RAGE Review (PS3)

One Thing Done Well: Shooting Stuff

Luckily, despite the fact that the single player campaign rarely evolves much beyond, “Drive to location, kill everything, return to base,” RAGE does manage to reproduce, again and again, some really fun battle situations. The game almost always makes you feel powerful, capable and in possession of overwhelming firepower, and the longer the campaign progresses, the more exciting it becomes. By the end of the game, you’ll have maybe eight guns in your possession, but almost all of them will have multiple ammo types that basically reshape them into several weapons. Your assault rifle rips apart armor with the right bullets. Your shotgun can also spew explosive blasts perfect for annihilating mutants. Your crossbow can take over the minds of your enemies and turn them into living grenades.

When you’re fighting your way through various enemy bases, RAGE is at its best, and there are times that it can be really good. On the fly, you’ll loot all kinds of items and ammo, many of which can be sold, most of which can be used to build new items. Engineering things on the fly like sentry bots and wingsticks, that three-bladed boomerang we’ve seen so much of, can be a life-saver.

You’re inundated with cool ways of accomplishing any given kill, so much so that you probably don’t need them all. For example, I abandoned several weapons to the dark spots in my inventory for much of the game in favor of the spectacular shotgun, and used explosive RC cars only during the mission I first received them. Other players will undoubtedly find other ways. In a Bulletstorm-like way, fighting battles in RAGE can make you feel like an utter bad-ass, as you deftly pop an exploding crossbow bolt into one enemy and finish another with a Wingstick decapitation, before spinning and shotgunning the guy running up behind you — these moments are many in RAGE, and they feel great.

The enemy AI also makes things sporting, if not altogether particularly difficult. Bad guys move realistically, run from position to position in order to try to pin you down, dodge when you’re sighting them up and actually regroup or run from you when you’ve thinned a large group down to just one man. But they also pop up predictably, charge you relentlessly if they’re of the melee type, and refuse to die even though you’ve shot them in the face five or six times. To be sure, the AI in this game makes things interesting — but the differences in the way one bandit clan fights compared to another are largely superficial, and the only enemies that really change things up are the suicidal mutants, which combine resilience with a lack of survival instinct.

Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 | Page 4

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

14 Comments on RAGE Review (PS3)

Heru

On October 3, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Very interesting. I wonder if the PC version is much different. If not i’ll be waiting for it to drop to 30 bucks.

Apoc

On October 3, 2011 at 11:13 pm

you probably won’t have to wait long if the first spate of reviews are anything to go by. I’m predicting bargain bin within a month or so or at least a massive sale on steam in the upcoming holiday season.

JosephPS3 Dead State

On October 4, 2011 at 6:25 am

Rage $46.49 now at Bestbuy.ca (Canada)

Its reduced to $49.99 ($56.49 after tax) and you also get a $10 reward card. So even if you were to wait a year and get it for $20, you’re really only paying $26.49 premium to play it now and not wait till it drops to $20. I think this game is worth the $26.49 premium to get it now especially if you can still get the Anarchy preorder bonus.

Nick

On October 4, 2011 at 7:21 am

I dunno man your pros and cons make this game sound better than a 7/10, you r reasons for not liking this game are not big issues for me when playing a FPS, weak story, not bothered, I haven’t played a FPS with a decent story since Half Life 2.

I’ve noticed a lot of reviewers are very cranky when reviewing this game for some reason, a lot of crying and moaning about little things. Maybe they were expecting some sort of massive RGG style FPS, I wasn’t, this is pretty much exactly what I was expecting. Not saying it’s a 9/10 or perfect, but I think a lot of reviews are being a bit overly harsh when other similar FPS get off lighter for some of the same faults.

Phil Hornshaw

On October 4, 2011 at 7:32 am

@Nick

I see where you’re coming from. My trouble with Rage isn’t that it has a weak story — it does, but that’s id for you and I knew that going in — but more that it doesn’t make up for its shortcomings with really solid mechanics or gameplay. The shooting CAN be really fun, but it never changes. The first fight is the same as the last fight, but the room has different colors, you know? It lacks good bosses and set pieces, and a lot of the elements feel really shallow.

As for people expecting Fallout — I think that’s the fault of id and Bethesda, saying we were getting things like “loot” and “crafting” and “a huge world.” Rage, realistically, has none of those things. I think the game is marketed toward looking like Borderlands and Fallout and Bethesda and id allowed that to happen when that’s not the game they were making. It’s fine not to be an RPG, but I think people are right to feel like they were misled by the game pretending to be one when it’s really just a corridor shooter.

Steve

On October 4, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Rage is a strictly linear game. It was sold to us, virally or not, as being something that it is not: a non-linear game. Most of the annoying and repetitive tasks in the game do nothing but provide the illusion that you’re not just playing another id shooter. Unfortunately for id, most gamers who have yet to be lobotomized see right through their cute little illusion.

Despite this, the game is pretty. Needs some patch work on PC. It’s a mess right now.

Louis

On October 4, 2011 at 7:59 pm

Save your money for a while guys. Just downloaded and installed Rage via Steam and all I get for my $60 is:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: rage.exe
Application Version: 1.0.27.6901
Application Timestamp: 4e89e183
Fault Module Name: atioglxx.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.14.10.10061
Fault Module Timestamp: 4c33de79
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00761990
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0×0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

- Windows 7 x64
- Newest ATI drivers (updated yesterday actually) 4850HD
- i7 proc and 16GB ram

Faulty graphics and sound issues are one thing. Not getting to a load screen or even an intro video is inexcusable.

Too bad I can’t get my money back from Steam. Guess I’ll have to wait for a patch to see if this game will even run.

Peace.

tiltswitch

On October 7, 2011 at 9:01 am

im pretty disappointed with the reviews so far….having not played it yet i was certainly expecting an oblivion type fps…they without a doubt marketed it as that in their trailer….still it looks great and im a big fan of quake and doom….

Blackdawg

On October 13, 2011 at 7:01 am

Wow, the pc versions review got 40/100 and complaints about graphics. Console version gets 75/100 and graphics are praised. I wonder why

Phil Hornshaw

On October 13, 2011 at 7:46 am

@blackdawg

Specifically because the game looks good on consoles, where you have no graphical options and the hardware is aging, and not on PCs, where there are no graphical control options and issues like pop-up and texture streaming are much, much more severe. Watch some YouTube videos for comparison.

Nick

On October 14, 2011 at 12:27 pm

I’ve put 7 hours into the campaign and I like it a lot. I think people are being overly harsh on this game, it’s got the best AI for enemies I’ve seen in a shooter this generation. Yes there are parts that can be tedious, but the game is a good length and the combat is a lot of fun. It’s a solid 8.5/10 for me. I’m enjoying it a lot more than most other FPS this gen

Dean Raven

On October 25, 2011 at 1:58 pm

I love the game, great gameplay good shooting etc and love the shop and the buggy!! only just about 2 hours into the game and its really fun!!! after reading about the weak story I realised that everyone is right!! I cant even think what the story is hahaha!!!!! dont let that put you off though

Me

On December 31, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Bangin game just buy it. Sick multiplayer and awesome shooting. One of the best games I’ve ever played

Marquis

On November 27, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Silly reviews for this game. ‘the rpg elements are pretty thin’… Rage is a fps, seems fairly easy to understand. Does Fallout or Mass Effect get docked 25 % (which it looks like they did here) because the shooting obiously is not up to standard of the top current fps? -Or do reviewers have sense enough..