The Elder Scrolls Online Preview: It’s Like Skyrim – Online

Discovery-based Crafting

Crafting in TESO is very much like it is in Skyrim. You can train in any and all professions, though it will leave you in a position of being Jack-of-all-trades, but master of none. The crafting professions at launch are Provisioner, Weaponsmith, Armorer, Alchemist and Enchanter. Crafting materials will drop off of mobs and their exact function has to be determined through experimentation. Each crafting component can have four different effects depending on how it is used.

The act of crafting itself is a matter of experimentation, rather than an exercise in grinding out the same item over and over for skill points. A primary and secondary component are combined and then up to three different components can be added to change the product you create. What components have which effect is where the experimentation part comes in. Also, you can increase the quantity of each additive for an even more powerful effect. A quick demo showed the creation of an ax that did extra damage against undead, plus electrical damage. It looked pretty badass, too.

The good news for crafters is the statement from the devs that you will be able to make some of the most powerful items in the game. This is rarely the case in MMOs, since developers want to control the flow of high-end items to prevent mudflation. Though the TESO devs didn’t talk about the mechanism that will prevent mass production of legendary items, rest assured they have something in mind.

World Events and Guilds

The basic lore behind the game is that the Daedric Prince of domination and enslavement, Molag Bal, has stolen your soul. To get it back, you have to save the continent of Tamariel from tearing itself apart in its three-way faction war. You have 50 levels of solo content to complete that task. While you are busy leveling up, Molag (Mr. Bal?) is dropping dark anchors onto the world and using them to drag chunks of it into his dark plane of oblivion, Coldharbour.

Dark anchors are like mini-world events. When one drops on the landscape, demonic creatures spawn around it. Any adventurers in the area can kill the creatures to stop the anchor from completing its task. And this system is where Guilds come in. Yes, the Fighters Guild and Mages Guild will be in TESO at launch. The Fighters Guild will contract with you to destroy the daedra creatures that spawn around the anchors, while the Mages Guild will contract with you to find lost necromancy lore. Unfortunately, the Thieves Guild will not be in at launch, but we were promised it’s in the works.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

19 Comments on The Elder Scrolls Online Preview: It’s Like Skyrim – Online

sep

On March 19, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Im still sad they made it into an MMO :(

David

On March 19, 2013 at 3:18 pm

I’m cautiously optimistic.

TheDog

On March 19, 2013 at 3:31 pm

No caution here. Severely disappointed. Hope it bombs so they won’t do anything so stupid again.

Derek

On March 19, 2013 at 3:35 pm

I remember seeing a developer preview video from early last year where they stated that each server would be limited to 300 players, but there were be system to swap server instances for easy access to friends and guild members.

“Megaserver” implies it is…. but by chance do you know if this still the case? If so, how does one identify themselves in-game without a guild or building a large friends list? By that I mean as part of a server, shard, population segment, etc… and not just as one of the millions of players?

One of my favorite things about MMO games is that each time I play a new game I am usually among the same pool of players, thus allowing for a game community and relationships to form. While that pool may be thousands of players at first, eventually (depending on game progression and gameplay hours) it narrows down to playing with the same couple hundred people who you learn to recognize. From what I’ve seen TESO is going to function more like a matchmaking system of sorts.

Kinda seems like the next step beyond the dungeon/group/team matchmaking tools many recent MMO games have used. That may be a good or bad thing depending on your opinion of ‘em. I certainly think such tools are a bad idea and detract from the community aspect of MMO games.

How would such a system be better for social and group interaction? This system implies you’ll play with a far larger random pool of players. Is there a system which dumps players in servers with the same level players or…?

I’m hungry for more info

Hannibal805

On March 19, 2013 at 4:48 pm

The customization options sound disappointing to say the least.

lol

On March 19, 2013 at 6:53 pm

What was the actual character customization like? Was it like pick a face or did it actually have the sliders?

Marquez

On March 21, 2013 at 8:47 am

No player housing?!?!? I don’t want to play it anymore :-(

Zach

On March 22, 2013 at 1:06 am

This actually sounds pretty good. I don’t see why everyone just seems to hate on it. It isn’t even out yet.

TheDog

On March 22, 2013 at 2:02 am

And hopefully it never will and they will concentrate on games that actually sound good. I’m sorry, buy anyone who hopes for an mmo, well I just have a hard time understanding or agreeing with. There are more mmo’s out there, then you can use to choke a bloody T_Rex. When I hear about another one, I get just about as excited as I do when the doctor tells me I have some rare, incureable disease. I party, do cartwheels, do a litlle dance, make a little love, and I get down tonight. (that was part of a seventies song for all you young things out there).
Everybody and their grandmother, and their grandmothers best friend, her neighbors, her dog, her cousins in Detroit, are getting on the bloody mmo cash cow wagon. All hopen to strike it rich. Morons.

Dratkin

On March 22, 2013 at 1:58 pm

I love Elder Scrolls but I despise all MMO games.

Adam

On March 23, 2013 at 12:25 am

This game is being made by Zenimax Online Studios. Bethesda Game Studios isn’t working on it , all you haters are still going to get the normal single player games. Don’t like ESO? don’t play it, just wait for TESVI.

hwi

On March 26, 2013 at 12:11 pm

haters just beat it! you’r afraid of a real human fight so you prefer to go and smash some npc’s stupid head in single player games (no challenge? yes, please!)… becose a long time ago you’ve tried mmo and some punkass PK beat all the crap out of you… it’s all about your hands growing from your ass instead of your shoulders… ! So STFU go to your caves and cry for bethesda to give you another super hero dragonborn role than you can save the tamriel again with your mega daedra oneshot dagger… all by your self! ALONE!) PS. pardon my language)))

Trem

On March 26, 2013 at 12:51 pm

hwi – your comment makes zero sense. For one thing, there are countless reasons why people dislike MMOs, mostly due to connectivity, lack of new content, microtransactions and so forth. To wave this all away as people not being able to beat human players is, at best, blinkered. Of course, that leads to the second problem – the assumption that human enemies are ALWAYS, without exception, superior to NPCs. If that’s your opinion then I’m fairly confident in saying that you haven’t played many games in your life. Either that, or you struggled so badly with the really hard ones that you opted for MMOs, where difficulty is always variable.

Troll elsewhere, please.

TheDog

On March 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm

@hwi Omg but you are an idiot. You are one of the reasons I don’t like MMO’s. Stupid people annoy me. In real life I can take care of idiots like you. On the computer, you get even more moronic because you know we can’t touch you, and I simply feel like breaking my monitor, but that cost way too much money, so I simply avoid games that put me in touch with your kind of stupidity. Much cheaper that way.
So in short, go back to suckeling on you mommas teets and leave the thinking to the big boy and girls.

folklore

On March 26, 2013 at 2:46 pm

@HWI you piece of crap.
I happen to hate mmo’s because entitled little shieisskopf like you. I am usually fairly anti social, and the constant spam and crap put out by people like you has me uninstalling an mmo I would have liked with in less than an hour of installing it. As for pvp, I have almost a hundred hours in day of defeat source and various other games.

Dara

On March 28, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Can’t wait, can’t wait, can’t wait. Been waiting for an mmo like this for ages. Even guild wars two is a glorified wow clone, this will be great.

The one thing I never like about tes before was lack of multiplayer and now it’s here :)

mustasha

On June 24, 2013 at 10:58 am

i want it now

Judas

On October 22, 2013 at 10:59 am

I can’t wait!

Please release soon!

mark

On December 28, 2013 at 11:12 pm

I like the idea of other real people playin the game with u.I’m a huge elderscrolls guy since morrowind love itn gotta say only complaint would b it does get really lonely n companions don’t cut it but don’t take core elements out of tes such as houses imperials n messin with classic 3 rd person view other than that looks badass! I’m in! But fix that stuff I said new devs