Rage Review (PC)

RAGE
Platforms: PC, PlayStation 3, Xbox 360
Reviewed on PC
Developer: id Software
Publisher: Bethesda Softworks
Released: Oct. 4, 2011
MSRP: $59.99 (PC, PS3, Xbox 360)

What do we expect from id, whose games we’ve been playing on PC our whole lives? Well, we expect them to make a game that works. That’s our baseline expectation. It’s an expectation that id hasn’t quite been able to meet with Rage.

The version of Rage id released this week is fraught with goofs, the most notable being the absolutely insane texture pop-in that occurs every time you move the mouse. I’ve never quite seen anything like this before, and it makes me feel like the megatexture experiment was a failure. AMD has released a driver update Tuesday that improved the situation, but it really didn’t fix it completely; the texture pop-in is still an extremely distracting occurrence.

But the bugs aren’t limited to that pop-in. The screen tears like a motherf–ker, for one. While everything else looked more or less fine before I entered Wellspring for the first time, after that occasion all sorts of other things went straight to hell. Characters flickered in and out of existence. Textures disappeared completely, leaving black squares all over the place. A shotgun shell hovered above my shotgun for the entirety of my time on Mutant Bash TV.

Many times with PC games, players can fix problems by messing with the game’s graphical settings, but that’s not an option here, because the only in-game graphical settings there are to mess with are resolution, gamma and anti-aliasing. The game instead uses an auto-balancer to determine your graphics settings, and that just creates more problems. The main issue the auto-balancer creates is with texture quality; despite running a machine with an i5 2500K, a Radeon 6950 and 8gb of RAM — which should be more than enough to run this game on max settings, I found myself encounturing textures that looked like this:

You can forcibly alter the game’s settings to eliminate screen tearing and enable higher res textures using your video card’s software and by creating a rageconfig.cfg file, but you shouldn’t have to do that, and many folks out there don’t know how to do that. The game should work correctly without user tinkering under the hood.

Go to the next page

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

13 Comments on Rage Review (PC)

JosephPS3 Dead State

On October 7, 2011 at 6:00 am

Rage is such a rental and not a keeper. I bought it for $46 and sold it for $40-$6/week rental. The game is worth a try just to check out what all the hooplah is about but this is one game you can easily wait 1-2 years and wait to hit the $20 bargain bins because that’s exactly where its guaranteed to be headed in 4 months easily.

The game is only about 12 hours long. Not much of a replay value. Not much of a multiplayer. Rage is like just a showcase of what Id’s new game engine is capable. Was this game for end consumers or an ad for other developers to use Id’s engine? I’d give the game 60/100 because I personally enjoyed it a little more and didn’t have the PC headaches but it doesn’t say much about a game when its traded as soon as its completed.

Brandon J. Clark

On October 7, 2011 at 8:28 am

Oh man, WTF? I was soooooo looking forward to this game!

tiltswitch

On October 7, 2011 at 8:43 am

lol….its 6 hrs longer than black ops then…

Phil Hornshaw

On October 7, 2011 at 9:02 am

12 hours is a generous estimate. It’s really more like 8, but a lot of that time is wasted talking to people in towns who have no information, looking for things that aren’t there, and trying to be sneaky or explore. There’s no reason to do any of those things because RAGE is basically a corridor shooter with towns in between levels, but the towns only have about two people worth talking to in them total. If you know who to talk to and don’t wander around Wellspring unnecessarily, the length of the game is pretty heavily decreased.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R.

On October 7, 2011 at 9:13 am

I’ve managed to make that game into something playable after a few hours of forum browsing, cfg file and launch options tinkering.

There are still low res textures all over the place but they arn’t popping in anymore.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R.

On October 7, 2011 at 9:16 am

Look at the difference in the textures. The Pic at the top of the page of the ingame character “Ginny” and the Kold-Kong cola machine.

This is what I see in that exact location.

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/596950510536496354/9EBF85B4C2F01BDFF4B19D6DC66D81887FFF4ECF/

Jimmy S.

On October 8, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Thanks for the review, Phil and everybody’s comments. I was looking forward to this game a lot too…now the wind is out of my sails on this one. I’m hearing from a lot of friends who aren’t having glitches this game just doesn’t rock like we were all hoping it would. It sounds like I’ll wait for the bargin bins too.

HavoK

On October 10, 2011 at 7:03 am

Horrible review.

This is why you don’t go to gamefront for reviews. The Character Animation is simply amazing. The Enemy Movement is ahead of its time. The game does have its problems, but what game doesn’t?

TheNomad

On October 10, 2011 at 10:40 pm

This review is pretty much what I experienced in the game and I was very frustrated with the release. After the patches and driver updates id had to ruin it for me by claiming that “We do not see the PC as the leading platform for games” just pissed me off. ID, you have lost a fan and you are now on my blacklist.

gordo79

On October 12, 2011 at 7:40 pm

When I first loaded up this game I two have a 6950 with less generous 4 gigs of ddr2 and an aging q9300 processor. I knew enough to force v-sync before I even started playing and it was always playable for me.

I can give you the fact that the story isn’t really the most seat edge thrill ride some games are, but as Havok said the character animation is amazing…the detail in the whole world is amazing. The biggest gripe I have is that everything looks very detailed untill you get close to some items and you can tell the textures are only made to be seen at a distance.

Id should have done a better job than that, but if you want a game that has a little of everything than this could be your cup of tea.

First off who cares what the story is? Its a old school fps with amazing visuals…look at the sky..the clouds even look real. You run around and shoot stuff. Enemies are hard and keep getting harder. Some waves of fast mutants just kick the crap out of me all the time but I barely manage to get by.

I don’t know what this guy is talking about with the customization menue either..the game does pause for it. I have played this game with keyboard and mouse as well as the 360 controler. I prefer the 360 controller. It is really smooth and everything is easy to do.

I wouldn’t give this game a perfect score because they should have delayed the pc version for a week because the graphics options were horrible if you didn’t know how to fix them. Any dummy could google it to find a fix.

I would at least give it a 75. 40/100 this guy needs a new job.

gordo79

On October 12, 2011 at 7:45 pm

Oh also just to add its funny the ps3 version got a 75 like I would have rated it lol. but this douche gives a 40

People google a new patch is out now anyways to let people do what they couldn’t figure out.

The worst thing I see is when people have i7 processors 16 gigs of ram and I can play this game just fine. I guess I don’t have to upgrade.

Blackdawg

On October 13, 2011 at 6:57 am

Any of you pc gamers or console gamers noticed out there that games written nowadays are crappy? Lets take Crysis. Crysis for pc was great from graphics to open world and even story (it was not bad). Crysis2 the port version was linear and well not so good in the graphics dept. for pc’s but great for consoles. Mr. ID himself has said he does not like programming for pc’s anymore. Funny thing is he’s been programming on a Apple Mac for last few decades but never really release games for the mac in volumes. He now says consoles are the future. We all know it’s because of the money it generates and not every hacker out there is targeting this platform… To me console games has always been a bit childish compare to pc games. Why this is i don’t know.

MinJae

On November 6, 2011 at 5:18 pm

It was a good game – but OMG they SO overcharged for it. Expect to see this going for $9.99 within three months. Too bad – what there was was OK but the single player is VERY short and, in my experience so far, there is almost no one playing multiplayer – so be prepared to spend hours waiting for someone to join. Such a disappointment! I wanted and expected this to be so much more.