The Elder Scrolls Online Preview: It’s Like Skyrim – Online

Build-your-own class

At character creation, I was able to choose from three different races (Breton, Orc and Redguard) of the Daggerfell Covenant alliance and a class. Classes are less about handing you a hard set of abilities and more about giving you choices. For example, the Sorcerer class had three damage-dealing skill sets to draw from: Dark Magic for stuns, disorients and knockbacks; Daedric Summoning for combat pets, damage shields and curses; and Storm Calling for pure damage. As you level, you can put points in any of these trees as long as you’ve achieved a minimum skill in that tree (which is accomplished by using skills in that tree).

Though I chose to be a Sorcerer, I wasn’t stuck in light armor wielding a staff. I mean, I started that way, sure, but along the way I looted a two-handed hammer. So I used that to bash in the skulls of a few mobs and when my skill went up, I was able to put skill points in the tree related to two-handed hammers. A little later when I picked up a bow, I again was able to skill up through basic use and then unlock advanced abilities in that weapon line.

And this applies to armor as well. If I found medium or heavy armor, I was able to wear it. Though there are bonuses to wearing light armor, early in the game I simply grabbed whatever was an improvement to my low level gear and was happy for it.

Soon I was pulling a little bit from all the skill trees to take down my foes. I would summon an imp that automatically attacks whatever I do, then call down some lightning to get the mob’s attention and swing my hammer down on its head a few times (or plink it with arrows).

You can truly build whatever kind of class you want with this system, just like in Skyrim. Other “starter” classes included Templar, which had healing options, and Dragonknight, which had tank-specific options, if you wanted to take on those roles later. But all classes have access to the restoration staff weapon line, which allows for healing, and in group situations, there doesn’t have to be a dedicated tank. So pick your class and enjoy the flexibility. The developers noted that there will be a system to swap out weapons mid-combat to grant you the skills tied to that weapon (a la Guild Wars 2) as well as a way to respec if you find your hard-earned skill points misspent.

There is one more class yet to be announced that will be in before launch, I was told.

You will be able to have characters in all three alliances and you can also play one character through the content of the other alliances. The content will scale up to your characters level, so there’s no need to create an alt to experience all the PvE goodness the game has to offer. Each of the three alliance areas will offer 120-150 hours of content at launch, with 50 being the level cap.

There are more than just class, weapon and armor trees. There are also skill trees for PvP, Achievement and Lore skill trees, and Racial trees, including one for Vampirism and another for Lycanthropy. Your skill combinations are truly endless.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

19 Comments on The Elder Scrolls Online Preview: It’s Like Skyrim – Online

sep

On March 19, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Im still sad they made it into an MMO :(

David

On March 19, 2013 at 3:18 pm

I’m cautiously optimistic.

TheDog

On March 19, 2013 at 3:31 pm

No caution here. Severely disappointed. Hope it bombs so they won’t do anything so stupid again.

Derek

On March 19, 2013 at 3:35 pm

I remember seeing a developer preview video from early last year where they stated that each server would be limited to 300 players, but there were be system to swap server instances for easy access to friends and guild members.

“Megaserver” implies it is…. but by chance do you know if this still the case? If so, how does one identify themselves in-game without a guild or building a large friends list? By that I mean as part of a server, shard, population segment, etc… and not just as one of the millions of players?

One of my favorite things about MMO games is that each time I play a new game I am usually among the same pool of players, thus allowing for a game community and relationships to form. While that pool may be thousands of players at first, eventually (depending on game progression and gameplay hours) it narrows down to playing with the same couple hundred people who you learn to recognize. From what I’ve seen TESO is going to function more like a matchmaking system of sorts.

Kinda seems like the next step beyond the dungeon/group/team matchmaking tools many recent MMO games have used. That may be a good or bad thing depending on your opinion of ‘em. I certainly think such tools are a bad idea and detract from the community aspect of MMO games.

How would such a system be better for social and group interaction? This system implies you’ll play with a far larger random pool of players. Is there a system which dumps players in servers with the same level players or…?

I’m hungry for more info

Hannibal805

On March 19, 2013 at 4:48 pm

The customization options sound disappointing to say the least.

lol

On March 19, 2013 at 6:53 pm

What was the actual character customization like? Was it like pick a face or did it actually have the sliders?

Marquez

On March 21, 2013 at 8:47 am

No player housing?!?!? I don’t want to play it anymore :-(

Zach

On March 22, 2013 at 1:06 am

This actually sounds pretty good. I don’t see why everyone just seems to hate on it. It isn’t even out yet.

TheDog

On March 22, 2013 at 2:02 am

And hopefully it never will and they will concentrate on games that actually sound good. I’m sorry, buy anyone who hopes for an mmo, well I just have a hard time understanding or agreeing with. There are more mmo’s out there, then you can use to choke a bloody T_Rex. When I hear about another one, I get just about as excited as I do when the doctor tells me I have some rare, incureable disease. I party, do cartwheels, do a litlle dance, make a little love, and I get down tonight. (that was part of a seventies song for all you young things out there).
Everybody and their grandmother, and their grandmothers best friend, her neighbors, her dog, her cousins in Detroit, are getting on the bloody mmo cash cow wagon. All hopen to strike it rich. Morons.

Dratkin

On March 22, 2013 at 1:58 pm

I love Elder Scrolls but I despise all MMO games.

Adam

On March 23, 2013 at 12:25 am

This game is being made by Zenimax Online Studios. Bethesda Game Studios isn’t working on it , all you haters are still going to get the normal single player games. Don’t like ESO? don’t play it, just wait for TESVI.

hwi

On March 26, 2013 at 12:11 pm

haters just beat it! you’r afraid of a real human fight so you prefer to go and smash some npc’s stupid head in single player games (no challenge? yes, please!)… becose a long time ago you’ve tried mmo and some punkass PK beat all the crap out of you… it’s all about your hands growing from your ass instead of your shoulders… ! So STFU go to your caves and cry for bethesda to give you another super hero dragonborn role than you can save the tamriel again with your mega daedra oneshot dagger… all by your self! ALONE!) PS. pardon my language)))

Trem

On March 26, 2013 at 12:51 pm

hwi – your comment makes zero sense. For one thing, there are countless reasons why people dislike MMOs, mostly due to connectivity, lack of new content, microtransactions and so forth. To wave this all away as people not being able to beat human players is, at best, blinkered. Of course, that leads to the second problem – the assumption that human enemies are ALWAYS, without exception, superior to NPCs. If that’s your opinion then I’m fairly confident in saying that you haven’t played many games in your life. Either that, or you struggled so badly with the really hard ones that you opted for MMOs, where difficulty is always variable.

Troll elsewhere, please.

TheDog

On March 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm

@hwi Omg but you are an idiot. You are one of the reasons I don’t like MMO’s. Stupid people annoy me. In real life I can take care of idiots like you. On the computer, you get even more moronic because you know we can’t touch you, and I simply feel like breaking my monitor, but that cost way too much money, so I simply avoid games that put me in touch with your kind of stupidity. Much cheaper that way.
So in short, go back to suckeling on you mommas teets and leave the thinking to the big boy and girls.

folklore

On March 26, 2013 at 2:46 pm

@HWI you piece of crap.
I happen to hate mmo’s because entitled little shieisskopf like you. I am usually fairly anti social, and the constant spam and crap put out by people like you has me uninstalling an mmo I would have liked with in less than an hour of installing it. As for pvp, I have almost a hundred hours in day of defeat source and various other games.

Dara

On March 28, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Can’t wait, can’t wait, can’t wait. Been waiting for an mmo like this for ages. Even guild wars two is a glorified wow clone, this will be great.

The one thing I never like about tes before was lack of multiplayer and now it’s here :)

mustasha

On June 24, 2013 at 10:58 am

i want it now

Judas

On October 22, 2013 at 10:59 am

I can’t wait!

Please release soon!

mark

On December 28, 2013 at 11:12 pm

I like the idea of other real people playin the game with u.I’m a huge elderscrolls guy since morrowind love itn gotta say only complaint would b it does get really lonely n companions don’t cut it but don’t take core elements out of tes such as houses imperials n messin with classic 3 rd person view other than that looks badass! I’m in! But fix that stuff I said new devs