RAGE Review (PS3)

NOTE: RAGE Steam codes (PC version) did not unlock until Monday, so our PC review is currently in progress. We’re on it–stay tuned!

“You know what you’re here to do,” RAGE seems to say, shoving a pistol into my hand a mere five minutes after I’ve finished installing it onto my Playstation 3. “So let’s f–king do it.”

So I hop on my ATV — it’s got a longhorn skull on the front, complete with the horns — and I drive out into the desert Wasteland that looks conspicuously like certain chunks of Nevada without roads running through them, and I head to where the game tells me I will need to be killing some guys. Actor John Goodman said that those guys are jerks and need to be put down, so he asked me to drive to their territory, walk into their house, and shoot them all mostly unprovoked. So here I go.

RAGE
Platforms: PC, Playstation 3 [Reviewed], Xbox 360
Developer: id Software
Publisher: Bethesda Softworks
Released: Oct. 4, 2011
MSRP: $59.99 (PC, PS3, Xbox 360)

Apparently, killing guys is what I do, and what RAGE is all about. That’s almost all anybody seems to want from me in the brave new world that is RAGE, some 100 years after the Nevada-tization of Earth because of the impact of an asteroid called Apophis. Also there’s driving, racing and playing a collectible card game for some reason, which is like a highly simplified version of Magic: The Gathering. But primarily, what we’re here to do is what id Software does best in its video games: facilitate the murders of many bad guys.

I’m what’s called an Ark survivor, meaning I came out of a weird technological tomb that was buried before the asteroid strike, and that gives me special powers in the post-apocalypse. One is the ability to regenerate health. Another is that I have a defibrilator in my chest. I’m hard to kill, and everybody knows it. That’s why within five minutes of rescuing me from certain death after I’ve been cryogenically frozen for 100 years and have no idea where I am or what’s going on, John Goodman is handing me a pistol and telling me to go massacre a bunch of “bandits.”

Why I have to kill these guys doesn’t really matter, and it’s kind of strange that RAGE carries much of a story at all, since it’s utterly clear from the outset that the game’s developers cared little for the reasons they use to prop up my slaughter of hundreds of people and mutants. The game is constructed around the very shaky premise that as a member of the Vault Ark program, I’m especially useful as well as hunted by an authoritarian government that purports to be in charge of everyone in the Wasteland (aptly called The Authority). So I’m taken to a town, where various people have various problems and many of them ask that I solve them. Then it’s off to some bandit hideout to wipe them out, maybe steal back something they stole, maybe identify the body of some poor wastelander they kidnapped. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

It’s very Borderlands and Fallout 3, and even though RAGE has been in development for longer than both those two games have been available, you’ll recognize the underpinnings. Basically, if Mad Max was ever adapted into a video game, RAGE is very likely exactly what it would look like.

Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 | Page 4

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

14 Comments on RAGE Review (PS3)

Heru

On October 3, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Very interesting. I wonder if the PC version is much different. If not i’ll be waiting for it to drop to 30 bucks.

Apoc

On October 3, 2011 at 11:13 pm

you probably won’t have to wait long if the first spate of reviews are anything to go by. I’m predicting bargain bin within a month or so or at least a massive sale on steam in the upcoming holiday season.

JosephPS3 Dead State

On October 4, 2011 at 6:25 am

Rage $46.49 now at Bestbuy.ca (Canada)

Its reduced to $49.99 ($56.49 after tax) and you also get a $10 reward card. So even if you were to wait a year and get it for $20, you’re really only paying $26.49 premium to play it now and not wait till it drops to $20. I think this game is worth the $26.49 premium to get it now especially if you can still get the Anarchy preorder bonus.

Nick

On October 4, 2011 at 7:21 am

I dunno man your pros and cons make this game sound better than a 7/10, you r reasons for not liking this game are not big issues for me when playing a FPS, weak story, not bothered, I haven’t played a FPS with a decent story since Half Life 2.

I’ve noticed a lot of reviewers are very cranky when reviewing this game for some reason, a lot of crying and moaning about little things. Maybe they were expecting some sort of massive RGG style FPS, I wasn’t, this is pretty much exactly what I was expecting. Not saying it’s a 9/10 or perfect, but I think a lot of reviews are being a bit overly harsh when other similar FPS get off lighter for some of the same faults.

Phil Hornshaw

On October 4, 2011 at 7:32 am

@Nick

I see where you’re coming from. My trouble with Rage isn’t that it has a weak story — it does, but that’s id for you and I knew that going in — but more that it doesn’t make up for its shortcomings with really solid mechanics or gameplay. The shooting CAN be really fun, but it never changes. The first fight is the same as the last fight, but the room has different colors, you know? It lacks good bosses and set pieces, and a lot of the elements feel really shallow.

As for people expecting Fallout — I think that’s the fault of id and Bethesda, saying we were getting things like “loot” and “crafting” and “a huge world.” Rage, realistically, has none of those things. I think the game is marketed toward looking like Borderlands and Fallout and Bethesda and id allowed that to happen when that’s not the game they were making. It’s fine not to be an RPG, but I think people are right to feel like they were misled by the game pretending to be one when it’s really just a corridor shooter.

Steve

On October 4, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Rage is a strictly linear game. It was sold to us, virally or not, as being something that it is not: a non-linear game. Most of the annoying and repetitive tasks in the game do nothing but provide the illusion that you’re not just playing another id shooter. Unfortunately for id, most gamers who have yet to be lobotomized see right through their cute little illusion.

Despite this, the game is pretty. Needs some patch work on PC. It’s a mess right now.

Louis

On October 4, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Save your money for a while guys. Just downloaded and installed Rage via Steam and all I get for my $60 is:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: rage.exe
Application Version: 1.0.27.6901
Application Timestamp: 4e89e183
Fault Module Name: atioglxx.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.14.10.10061
Fault Module Timestamp: 4c33de79
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00761990
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0×0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

- Windows 7 x64
- Newest ATI drivers (updated yesterday actually) 4850HD
- i7 proc and 16GB ram

Faulty graphics and sound issues are one thing. Not getting to a load screen or even an intro video is inexcusable.

Too bad I can’t get my money back from Steam. Guess I’ll have to wait for a patch to see if this game will even run.

Peace.

tiltswitch

On October 7, 2011 at 9:01 am

im pretty disappointed with the reviews so far….having not played it yet i was certainly expecting an oblivion type fps…they without a doubt marketed it as that in their trailer….still it looks great and im a big fan of quake and doom….

Blackdawg

On October 13, 2011 at 7:01 am

Wow, the pc versions review got 40/100 and complaints about graphics. Console version gets 75/100 and graphics are praised. I wonder why

Phil Hornshaw

On October 13, 2011 at 7:46 am

@blackdawg

Specifically because the game looks good on consoles, where you have no graphical options and the hardware is aging, and not on PCs, where there are no graphical control options and issues like pop-up and texture streaming are much, much more severe. Watch some YouTube videos for comparison.

Nick

On October 14, 2011 at 12:27 pm

I’ve put 7 hours into the campaign and I like it a lot. I think people are being overly harsh on this game, it’s got the best AI for enemies I’ve seen in a shooter this generation. Yes there are parts that can be tedious, but the game is a good length and the combat is a lot of fun. It’s a solid 8.5/10 for me. I’m enjoying it a lot more than most other FPS this gen

Dean Raven

On October 25, 2011 at 1:58 pm

I love the game, great gameplay good shooting etc and love the shop and the buggy!! only just about 2 hours into the game and its really fun!!! after reading about the weak story I realised that everyone is right!! I cant even think what the story is hahaha!!!!! dont let that put you off though

Me

On December 31, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Bangin game just buy it. Sick multiplayer and awesome shooting. One of the best games I’ve ever played

Marquis

On November 27, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Silly reviews for this game. ‘the rpg elements are pretty thin’… Rage is a fps, seems fairly easy to understand. Does Fallout or Mass Effect get docked 25 % (which it looks like they did here) because the shooting obiously is not up to standard of the top current fps? -Or do reviewers have sense enough..