Red Dead Redemption reviews leaked

reddeadredemption2

A couple of Red Dead Redemption reviews have leaked online ahead of the official May 18 release. The gaming rags Game Informer and GamesTM both gave Rockstar’s western-themed RPG very high marks, 9.75/10 and 9/10 respectively. Review snippets within.

GamesTM heaps praise on RDR for the scope and execution of its game world:

“You know San Diego has hit the nail on the head when you perch reformed bandit John Marston atop a mountain pass and watch as the slowly setting sun paints the sky gold and red, casting long, drawn shadows across the game world in its descent.”

GamesTM one knock seems to be that the exploration is not as rewarding as it could have been.
“You know San Diego has hit the when you perch reformed bandit John Marston atop a mountain pass and watch as the slowly setting sun paints the sky gold and red, casting long, drawn shadows across the game world in its descent.”

Though the review cites that the game’s exploration isn’t always as rewarding as it could have been, it’s overwhelmingly positive in the end:

“It’s a world that asks the player to absorb its moments of beauty rather than expect constant gratification.”

Similarly, Game Informer gushes over RDR’s depiction of the wild west in the early 20th century:

“The game perfectly captures the expansiveness of frontier life and the gritty gunplay of spaghetti westerns, rightfully earning its place alongside the great Western films and the best Rockstar games.”

Stay tuned for our full review of Red Dead Redemption next week. We also have a Red Dead Redemption walkthrough in the works, which we’ll post in bursts as we complete the game.

[Via GameSpot Forums]

UPDATE: check out our fullĀ Red Dead Redemption review!
UPDATE: need help with weapons, outfits and other collectibles? Try ourĀ Red Dead Redemption cheats page.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

27 Comments on Red Dead Redemption reviews leaked

paul

On May 11, 2010 at 4:26 pm

that’s good news but game informer rates lots of game too high compared to other critics. bad company 2, heavy rain, although I actually agreed with there review those games were/are awsome

JS

On May 12, 2010 at 11:15 am

I agree, Game Informer goes overboard at times. They hand out the “10″ rating a little too often in my opinion (GTA IV, God of War III got 10′s just to name a couple). To me, a 10 should be near impossible as you are saying the game is PERFECT in every way, has no flaws and couldn’t be improved in any aspect. That said, I usually check reviews at gamespot as they are pretty harsh on games and rarely ever hand out a perfect score. I even think they’re a little too harsh in their reviews. I usually look at Gamespots “Critic Review” rating as that takes the average score of all major game review sites/magazines and gives you the average.

Still this game will likely score in the 9′s / 90% range. For one, you can tell that rockstar put a lot of effort into this game. Secondly, the Western genre isn’t tackled enough by developers so it makes this game stand out in the gaming world saturated with military shooters, horror games and post apocalyptic/sci fi games.

Really this genre hasn’t been tackled or mastered by anyone. Can’t really think of an epic western game that was a must buy. Call of Juarez, meh…GUN, it was good but not great…This game will be epic.

DNICE

On May 12, 2010 at 2:39 pm

I WOULD LIKE TO SEE GAMESPOTS REVIEW, THEY ARE REALLY TOUGH ON DISHING OUT 9 AND 10. BUT I’M GETTING THIS REGARDLESS CAUSE I NEED A FREE ROAMING GAME RIGHT NOW. THIS SHOULD MORE THEN HOLD ME OVER UNTIL UFC UNDISPUTED OH HELLLLL YEA!!

spliff

On May 12, 2010 at 7:28 pm

Usually video game companies release copies of the game to reviewers who agree to give it a high rating early on, and thus help increase sales. Game Informer is just such a company, that’s why they always have reviews earlier than others. So they’re totally unreliable. Gamespot is pretty solid: if a game gets a score of “9″ or higher, and it’s a genre you like, you’re usually going to like the game.

I don’t know if RDR will be successful. Rockstar can’t seem to make a good game aside from GTA. Rockstar has indeed invested a lot into RDR, but they are more focused on encouraging investors than appealing to video gamers. Look at the promo videos on Youtube, it feels more like a seminar for potential investors, with all the talk about the technological capabilities of the game, instead of how straight up ‘bad-ass’ it will be. This is because investors need objective criteria when choosing a company, instead of inherently subjective things such as “fun”. Perhaps it also shows that Rockstar is having a hard time inspiring confidence in this game.

For these reasons, I would advise you to be very cautious when purchasing this game. Wait for the Gamespot reviews to come out and don’t buy it unless it’s at least a “9″. With games now at 60 bucks (or more), a little bit of careful shopping can’t hurt.

Brandon

On May 13, 2010 at 5:58 am

I’m ok with the 10 scores even if has some imperfections. Nothing is perfect, so when I look at a 10 I see it as, “This game is at the top of it’s field.” A few 10′s a year should go to the best games of that year. Otherwise if you only hand 10′s to perfection you may get one every 2-3 years and then people will still debate it. And I still do not know of any game that has ever been perfect.

GRKiller

On May 13, 2010 at 7:55 am

@Spliff: lol, What? Rockstar’s only good titles are under the GTA brand? You sir lose any credibility that your post might have had. Does Max Payne, Bully, Midnight Club, or The Warriors ring any bells to you? Damn near every game Rockstar has published in the last 10 years has been critically praised. Regardless of your lack of knowledge, I would hope anyone with half a brain could point out the obvious anti-Rockstar BS you keep spouting. “Oh my, Game Informer must be paid off if _____ gets a good score!”, “Everyone, save your money and dont waste it on this!”

Mike

On May 13, 2010 at 10:48 am

Warriors, Midnight Club, and bully arent exactly winners…max payne was A+ and max payne 2 was an A but max payne 3 looks like a no thank you (fat and bald max in brazil…)

I pre-ordered this game because of the fact that this WILL clearly be the best western game out there. No much time and value has been put forth into a game so I know rockstar has its hopes high. They even tried to cover their butts by trying to force a reviewer to write good about it. This game is clearly going to be worth a buy.

Amazon.com is offering a $20 gift card with pre-order/buy…theres a ton of good games coming out in a few months. That comes in handy.

Sam Glass

On May 13, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Not enough time? uhh, are you retarded? They spent 3 years on it. More time than Infinity Ward or Activision puts on Call of Duty or EA puts on Left 4 Dead or Madden (lol L4D2 sucked).

Sam Glass

On May 13, 2010 at 3:25 pm

Theres the real joke, you’re getting UFC Undisputed.

Johnston Hemmer

On May 13, 2010 at 4:17 pm

Spliff’s right. Why the hell do you think Game Informer has this review out before everyone else? By accident? And your pathetic argument that “a lie could still be true by coincidence” is the least credible thing on this board. If a company is BOUND BY CONTRACT UNDER PENALTY OF SUIT to give a game a high score, there is a good chance that the score will be exaggerated. Your implication that the score is likely to be accurate is ludicrous.

And all the games you mention are DECENT, maybe even good, but not great. And none of them have been major commercial successes. When you mention “critical praise” you’re arguing in circles, because a lot of review sites artificially inflate scores. I suppose if you have a low thresh-hold for what is fun, like a pre-teen who oogles at naked mannequins, then you would think that all games are fun…

Krantos

On May 14, 2010 at 2:57 pm

I think he meant “So much time.”

Anyway, I don’t take GI’s word for anything since they called Fable 2 “open world.” Still, I got my pre-order in because I’ve actually researched the game quite a bit and nearly everything I’ve heard is solid gold.

donbhai

On May 14, 2010 at 4:18 pm

no matter wat any of u say, this game will get game of the year for sure.

JSV

On May 14, 2010 at 10:00 pm

Gamespot handed GTA4 a 10 so what do u think they will give RDR ??? Cmon dude get real these gaming websites are paid off by publishers to give scores….if GTA4 got a 10 from gamespot then they will no doubt AT LEAST give RDR a 9.5…

Bank of Dank

On May 15, 2010 at 5:11 am

Ehrm, Game Informer gets reviews early as well as say UK Playstation Official Magazine (also released RDR review in their most recent issue) because they are MAJOR magazine distrubutions. In fact in the US, Game Informer sends out more magazines to consumers than ALL OTHER VIDEO GAME MAGAZINES COMBINED. You know very little about review sites and how they receive their games don’t you?

These high-run magazines are expected to have the reviews ready for the monthly magazine that it should be in. Red Dead Redemption’s review is in the newest (June) edition, you think a game released in May should be in the July edition or something? You’re a fool.

Bank of Dank

On May 15, 2010 at 5:36 am

You sir, are an idiot. I’m still laughing…. Ok I work for a review site, its non-profit so we don’t make any money. We are a small site but attract a lot of traffic. We have our Alan Wake review out already because that’s when they allowed us to post it. Game isn’t out yet, we sure as hell didn’t get paid either. Game publishers put dates on when certain things about a game are allowed to be talked about, due to magazines usually being on a monthly or bi-monthly cycle, they are generally given a chance to get it out first, especially POPULAR magazines like Game Informer. There is no doubt a gag-order on other sites posting RDR reviews already, that is the usual.

Conspiracy theories about game reviews???? Are you serious? Get a clue, get a job at a review site and goto school for some needed learning.

Trevor

On May 15, 2010 at 7:21 am

It comes down to personal taste I guess. Bully was one of the best games I have played. I put it above all the GTA’s short of 4 and its expansions. I don’t like racing games, so I have no opinion on that. Warriors was one of the best beat ‘em ups…it just was foolishly released at the end of a consoles life. And the Manhunt games were only good – not great, State of Emergency was bad…although my much younger cousin loved it :P

Max Payne was one of the best most memorable 3rd person shooters and it really brought ‘bullet time’ into the picture. Rockstar has had more than one genre changing game. People don’t have to like them, but it would be trolling to say they aren’t one of the clear leaders in the video game industry, in both quality and ingenuity.

iTz SLoShy

On May 15, 2010 at 7:50 am

A lot of people in here seem to be confused about the differences between publishers and developers (Activision, EA = publishers) (IW and Treyarch = devs). R* didn’t develop, Remedy did. It’s the publishers who push the devs to get the product out asap if it’s a big name title. If you notice R* doesn’t push the same crap your way every year, but develop games for years so we as gamers get the best possible experience in the sandbox genre.

Another thing for you morons. GI isn’t the only reviewer to get copies early. These companies are ALL sent demos and the finished product before the game ships. Hey that preview you read about RDR at gamespot the other day? Yeah, finished product. They game comes out in days. It’s finished!!! If the previews at your beloved, “trusted” and most favoritestest review website/magazine haven’t said anything good in the previews then you can bet the review won’t be good either.

Anyways kids, grow up. It’s just a game. Figure out how it all works before you start running your mouth.

andyb

On May 15, 2010 at 10:57 am

GamesTM is a quality magazine with integrity, and they gave it 9/10, although they werent reviewing the multiplayer aspects of the game, only single player. Nevertheless, i totally trust the reviewer’s judgement.

paul

On May 15, 2010 at 11:56 am

What are you talking about Bully is a great game, it didn’t get the mature rating that we all wanted but it was still amazing (loved the soundtrack). BTW I heard the guy who composed the first Bully accidently confirmed Bully 2 can’t wait.

ximmer

On May 15, 2010 at 8:43 pm

Hey… they invented this cool thing called CAPS LOCK, which, believe it or not, can be turned off. The fun part about it is, it’s actually easier to read when you type in lowercase! You’ll understand some day, junior. Maybe when you’re older. *pat* *pat*

Nick

On May 15, 2010 at 9:38 pm

@Sam Glass:
You have no idea what you are talking about L4D2 was a great game unless you didn’t get “The Passing”

Doug

On May 17, 2010 at 7:26 am

the vast majority of posters here obviously don’t work in the industry, GI, IGN, GamesTM etc., none of these magazines, websites or whatever get paid by publishers or devs to write favorable reviews about their games. If they did, why would high profile games from big publishers get bad scores? (And trust me, it happens) the thing all of you are forgetting is REVIEWS ARE OPINIONS, I read all the reviews, but ultimately I make my own mind up. So should you, stop whinmng and acting like morons.

Johnny

On May 17, 2010 at 8:04 am

your CAPS LOCK key is 3/17ths of an inch to the left of your pinky finger… is it really that hard, or were you TRYING to sound like a dumbass?

Ali

On May 18, 2010 at 4:48 am

Youre an idiot. The gameplay series arent appealing to investors. They’re the best kind of trailers, as rather than having a few incoherrent images flash up on the screen, you get actual gameplay footage, and a voiceover that actually tells you stuf about the game. People like you suck

Boer1

On May 19, 2010 at 3:46 am

who cares about the reviews.. this game will for sure be the game of the year…

Me

On May 19, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Actually rockstar is a developer and they developed this game, (particularly Rockstar San Diego and Rockstar North)

John Gaffen

On June 11, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Why the bloody hell has this game not been released for the PC!!!!!!