No XP For Dungeon Siege III Co-op Players

Obsidian Entertainment has made a habit of picking up where other game developers leave off, and that’s the case again with Dungeon Siege III. Everything we’ve seen so far from the upcoming action RPG leads us to believe this could be one of Obsidian’s best efforts yet, but some news has surfaced that may lessen our enthusiasm.

One of the more exciting features of DSIII was the four-player cooperative play. Instead of controlling all four characters as you do in the single-player game, you can hand off each of those characters to a friend, allowing you to loot and pillage together. The only negative is that you may have trouble convincing your friends to join in, as we have learned that co-op players will be considered “assistants” to the host, and will receive no character XP at all.

According to a preview over at Gamespot, anyone joining a friend’s game will not only receive no XP, but they will make no progress in their own game at all.

Fable 2′s co-op options were roundly criticized, and with good reason. Even then, the joining player still received his share of XP, loot and fame (or infamy). This is infinitely worse, giving players absolutely no reason to play together.

Good cooperative games have always been few and far between, but thus far DSIII was shaping up to make the shortlist. This news, which nearly guarantees that no one will want to play co-op unless they are hosting, means that the tacked-on feature will likely see little or no use.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

2 Comments on No XP For Dungeon Siege III Co-op Players

ratso

On January 31, 2011 at 4:52 pm

… wtf is the gripe about. you want characters from your friends game to level up your own characters even though you arent even using them? just because they exist on your machine? you ever think that the game might get to a difficult point so that someone who isn’t that good might request “help” from there friends microing all their heroes. you are using your friends heroes not your own. case closed. l2havefun

ratso

On January 31, 2011 at 6:24 pm

and apparently hitting a button 1 time submits it twice