TotalBiscuit’s Negative Review Flagged, Removed from YouTube

UPDATE: TotalBiscuit has posted a video about the incident; scroll down to view it.


Indie dev Wild Games released Day One: Garry’s Incident a little under a month ago. Popular YouTuber John “TotalBiscuit” Bain was sent a review code, and after he uploaded a scathing review to his channel, Wild Games filed a copyright claim. As per policy, YouTube took down the video.

In his video — which went out to his over 1.2M subscribers — TotalBiscuit describes elements of Garry’s Incident as “horrendous” and “awful,” particularly the game’s framerate, saying that “the game does run dreadfully.”

Wild Games issued the following statement on the game’s Steam forums:

“We protected our copyright because Total Biscuit has no right to make advertising revenues with our license.”

TotalBiscuit’s side of the story, which he related via Twitter, tells a tale of censorship:

“Well, cat is out of the bag since someone on Reddit found it. My Day One: Garrys Incident video was copyright flagged by the devs”

“I should point out that this is a game I was sent review code for, it was also the top-ranked video on Youtube for that game.”

“It is fairly obvious what they are doing here, abusing Youtubes copyright system to censor criticism of their product.”

“This happened 2 days ago, we contacted them for an explanation and have heard nothing. Giving them til Monday to respond before goin nuclear”

“It should be pointed out that US Fair Use doctrine exists in particular to protect criticism from being censored in such a way”

“It is a pro-consumer doctrine and with good reason. Maker and Polaris will come down on them like a ton of bricks come Monday.”

“Long story short. Dev sends code, code used to make critique, dev dislikes critique, dev abuses system to censor critique.”

“Its annoying that this had to come out, we were trying to solve it privately, but hey, copyright claims are public viewing on Youtube.”

“If I’ve seemed a little grumpy over the last few days now you know why. Dev attacks my livelihood for doing my job, silently fuming for days“

TotalBiscuit believes his review was censored because it was negative; Wild Games asserts it was taken down due to the review being monetized. It seems TotalBiscuit will be challenging the copyright claim.

Do you believe TB was censored?


via Indie Statik

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

14 Comments on TotalBiscuit’s Negative Review Flagged, Removed from YouTube

AIDS

On October 20, 2013 at 1:37 pm

Companies don’t care regardless, guy did his job and they didn’t agree with it, nothing more and nothing less. They only used the generating revenue crap off the game/video because it casts the companies crap product in a light they don’t want people to see. Such a review could also hurt sale $ but also the bad PR alone will probably keep people from buying the product.

Company shot the messenger for being fair and honest. Company is as much fault here as is youtube/google services for catering to the $ not to the legitimization of an honest days pay for an honest days work. Enjoy bad PR a$$holes.

LL Cool J

On October 20, 2013 at 2:20 pm

It’s not uncommon for this to happen. smudboy posted what was clearly a very targeted attack on CleverNoob because of their ideological differences regarding Mass Effect among other things (CleverNoob made all those excellent, albeit mostly conjecture-based, documentaries on the indoctrination theory and smudboy thinks the theory’s total bs, though he himself has repeatedly shown that he hasn’t actually bothered to read what the theory states since he makes errors that had he watched even five minutes of the documentaries he was attacking he would have known were false arguments). Julian Kluk of CleverNoob ridiculously responded by flagging the video claiming it was copyright infringement because it had about seven minutes worth of footage from another one of their documentaries. He eventually removed the copyright claim but the damage to both peoples’ reputation was done, as smudboy basically cried like a baby for weeks posting yet more attacks on CN and his fans even after CN apologised and removed the claim.

It’s all just childish nonsense from insecure kidults.

Aedelric

On October 20, 2013 at 5:17 pm

I thought he never did reviews just “impressions”, what a pretentious p***k

The creators have a right to censorship, but that will never stop patient people learning the truth of it being good or bad.

As for Total Biscuit, he is a self rightious c**t and should generally be ignored. Plenty of other better reviewers that give accurate, honest opinions as opposed to having an agenda or restating popular opinion.

Mustachio Marauder

On October 20, 2013 at 6:02 pm

@Aedelric Troll detected. Keep moving, nothing to see here.

Aedelric

On October 20, 2013 at 7:39 pm

I am not a `Troll´ as I have no intention of starting a fight, if I was intending to do so I would be making that post on Total Biscuits Youtube channel or other sites affiliated with him. What I am doing is expressing an opinion of the man, who I dislike on a website that has no association to him. Granted my opinion is negative but that does not invalidate my point of view.

Total Biscuit’s credibility as a gaming journalist is quite valid towards this article. I believe he has no semblance of impartiality and nothing should be gained from his comments or reviews.

At least I have an opinion on this article and not posting to provoke a fight, Mustachio Marauder. If anything your post is the definition of a `Troll´.

Matt

On October 20, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Here’s the real question. Would they have made the copyright claim, and had the video pulled, if TB had liked the game?

William

On October 20, 2013 at 8:02 pm

TotalBiscuit posted a video about the copyright incident and here is a link to it below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QfgoDDh4kE0

Guy

On October 20, 2013 at 8:36 pm

This has nothing to do with the article, but you got TB’s name wrong, it’s John Bain, not John Bane.

quicktooth

On October 20, 2013 at 10:52 pm

They sent review code to a professional reviewer who reviewed it professionally. They have no right to attack him because they didn’t like the review which they themselves wanted and made happen in the first place. No to even mention fair use among other things. Idiots- this’ll just lead to a boycott of their product (I know it’s what I’ll be doing).

quicktooth

On October 20, 2013 at 10:55 pm

what the. Gamefront, please take my email address (not that it’s hard to guess but still) off my comment above. I do not want spam. Why was it listed as my name??

CJ Miozzi

On October 20, 2013 at 11:05 pm

@quicktooth:

I don’t know how that happened, but I went in there and edited out your email address.

quicktooth

On October 21, 2013 at 2:59 am

@CJ Miozzi – Thanks very much! Never had the problem before; Gamefront is usually very very good with auto-formatting. Normally I wouldn’t mind a small form-structure problem (I guess it used the email entry for both shown name and email fields?), but you know the internet and email addresses…

Sean

On October 21, 2013 at 3:27 am

It has now been said they are changing their minds about putting in a protest or whatever to YouTube and so I guess Total Biscuit’s video will be up soon or is up but I am too busy watching a drunk play through of this game to care.

atze

On October 22, 2013 at 6:45 am

those git ass liars! I hope no one is ever buying their game now after that!