPS series. The Metacritic user reviews for the PC version of the game presently sit at an abysmal 3.0/10 — a stark contrast to the only critic review that has come in so far, which gave the game an 85/100.

Of the 79 user reviews submitted to date, 54 (68%) are negative, 16 (20%) are positive, and 9 (11%) are mixed.

The Xbox 360 version of the game isn’t faring much better with the players, presently sitting on 4.0/10 based on 605 ratings, while the PS3 version can boast a 3.8/10 based on 170 ratings.

Maybe everyone who enjoys the game is too busy playing it to show the title some love.

How would you rate Black Ops 2?

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

10 Comments on Metacritic Users Review Black Ops 2 on PC: 3.0/10

Russell

On November 14, 2012 at 10:40 am

I am having alot of fun with the game, certainly the best CoD I have played so far. I bought it on the PC version.

psycros

On November 14, 2012 at 10:56 am

After XCOM and Dishonored it should’ve been obvious that most of the mainstream reviewers are all bought and paid for. If not, well…*this* should assuage any lingering doubts.

Paul

On November 14, 2012 at 11:33 am

My ps3 copy sits in the trash can after it pissed my off and i took a knife to it.

TxWolf

On November 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Haters gonna hate.

R.J.

On November 14, 2012 at 1:31 pm

I doubt if Activision will care that much. Despite this happening before, they still end up selling a bunch of copies. If they even respond, it’ll be the usual line about how the professional reviews were so positive.

Stone Cold Steve Autsin (not a typo)

On November 15, 2012 at 5:06 am

TxWolf – a disingenuous deflective comment for the intellectually lazy. There are genuine concerns over the independence of reviews in the mainstream press, and all you can do is label people as ‘haters’ without even bothering to read some of the criticisms. I could just as easily call you an immature fanboy, but I’m too sophisticated and open-minded to make such vapid generalisations.

Learn from it.

TheDog

On November 15, 2012 at 9:26 am

psycros@ Thats funny. I’m just a gamer and I agree with reviews on both games. Loved em both. Finished Dishonored 3 to 4 times just to see the changes made by styles of play. Awesome game.
I guess I’m pay off too huh. Dude get a clue.

TheDog

On November 15, 2012 at 9:29 am

Will admit though, the reviews for Diablo 3 and Mass Effect 3 (saw some bloody 10/10′s) left me a tad bit skeptical on honesty and integrity. Looked way boughten to me. Still loved Dishonored and Xcom though.

Pineapple Chinks

On November 15, 2012 at 10:27 am

TheDog – I agree that it’s highly unlikely that mainstream reviews are ‘bought’ in a literal sense. However, it’s clear especially from the ME3 mess and the constant apologetic/defiant tone towards Fifa and Call of Duty’s repeated flawed mechanics that many reviewers are bought in a more subtle way, through strong PR and annual AEP visits to company HQ and so forth. Either that, or they’re just completely delusional.

Dishonored was good, though. Psycros sounds like he can’t accept the idea that others might not share his opinions so needs to create a conspiracy in his own head to explain away the differences. To borrow a phrase from an earlier comment, that’s intellectual laziness of the highest calibre.

name

On November 23, 2012 at 10:52 pm

The FPS genre was at its peak with Half Life 2, BF 2142 and COD4. Pure since then. I mean pure, unadulterated . 10 years from now video gaming might catch up to the level of awesomeness it had 10 years ago.