Skyrim PC Review: Just A Console Port?

One issue that continues to arise and irks me every time involves horse riding. You cannot fight on horseback — fine, I accept that. But whenever a wolf or a brigand attacks you as you’re trotting along, it takes an eternity to dismount and draw your weapon, during which your foe is getting free hits on you. Further, Skyrim’s horses are hyper-aggressive. They don’t just defend themselves; they chase down any enemy within sight, leaving you to chase after them.

Another weakness that presents itself throughout the game is the dialogue. Beyond being silent, your character has little personality. Dialogue options are dull — too often, you’re only given one choice. Perhaps the objective was to avoid giving the Dragonborn an identity so that any player can put himself in his shoes, but if that’s the case, we’re still robbed of the opportunity to see how NPCs react to different personalities. For instance, one arrogant NPC continuously insulted my intelligence, but I was never offered a dialogue option to respond in kind or be anything other than submissive. I didn’t want to resort to physical violence, so I left the conversation feeling less a hero and more a doormat.

Moving on to the larger issues, when I first loaded into Skyrim, the mouse was sluggish, and horizontal and vertical movement had different sensitivities. It took some editing of .ini files to make the game playable to me — a measure that an average PC user won’t take. I wonder how many gamers may suffer in silence or give up on Skyrim entirely, deeming it unplayable.

But Skyrim’s biggest weakness is its user interface — an interface that works well with a gamepad, but is cumbersome with a mouse and keyboard. You can argue that modders will fix the UI all you want — that doesn’t speak to the merits of this game, but to the talents of the modding community. Yes, you eventually become accustomed to the interface, but a UI shouldn’t be something you “get used to;” it should be immediately intuitive and comfortable. Navigating the character creation menu with a mouse was a nightmare; the sliders had such a spotty response to my mouse clicks that I was tempted to just select a pre-generated appearance.

Bethesda has made great PC UI’s before. They know better. Skyrim’s UI is a travesty.

Couple the consolized interface with the mouse issues, and it feels as though the PC version of Skyrim was an afterthought, which brings me back to my initial statement:

Skyrim is the best console game I’ve ever played on PC.

If you’re a PC user, Skyrim can deliver a poor first impression. However, if you’re willing to get to know it better, you may just find your soul mate. The fact that Skyrim was clearly not designed for the PC may prevent some people from enjoying what is otherwise an excellent game. Ultimately, given the number of hours of entertainment you’ll get out of Skyrim relative to its cost, this game is a steal. But maybe you should wait for a UI mod to come out before buying it.

Pros:

  • Organic character progression system
  • Freedom to play however you want
  • Wealth of content
  • Beautiful, vast world that feels alive
  • Immersive music

Cons:

  • Dialogue can be dull
  • Clunky UI
  • Sluggish and inconsistent mouse controls
  •  
    Final Score: 85/100

    Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

48 Comments on Skyrim PC Review: Just A Console Port?

eric

On November 20, 2011 at 12:41 am

I find your cons to be a fair deduction from the overall score, and the summary is pretty spot-on — the clunky UI is always a minor pain during gameplay, but given the vast qualities of the game, it’s something that can be overlooked.

SM

On November 20, 2011 at 5:16 am

I’ve lost faith in gamefront reviews after reading this. It clearly deserves better than an insulting 85/100 regardless of the UI, which you do get used too, and the mouse issues. Not to mention Bethesda has always been great with squashing any bugs or issues shortly after release.

Darkraidor

On November 20, 2011 at 7:51 am

@SM another example of rage if a hyped up game is not given pefect scores across the board.
great review CJ, the UI was my biggest issue also

Marc

On November 20, 2011 at 8:47 am

By contrast, I appreciate an honest review. If you go to Amazon or to Metacritic user reviews you’ll see more than twice as many negative reviews for the PC version than for the console versions. This is a fair reflection of the poor quality of the PC interface,

SMI may prefer to see perfect reviews for all AAA games, but I’m much more interested in honest ones. Dragon Age 2, Call of Duty 3, and Civilization 5 are three prominent recent examples of games with glowing press releases (excuse me, “reviews”) and extremely negative fan feedback. Skyrim is different in an interesting way: people seem positive about the interface and negative about the sloppy PC version. That’s good information to know.

For me: I’m waiting until there is a usable PC version with a non-awful interface. That will make my game experience better, and I’m glad to see advice of that sort.

Derka

On November 20, 2011 at 11:01 am

These scores will change once the construction kit is released.

NoLifer

On November 20, 2011 at 11:19 am

Great review! Some really interesting points, I’m still considering it on my fairly old PC. Probably will wait till I upgrade.

bubba

On November 20, 2011 at 7:20 pm

The one shining light in PC gaming are strategy games. They have not yet found a way to destroy that genre because console players don’t need the, can’t play them, and don’t understand them.

As long as they stay away from them, I’ll be fine. They have turned every other genre into some kind of special olympics booby prize.

Fletcher

On November 21, 2011 at 1:47 am

@SM Did something happen because last I checked an 85/100 was considered a terrific score for a game. Now maybe if it were a 60/100 I could see where you are coming from but really? 85/100 is considered an insulting mark? I’m at a loss for words.

G.A.R.B.A.G.E

On November 21, 2011 at 5:29 am

PROS
* http://store.steampowered.com/stats/
Stomping other popular console ports player numbers with ease, on Steam daily.

* http://www.gamefront.com/skyrim-pc-console-commands/
Skyrim pc ~console commands, how many PC/console games do we still find with all this customization/tweaking available? ?

*http://www.skyrimnexus.com/
This console port is modifiable on PC? How dare they!

CONS
*Dialogue can be dull
Welcome to Marrowind, Oblivion, Fallout 3, Fallout New Vegas, The Witcher 1&2, Mass Effect 1-3, it comes with the genre.
You think dialog is boring? You should try reading all those ing books in the game instead, talk about a sleeper.

*Clunky UI
I think that the UI is sufficient considering the amount of to be picked up to be inventoried. What did you have in mind? http://www.blogsdna.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/windows-7-classical-start-menu.jpg Looks like familiar UI functions and aesthetics to me. The UI is no worse/better than other previous Bethesda titles or Windows UI imo, to call it a travesty is a travesty.

*Sluggish and inconsistent mouse controls
Its not been an issue here. Its been a long known fact that there are thousands of PC hardware setups out there, and its also been a long known fact that USB polling in Windows, and game mouse smoothing settings can cause issues in PC games under certain hardware setups. Thank gawd this console port allows for editable .ini on PC. But yeah, to spare people of this minor inconvenience they should have ditched mouse and KB support and editable configs altogether on PC and demanded that we all use console controllers on PC to help reenforce the fact that this game game was definitely not designed for PC’s.

Ron Whitaker

On November 21, 2011 at 5:35 am

@SM: So, just to clarify. You lost faith in our reviews because we reviewed the game we were given, and not the mythical patched version that doesn’t exist yet?

I’ll concede that Bethesda does a fair job of patching these things out, but when you review a game, you have to review what you have in your hand. Something that may be released in the future doesn’t enter into that thought process. Maybe Bethesda will move on to the next game without issuing a patch (not likely, but not entirely impossible). Maybe someone is reading this review who doesn’t download patches, or maybe they don’t even have internet at home (again not likely, but not impossible). Maybe they just want to know that these problems exist so they can wait to purchase the game until a few patches have come out. Isn’t that precisely what reviews are for?

The point of the matter is that a review cannot be based on how any past game was handled, or on how you think this game will be handled post-launch. It has to be based entirely on the game that you played. If it isn’t, we’d be doing our readers a grave disservice.

Paul

On November 21, 2011 at 8:25 am

at the beginning i hated the UI but when i got used to it it became more fast and easy to loot and navigate, u have to use w,a,s,d, to navigate trought the menu, dont use the mouse, it make it quicker and easier

sry for my english

Robin

On November 21, 2011 at 4:16 pm

I didn’t actually have a prob with the UI, but I actually followed Gamefronts ini tweaks before I even started playing, so I didn’t encounter the mouse issues. I enjoy the game quite a bit.

My problem with the game is the silent main character and the lack of any interesting relationship with other characters. But, yeah I’ve been playing it as much as I can and I’ve dug it the whole time.

jan

On November 21, 2011 at 4:39 pm

I had bought the game for PC and had it for 4 days before returning it to the store. As much as I was looking forward to this game,the constant lock ups, crashes and trying to turn your character around using the mouse was frustrating to the point where I couldn’t enjoy the game. I had to reboot my Computer several times when the game would lock up. I think this is a great game on a console, buy not fun for a PC version.

alex

On November 21, 2011 at 5:01 pm

anyone having trouble has a ty OS install, figure it out rookie, the game works fine.

and your complaints about the controls? how about we find a way to play a FPS game, console vs PC.

then you tell me whos got better control. lol. go back to your lil xbox.

Zune

On November 21, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Outside of mouse and keyboard keyboard support, this was an average PC release with the usual PC issues. I think its ridiculous how reviews will burn a game for poor mouse and keyboard support but don’t care about controller support.

If PC gaming is going to go anywhere, they have to start focusing on controller support and trying to get people to pull their computers away from their office desk and bring it out into their living room. Where you can play comfortably in front of a TV with a controller.

Mouse and keyboard are only needed to stay competitive in online gaming. The console market is taking over because controllers are WAY better for gaming and its more convenient to be playing on a couch opposed to huddled around a monitor.

Random

On November 21, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Well the U.I. seems to be a very consistent complaint for the P.C. version, and looking at videos for this game I fail to see how it can be good even with a gamepad though perhaps I have to mess with it myself to see whether it works or not. (I’m going to rent via gamefly first.) While it is entirely possible that people using keyboard and mouse just don’t know how to play the game correctly. (This is the case for people that claim that Ninja Gaiden’s camera is any worse than any of the other brswlers out there.) I highly doubt it in this instance. The screenshots for the U.I. mods I have seen look much better and more informative all the way around.

Though I will say that more attention should be paid to console controls and the lack of intelligent customization. How can the standard alternate controls for top rated games consistently present the users with configurations that render actions that are possible in the default configuration physically impossible in the alternates? That is the reason why I do not bother with any third person shooter or FPS on console.

Developers should actually hold a controller in their hands or sit down at a keyboard, and people reviewing these products should go through all the standard options and report on anything obviously broken. The broken nature of almost all southpaw configurations in the case of shooters on consoles can be seen just by looking at the layout. Yet no one ever talks about things like that.

@Zune I think they would be better served with trying to bring more games traditionally associated with gamepads to the P.C. like fighting games and brawlers. Also doing something about first person melee so it isn’t just waiving your arms about wildly with utterly boring animations would help too. People are not going to move their P.C. out into their living room en masse even if they get better gamepad support. They will do more P.C. gaming if they are not limited to FPS, RTS, and point and click MMOs.

The only genre consoles have any real problem is strategy and that is because of the wealth of menus that those kinds of games have. Everything else can be done satisfactorily on a console. All while consoles have more third person games, and brawlers and fighting games. P.C. has none that they can really say are their own from the ground up.

Daniel

On November 22, 2011 at 3:08 am

I am 38 hours into PC version of Skyrim now. While there are some minor annoyances in the PC version of this game, such as the frame rate cap of 60FPS, and the slight clunky UI. But I honest don’t think these annoyances are enough to pull Skyrim down to 8.5/10 score..

While the UI is slightly clunky, but it doesn’t really ruin the game experience.

And to be honest, I really don’t understand why the reviewer rant about poor mouse and keyboard control.. have you tried to turn the mouse sensitivity up? Because I haven’t experience any problems with mouse and keyboard at all.

As for game crashes. This game runs really well, so far I only had 2 crashes after I installed the Nvidia 285.79 beta driver. When I was running on 285.69, I didn’t experience any crash at all.

Personally, I think Skyrim deserves a much higher score than just 8.5/10. I am sorry reviewer, I think your opinion is way too biased. Just because a game has a clunky UI doesn’t mean that you should ignore all other good things and rate it just above average.

I think Skyrim should deserve a 9.5/10 at least.

Scorpius

On November 22, 2011 at 7:06 am

“I think Skyrim should deserve a 9.5/10 at least.”
Back in the old days, 6/10 was an OK-ish game, 7/10 a good game, 8/10 a great game, 9/10 a really REALLY great game, and 10/10 was something like unapproachable godlike awesomeness which no game had any hope of reaching. So 8.5 is actually a perfect score for an over-hyped modded Oblivion. Oh, I forgot we live in 2011 where every “AAA” game hyped through the roof just HAS to get the best score possible, right? Because it is super-awesome, MAJESTIC, and nothing like this has been done before, right?

Martin Levac

On November 22, 2011 at 9:03 am

85% is too high. But then that all depends on how we allocate points, doesn’t it. I allocate much more points to the interface (mouse, keyboard, UI, audio feedback, etc) since that’s the only way I interact with the game. I think of the interface as a ratio of a ratio. So, since I would allocate about 15% to the interface, and probably about 80% to the content, this would result in a final score of 12%.

Yeah, it’s absurd. But the truth is that the interface is the only way the game allows me to enjoy its content. If I can’t see or hear or manipulate the content with at least a minimum of ease, then it’s that much more difficult to enjoy it, and the enjoyment is that much lower.

Consider a music CD. If your stereo system is bad, then you can’t enjoy the music fully. If your system is perfect, then you can enjoy the music fully, and all that’s left is the music itself. But then, if the recording is crappy and full of distortion, you still can’t enjoy the music fully, even it’s the best music in the world. And the worse the recording, the worse the stereo system, the more painful it is to listen to even the best music in the world. A PC game is the same. The interface is like the recording quality, and the stereo system quality. The game content is like the music itself.

We could say that a bad interface becomes an obstacle to our enjoyment of the content. For an interface to be good, it should become transparent, almost second nature, not be a problem at every little step of the game. I remember reading something like that about 20 years ago, when I started playing PC games. As if we knew how it worked then. I guess we are doomed to repeat the same mistakes if we forget the lessons. Maybe Bethesda needs to be reminded of those lessons.

Kat tastic

On November 22, 2011 at 2:09 pm

ARRRG!!!!!!!! they made this game on hardware tech that is 6 years old people…. IT is not even DirectX 10 graphics….. Personally, you console players have really low expectations. As a PC gamer, and 3d developer, I can say they made a huge mistake by making the game for a 360 priority over to the PC. Instead of making it with the latest graphic tech, then dumbing it down for the 360, they just made it for console and pushed it over to the PC, leaving the cleanup to be done by patches and the mod community…. what a bummer. The tiling textures really are atrocious though….. what good is it to be able to see far, if far away content is 1/4 the quality as what is up close, continuity is totally lost visually, and now crash and burn.

Looks like Bethesda is now just another game company, that puts money over quality,…. seems to be a virus that spreads from the console community if you ask me….

G0m3r

On November 22, 2011 at 9:23 pm

I bought this for the PC but it did not feel like a PC game at all. Like the reviewer pointed out the UI is bad. It’s clearly designed for a gamepad not KB+M. The interaction with NPC’s felt very blah. Oh! And don’t get me started with the AI for that damned dog. More than once I wished I could just kill it. The thing keeps trying to walk through you and a few times it managed to push me off a cliff to my death. It also managed to trap me in a small room because the thing refused to move and allow me to pass. I miss the days when PC games were actually designed with the PC in mind.

G0m3r

On November 22, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Kat tastic:

All PC games for a while now have been console ports. I haven’t seen a “PC” game out yet that can tax my old gaming system let alone my new one. It’s pretty depressing. Consoles have ruined PC gaming.

Brandon J. Clark

On November 23, 2011 at 5:26 am

The UI never really bugs me. I would love a new one, sure. But that isn’t enough of a thing to drop it 15 points, IMO.

Best.Game.Ever.

CJ Miozzi

On November 23, 2011 at 11:13 am

@Brandon J. Clark

I listed three cons; together, they account for the 15 points. The UI is just one of those three. In my opinion, an 85 is still a great score. 100 is perfection, which is impossible — I’ve never encountered a game in which I believed there was absolutely nothing that could be improved.

Shurihao

On November 24, 2011 at 4:58 am

I agree with the 85 points. UI was also bothering me a lot
and if I didn’t change the Field of View by myself, I would have felt
motion sick all the time. Clearly a console-to-pc ported game.

I guess the designer at Bethesda are confused:
should they design an UI catered for people of the CRPG generation
or make it more mainstream (e.g. controller-wise)
for the FPS generation. :P

freakin j stu

On November 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Glad to hear I’m not the only one completely turned off by the UI. After 2 hours of fighting the UI while trying the game this morning, I turned it off with no intention of ever turning it on again. Constantly mousing thru menus just to swap weapons kills it for me … the whole UI made me want to shove the keyboard thru the monitor.

Hoever, your mod idea is a good one. I’ll check back in a few weeks to see if there is a good UI mod. Thanks.

Brock

On November 26, 2011 at 6:53 pm

i am so disapointed with Skyrim, and i havnt even played it yet. My brother spent his pocket money gettign this game and because crappy develpers failed it wont even start. Steam sucks.

Shimmersniper

On November 26, 2011 at 7:53 pm

Some comments amuse me here.. like.. “burning a game for poor mouse/keyboard”

This sir, is suppose to be a computer game, and by traditional values, Pc is played with mouse and keyboard. Complaining that it lacks support for such things is not ridiculous.

If I made a game for your console, but forced it to have Oh i dunno, some random perifial and did a half-ass job to get the normal controller working with the game, It would be in your full right to complain.

IF I had wanted to use a controller with skyrim, I would have bought it for the PS3.

For PC gaming to live, we need producers to stop making motorcycles (console games) and then trying to ram the parts of the cycle together to make a sports car (PC game).

That is pretty much what Skyrim is. They took the front tire of a motorcycle and put it up at the upper left hand side, and then took the rear for the right rear tire, and then put the motorcycle handlebars where a steering wheel should be. Then they forgot the passenger seats and doors.

And mods? A game should work right out of the box. Regardless of whether mods could or could not improve the game, that is the first. It MUST work. Otherwise, Why they HELL are we paying people to produce a game that doesn’t work, so they can get a bunch of people to work for FREE (the modders) to actually finish the game? I’d rather pay the modders and skip on the company.

me

On November 28, 2011 at 6:51 am

You people complain too much.

ME2

On November 28, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Yeah, how you guys gave this masterpiece an 85 mere days after you gave SR3 a 90 is beyond me. I understand going against the grain is sometimes necessary, but wow….

This whole review stinks of PC elitism gone wrong. Mouse sensitivity somehow justifies a lower score than SR3? This is like ranking some random catchy pop single higher than a Zeppelin compilation album.

CJ Miozzi

On November 28, 2011 at 5:04 pm

@ME2:

The person who reviewed Skyrim PC (me) is not the same person who reviewed SR3. No review is completely objective; no two people can grade on exactly the same scale, regardless of given review guidelines.

In my opinion, 85 is a very good score. I can’t speak for SR3′s 90. The comments in a review are more important than the number — review scores are meaningless, because every single reviewer on this planet grades games differently.

Any reader who places more value in an arbitrary number than in the actual critique of a game should reevaluate the reason they read reviews.

Rune

On November 28, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Skyrim’s interface is not just bad. It’s not just clunky. It’s nearly game-breaking.

Skyrim might be okay on the 7 year old Playstation 3, but on the PC, neither it’s graphics nor interface and controls are acceptable by any standard.

Personally I’ve lost any faith I had in the gaming community and magazines at large to begin with, for their unilateral praise of this utter piece of crap PS3 port.

Kowin

On November 28, 2011 at 10:55 pm

@Rune: ‘Tis be a 360 port. And in my opinion, the UI isn’t that bad, I just WASD through everything, no biggie.

The main killer for me was the character creation, although I got through that.

I believe 85 is the perfect score, to be honest.

Mikee

On November 29, 2011 at 12:11 pm

What a ing worthless article.

You give it the title: “Skyrim PC Review: Just A Console Port?”

And then fail to use the word ‘port’ inside the article even once.

Blocking this worthless site from Google search results.

Brandon23

On November 29, 2011 at 4:53 pm

This game deserves 10/10. I can’t believe that sh*t Call of Duty series scored higher than this.

Capriole

On December 1, 2011 at 11:50 am

I agree 100% with this article. Especially regarding the *VERY* clunky UI on a PC. I just finished replaying Oblivion, and was amazed at Skyrim’s step backwards in almost every aspect of the PC UI. Character creation, buying / selling objects, quick switching between favorite objects, the inability to view your character when putting on armor — Oblivion’s UI was *FAR* superior because it was intuitive on a PC. As the reviewer said, I’ll have to “get used to” this PC UI. That’s a bad sign for any PC game.

The graphics are better than Oblivion, but they should be after 5 years. I was impressed, but not blown out of the water. The preset character choices are singularly ugly for women. And what happened to choices for hair color? I guess I have to wait for modders . Another bad sign for a game.

I found the beginning story less compelling than Oblivion’s where your goal for the main quest was clearly laid out. But this is a different game, so a different approach is OK. NPC interaction is the same as Oblivion, but not as good as say, Dragon Age. I’ll play it, but right now I’m not rushing home to get on my PC. Hopefully, I’ll feel differently as the game proceeds.

Mormz

On December 2, 2011 at 7:40 am

You guys are ing retards. As someone who has put 40+ hours into the PS3 version of the game, I can easily tell you the UI was NOT designed for consoles.

The UI is just as ty on PS3. It’s not logically consistent with ANY other UI I’ve encountered in ANY game. For instance, the back button should bring you to the previous menu screen, and pressing it enough times should bring you back to the game. Yet, pressing the back button in Skyrim just exits the menu completely. This shouldn’t happen. It gives the menu a much bigger learning curve than it should have, and even still I accidentally back out to the game instead of to the previous menu.

So no, this wasn’t just the devs giving PC ty console UI. This is the devs ing up the UI across the board.

That being said, it’s still a great game.

Pistol

On December 3, 2011 at 9:33 am

@mormz
so you have a problem with one button then?

I am actually on the internet looking for any mods or fixes to the stupid mouse controls, I actaully dnt have a keyboard problem – the laid out controls suites me just fine.

I am playing this game for many days now and the only time Im comfortable with the mouse is when Im killing with my bow in stealth mode. The menu is crap, so I downloaded a mod to help a bit . . . not perfect tho.

When I 1st entered the game I wasnt blown away by anything, I still aint. I am an explorer and scavenger in this game and not so much a quester cause you may except a quest in one place and have to travel to the other side of the map to do this one quest. I have downloaded mods and textures to make the game more pretty, but there is no real pretty to be found, nothing that strikes your awe. (well only water and the sky after some mods is the only awe I have found)

What is my favarite thing to do in the game?
well climbing off mountains and looting dungeons and places. So this game keeps my intrestest.

I would have added other things to my comment, but it doesnt matter. I dont hate consolers just wish they would expect more from their games than they do now, cause I always see PC gamers complaining (which is their right) and consolers complaining about PC gamers that complain too much – wish for more consolers, complain more, demand more . . . dammit you guys pay more for a game (most of the times) and your happy with dummed down crap? yes consoles need a bit dummed down, but Ive seen a lot of crap that is TOO MUCH dummed down and isnt even good in any way. So demand more.

Nomeya

On December 3, 2011 at 10:24 am

“The land of Skyrim is vast, and as a Canadian, I appreciated a setting that accurately depicted my homeland.”

The setting of the game isn’t to depict your homeland nor is it even designed after Canada. Stop being such a patriotic moron connecting the setting of the game to your country instead of the Scandinavian landscape it is designed after. Acknowledge that the game doesn’t, in fact, resolve around your egoistic persona, even if you’d sure as hell would like it to do so. There’s a reason why you hear a lot of Scandinavian voice actors, and let me tell you, Canada ain’t. a. single. friggin. reason.

Reviewers like you shows what’s wrong with “professional” critics.

It’s acceptable to appreciate the similarity in the setting, but doing so without recognizing the actual intent of the design and giving credit were credit is due is just egoistic and annoying.

CJ Miozzi

On December 3, 2011 at 10:34 am

@Nomeya

Wow. Harsh. I was being sarcastic — it was a joke. Skyrim looks nothing like Canada. Pop culture depicts Canada as being a frozen wasteland — thus my joke. Throughout my life, I’ve been subject to, “So, do you live in an igloo? Do you go fishing on a frozen river?” In fact, Canada is no different than, say, New York. I was making fun of my country, not being “a patriotic moron.”

I actually love Norse mythos and was happy to finally play a game that allowed me to take on the role of a character that truly felt like a Viking.

I apologize if I’ve offended you — I didn’t think anyone could possibly believe I was being serious, since it’s, as you pointed out, very clear that Skyrim was not meant to depict Canada.

asdasd

On December 4, 2011 at 10:31 am

so is it good???

Capriole

On December 5, 2011 at 10:32 am

Is the game good??? Well, if I had never played a different medieval RPG game, I would say absolutely yes! But since I have, it depends on what you want. If you are expecting a block buster game that is better in every way than Oblivion or Dragon Age Origins, you’re going to be disappointed. But if you want a dungeon crawl RPG that offers weeks of fun, then you’ll probably like it *IF* you either get used to the UI or fix it with a mod (yes, the UI is *that* clunky for some of us).

After playing all weekend, I can say the game is starting to draw me in, but I’m still not dying to play it (unlike DAO and Oblivion). I like to change weapons during combat (archery to sword to spells), but the UI makes that *really* difficult which makes combat not smooth right now. If I’m not used to the UI by next weekend, I’ll have to change my game playing style.

If you like archery, you’ll be pleasantly surprised. If you take careful aim and get a head shot on someone without a helmet, they go down in a heap! One shot! If the target has a helmet, it takes more head shots — unless you can get a clear frontal head shot. That reality makes it more fun.

I made the mouse tweaks which helped the horizontal motion and lag. And I’ve added the console tweak to increase my carrying capacity to eliminate the need to go back through a dungeon 5 times to loot it (my character is still poor, so if it has any value, I take it!).

Is it good??? If my choice is yes / no, I’d have to say almost yes. If I can’t get past the UI after next weekend, I’ll probably replay something else.

arcadian

On December 5, 2011 at 12:45 pm

what crap, i love the pc version the graphics are so much better and the keyboard set up if fine , as it should be customizable. p.c gamers are not console gamer’s. the plot is unbelievable and the graphics engine and world is the best i have seen and i have been gaming since the comadore 16 days. the plot is as good and engrossing as balders gate and that prior to this was the best roleplaying game i have ever played. you feel like you are in this game, like you playing it matters and makes a difference. you can stick to the plot or think what if i just do that. i have had a few back to desktop crashes but when you can think ill have 20 mins and end up being there for 8 hrs it puts in perspective how good this game is! stop slating the pc version you must have a set up and been reared on consoles stick to working at mc donalds pall.

akkWylde

On December 7, 2011 at 7:51 pm

Haha its funny hearing all this people who have spend no doubt tons of money nerding up their pc’s only to find out people play more games STILL on consoles.

Jesse

On December 12, 2011 at 6:48 am

The consolization of this game really irks me. Computers are geared for menu navigation, and the game makes no use of that fact. Every game design aspect was focused around making a console game, from removing greaves and pauldrons to give a necessary performance boost, to the cities being seperate cells and the removal of any sort of flight because again, a 7 year old console wouldn’t be able to load that much info, to the short attention span quest system. The game is beautiful, and as the article stated, it’s a great console RPG. As far as PC RPGs go, it’s a big step backwards from Morrowind.

Bethesda went into it with the mindset of “We’re going to make a great Elder Scrolls for consoles, then two months later, we’ll release the tool kit so the mod community can make our port feel more like a PC game.” Beth keeps moving farther and farther from the freedom found in Daggerfall. Morrowind was a big shrinkdown, but you still felt a lot of that depth in the world. Never got around to Oblivion, so I can’t say much about it. Skyrim, while beautiful, isn’t that great of a game. It has the clunky combat I expect from TES games, but none of the depth in the game system and your interaction with the world. It’s no longer about making a great game. It’s about making a great selling game.

I’d say 85% would be about right for an XB360 owner. The PC port should get around 60%.

Dennis

On December 13, 2011 at 8:34 am

The reviews for this title are way too high…. It’s a AAA level RPG. I’d like to think my character gets a little more important with each main/faction quest line that gets complete. The developers spent so much time making this game broad and expansive and some of the caves are breath taking; that they failed to make the game change due to your actions. Become head of the thief’s guild and the bartender in the Flagon still greets you with “so your the new guy”, the other thieves are too busy to talk to you. I didn’t feel nearly as insignificant at the end of Morrowind or Oblivion as I do on this one… it just doesn’t seem to matter what you do. Lead the Dark Brotherhood and all you get is more go kill this quy quests… let me designate it to my assassins. Game engine 8.5, game content 7.5, game fulfillment 3.5

Billy

On December 15, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Loved Oblivion and Fallout 3 is my all time favorite game but Skrim – is a beautiful world without a soul.

PS the console port interface sucks ass too.

Dee

On December 28, 2011 at 3:09 am

I was very dissapointed by Skyrim and I really cannot understand what’s with all the hype around it. It’s like playing Fallout3 with different dressed up NPCs. So 2008. Even picklocking is identical. Not to mention the crappy marriage system. It was so funny: I got an amulet, all of a sudden I got an extra line available in the dialogue with some NPCs and in 5 minutes I had a stranger in my house, cooking dinner and calling me “my love”.