Why I’m Afraid to Review Diablo 3

“When it’s ready” — and when it’s not

Blizzard is largely known for one thing: taking forever to release kick-ass games. It’s a developer that has always held itself to the highest standards and refused to put out a product until it feels it is ready, no matter how long that takes.

Diablo 3 is not ready.

Sure, Blizzard’s Public Relations team did a great job explaining why releasing the game without its PvP element is actually a decision made in the best interest of the player, but let’s not sugarcoat this: Blizzard is releasing a game without one of its major, announced features available.

“Who cares; I won’t even play PvP!” you shout. “D3 is about the co-op!” That’s not the point. “When it’s ready” has always been one of Blizzard’s core philosophies, and it has never compromised that ideology on a full release — until now.

Why now?

Could it be that lower revenue due to decreasing World of Warcraft subscriber counts is causing Activision to exert greater authority over Blizzard? Did Activision put its foot down and set a firm release deadline for an already late Diablo 3? Pure conjecture, but food for thought. It’s far easier to blame the Activision Boogeyman than to believe Blizzard willingly compromised its values.

Blizzard missed its 2011 launch window for Diablo 3 — to no one’s surprise — but what was alarming was the massive changes introduced to core systems within the Diablo 3 beta up until a couple of months ago.

In late January, Blizzard completely reworked the core character attributes, removing Attack, Defense, and Precision, and adding the more traditional Strength, Dexterity, Intellect, and Vitality. These changes would have far-reaching requirements to re-itemize and balance the game — three and a half months before release.

The vaunted rune system made its first appearance in the beta in late February, and it was a completely different system than had been previously advertised. Earlier iteration had shown that it could take three months of beta testing before Blizzard either removes or drastically alters a game system, and yet the developers were still toying around at a time when they should have been focusing on fine-tuning balance and finishing content production.

Why? Because they’d never made a Diablo game before. They had managed to create a doppelganger of a Diablo game, but there was always something not quite right, and they were scrambling to figure it out at the eleventh hour.

“No one will remember if the game is late, only if it’s great.” Those are the words of Jay Wilson, posted on January 19, 2012. What happened since then to change his mind? Is the absence of PvP at launch the only casualty, or have other aspects of the game suffered in order to push it out the door? Did Blizzard finally find the missing piece of the puzzle? We’ll soon find out.

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

94 Comments on Why I’m Afraid to Review Diablo 3

ted

On May 9, 2012 at 6:09 pm

I hope it doesn’t have the kind of backlash that Mass Effect 3 had. And I supported the backlash of the ending to Mass Effect 3 too cause it was a piss poor ending.

ObiwanChernobyl

On May 9, 2012 at 9:32 pm

Since finding Game Front during the Mass Effect 3 ending uproar I’ve essentially ignored all of the game sites I used to go to for previews/reviews and this article is a perfect example of the reason why.

I hope the editors are Game front keep it up because they seem to be the last site offering honest discourse on the Video Game industry today.

Also I hope Diablo 3 rocks…

Colby Neutron

On May 9, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Interesting article and I understand why you are worried. However, I do hope you haven’t convinced yourself that it will not live up to your expectations before actually playing the final product. It will be interesting to see how the game is and I surely do not envy the people that have to write the reviews. I look forward to your review and I hope you stick by your honest intentions.

Brakob Kniddeldude

On May 10, 2012 at 12:00 am

Oh diablo1&2… These games are burned into my life as some of the greatest adventures I ever had.
This unbelievable eeriness that came from graphics that were still open to fill with imagination. Its the difference between reading a book and viewing the movie about the book basicly. I could never see the face of my sorc but in my mind I completed the picute the way I would have liked it the most. The music of course was simply from another realm and the creepy feeling only these old “outdated” graphics could produce because of the emptyness and grittiness of this world that was so hostile. Diablo 2 in my eyes is a finished piece of art. Sure I started playing when I was 14 so the nostalgiabias is definitly there but just go and listen to the music of luth golein and think of the horrors you had to fight and what great adventures you had. Diablo 3 wont reproduce because the boundries of these old games were to be great with the limitation of graphics wich they had to fill with feeling instead and leave things open for imagination. In this case anyway its definitly not graphics that will make the game better.

fanboy

On May 10, 2012 at 4:32 am

Hey,
I played the last BETA, and sorry to say i got bored real soon! The repetitive game style (my mouse has died!), got me, and i left the game before reaching the first BOSS!
I really waited for this game, but i’m not going to buy it, now that i understood that this game lost his soul!!

Russell

On May 10, 2012 at 7:10 am

Having played Diablo and Diablo 2 for MANY years, and playing the Diablo 3 Beta (or demo, cause its really that small)… I can tell you right now as far as im concerned it feels like Diablo. I have not played the whole game, nor have I been past the max level of the beta. However, the overall look and feel of the game reminds me of the first Diablo, the storyline and also the voices and sounds are incredible. I personally play with surround sound headphones and I noticed some very nice little touches in that regard. I can only imagine when we get to go through the rest of the game and also when we get to try out Inferno at lvl 60. I am very excited about the game and playing beta brought back some feelings of nostalgia, atleast for me.

Jonny

On May 10, 2012 at 8:29 am

Your article is bad and you should feel bad. Dont worry, say what ever you want on your final review, its not worth the reading based on this.

Retarded

On May 10, 2012 at 8:37 am

Holy mother of god… This article… is full of ignorance and “retardness…”
The whole ing article you are repeating the “That not Diablo” “This not Diablo”.
The team left, so WHAT?

You are not going to review “Diablo III”, you are going to review a game called “Not Diablo II”

you, stop stucking in the ing past. Diablo was made 12 years ago, something has to change, omfg, the essential of Diablo series was not changed FFS…

max

On May 10, 2012 at 9:25 am

who care if pvp isint in the game when its comes out, ive alwase been a pvp player, But why hold a game for a couple more months only for pvp ? i wanna pvm ASAP pvp comes after that so seriously who give a crap. but ill have to admit its a shame i wont be allowed to duel when i reach lvl 9. But the game comes out in 5 days, who on earth would wanna hold the game 2-3 more months only to play pvp ? atleast ill be geared up when its out

max

On May 10, 2012 at 9:29 am

one more thing to respond to the comment of the guy saying he got bored fast, i played the beta too, i never got bored, i tryed evrey call to the end of the beta and loved them all the only bad part is the fact u can t go beyond lvl 13. if u got bored of this game fast, u probly got bored of d2 fast aswell. the new skills/runes system is very good, even if u lack the customization of choosing which skill to put points, but it has its advantages, at any point you can change you’re build. so its a big boost, u can try all buildings without having to remake a char.

Mark Burnham

On May 10, 2012 at 10:03 am

“Since finding Game Front during the Mass Effect 3 ending uproar I’ve essentially ignored all of the game sites I used to go to for previews/reviews and this article is a perfect example of the reason why.”

Thank you @ObiwanChernobyl!

@Jonny I’d argue that you should check out CJ’s Diablo 3 review first. He knows his stuff, and he’s going to give it the score it deserves, whatever that may be.

clamsarehot

On May 10, 2012 at 10:45 am

I feel sorry for the lower level developers who have no say in these matters but are probably working 20 hour days to fix the mistakes the idiots at the top have been making for YEARS. And I bet a lot of them KNOW this game is going to suck, which I’m sure makes it difficult to have any passion for developing it. I’ve worked on a software project before where management had no clue what they were doing, and were completely unappreciative, and it’s quite demoralizing.

Arangarx

On May 10, 2012 at 10:46 am

After reading your article, I have zero confidence in your ability to write a fair review of the game. You come across as the stereotypical anti-fanboy. I have zero confidence in your ability to review Diablo 3 fairly, because it is clear you will not be reviewing Diablo 3, you will be reviewing “Not Diablo 2″.

This article is a failed attempt to set the stage to make yourself look like the heroic reviewer who is planning to give a bad review despite the evil forces all around you.

It just comes off as desperate and so strongly biased that it won’t even be worth reading your coming review.

clamsarehot

On May 10, 2012 at 10:50 am

This Blizzard post is hilarious: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/4325959

They’re calling completely reworking how the entire itemization works an “iterative design process”. That’s a bit of a stretch. They should have known long ago that to use the traditional stats, but I guess they thought they could improve which to Blizzard now means “simplify for the masses who aren’t that bright”.

clamsarehot

On May 10, 2012 at 10:51 am

Arangarx-the-fanboy strikes!

clamsarehot

On May 10, 2012 at 10:59 am

Note how fanboys don’t attack the content, they attack the person, because they don’t have an argument. Kind of like liberals.

I predict D3 will be the greatest hyped videogame flop of our decade.

zach

On May 10, 2012 at 11:09 am

This game better be good, otherwise it’s gonna suck

Arangarx

On May 10, 2012 at 11:09 am

clamsarehot the anti-fanboy strikes.

My comments have nothing to do with fanboyism. I really don’t care if someone ends up liking the game or not, but it is clear from this article he’s not going in to it as a fair reviewer.

“Note how fanboys don’t attack the content, they attack the person, because they don’t have an argument. Kind of like liberals.

I predict D3 will be the greatest hyped videogame flop of our decade.”

My comments were because of the content of his article. Everything he said made it clear that he wants a Diablo 2.5 and will review Diablo 3 as such. Also, try looking in a mirror hypocrite. You didn’t counter what I said, you attacked me, because you don’t have an argument. Kind of like the liberals.

FuzzyBlumpkins

On May 10, 2012 at 11:16 am

Here is some advice: Grow a pair and review the game.

If you had fun, give it the appropriate score. If you didn’t have fun, give it the appropriate score. This “woe is me” BS is stupid.

Red Menace

On May 10, 2012 at 11:18 am

I think we’ve really reached the crux of the argument here in the comments, the damn liberals.

Herobotic

On May 10, 2012 at 12:02 pm

The thing about the PvP being released late is that it’s a completely separate system. That’s what makes it okay for me. “We’ve got these two systems correct, single player and co-op, why don’t we release those and then release the third system we know we don’t have right later.” That seems to me the actual heart of the matter. There’s a completely different dynamic for co-op multiplayer and competitive multiplayer, so I can see why the need to focus on each one individually. And co-op is much easier, because if things are clearly unbalanced in competitive, it’s frustrating in a monumental way. If the balance is a little off in co-op, at least everyone’s working together against the system.

Herobotic

On May 10, 2012 at 12:08 pm

@Arrangarx I’m liberal and agreed with you, don’t start spouting stupid insults inside a good argument.

Arangarx

On May 10, 2012 at 12:59 pm

After talking with the author on Reddit, I think it’s worth seeing what the final review is like. He seems sensible enough.

Will

On May 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm

‎”Concerns about backlash from seething Blizzard fans” – ‘em. You’re not reviewing a game to please fans.
“Concerns about souring a professional relationship with Blizzard” – them too if the only reason you’re getting a review copy is the expectation of a good review.
“Concerns about negatively contributing to the game‘s success…” – The game will do fine despite potentially poor reviews. This is the last thing one should be concerned about when attempting to objectively (as possible) critique a game.

Mark Burnham

On May 10, 2012 at 1:50 pm

Some people here seem to be shocked by the idea that a reviewer goes into a game with a semblance of a pre-formed opinion–and is then able to judge the final product on its own merits, after experiencing the full game for itself. Is it really that hard to fathom?

It’s as though some would prefer every game reviewer go through a complete brain-wipe before playing a game. That way (I think the opinion goes), you have no knowledge, opinion, expectations, historical experience, emotion or passion for a title, at all. You have a blank space waiting to be filled.

That’s just not how it works, particularly with the third entry in a loved franchise. Like we saw with Mass Effect, expectations are very much a part of the experience of playing–and reviewing, mind you–a game.

DirtBall

On May 10, 2012 at 1:51 pm

I wonder how many reviewers have already made up their minds? Sounds like you have.

Jason

On May 10, 2012 at 3:15 pm

There is no point to this fear mongering pile of excrement you call an article. You should be embarrassed.

yAak

On May 10, 2012 at 3:28 pm

You lost my respect immediately when you spent 3/4 a page building up to: “Diablo 3 was not developed by the same people who developed the original Diablo series.”

12 years later… no kidding? How about you spend 3/4 of a page coming up with some defensible arguments as to why this even matters. Citing similarities to WoW is genuinely laugh-worthy. I guess you forgot about all the similarities WoW has to Diablo 2 mechanics? I refuse to even honor your mention of art style similarities.

Then you go on to pretend like large, last minute changes and compromises haven’t been made for past Blizzard titles right before shipping. I spent 5 minutes googling for Diablo 2 developer articles and found this: “Only weeks away from scheduled beta testing, we scrapped our Act IV level layout schemes because they were just a bit too empty and similar. The last-minute fixes turned these levels into some of the best, befitting their climactic function.” – Eric Schaffer on D2 post-mortem
http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/131533/postmortem_blizzards_diablo_ii.php?page=2

Furthermore, the rune system remained very similar in function to its early form. The primary change was shifting its implementation from item-drops to level-unlocks — this was to improve usability, not alter function.

Also, the late January announcement of changes was just that. These changes had already been implemented, tested, and iterated on internally, and Blizzard was confident enough in the permanence of those changes to announce them. You, like many others, continually assume that the latest changes pushed to the public Beta were cutting edge, when thats hardly the case as the purpose of the Beta was for architectural and auction house testing. You’ll noticed that in the last 3 months, none of these announced have had any significant alterations: http://us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/4325959/Systems_Changes-1_19_2012#blog

I do commend you for your honesty, but all you’ve shown us is that you draw wild conclusions from little research, understanding, or justification. Also, you really don’t have to convince me that game reviews aren’t reliable indications about the quality of a game!

Jason

On May 10, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Well. They kinda stopped the “when it’s ready” mantra with WoW and all it’s expacs.

noumuon

On May 10, 2012 at 5:53 pm

holy FUD batman. this article is a prime example of why the word “journalism” doesn’t apply to 99% of gaming news.

forumsuser

On May 10, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Articles like this remind me of the new old adage: “Video games are like sausages and laws, you don’t want to see them being made.”

Massive changes during beta? Have you ever actually participated in a Blizzard beta before? WoW had an enormous amount of changes going on during vanilla beta including axing of the entire language skill system. Warcraft 3 had similar drastic changes during beta.

Of course with the more open development comes more scrutiny of what is normally done outside the public eye but I guess we can misrepresent this for a huge video game that’s about to release so we can generate controversy for more pageviews, right?

Elliot

On May 10, 2012 at 7:04 pm

Everything mentioned here is exactly what I am worried about.

I actually didn’t enjoy the beta. I feel like the Diablo feel has been completely dumbed down, the customisation is almost non existant.

it worries me.

Trundle

On May 10, 2012 at 10:32 pm

customization?

diablo 2 doesn’t have 1/3 the customization you have in diablo 3.

you want to argue that a useless atribute system where everyone used pretty much the same ‘build’ with little to no change + a skill tree where you had like ~4 skill maxed end game is better than the current system?

are you kidding me?

derpfront

On May 11, 2012 at 12:12 am

This article is bad all over.

D2 was sure released “when it was done,” amirite? That’s why we got those guild halls that they previewed that a bunch of people were excited about. Oh wait, that never happened. Not in classic, not in LoD, not in any patch after that.

“Guilds will not be in the Beta, nor in the final shipping version of Diablo II. During development it became clear that making Guilds bullet-proof, balanced, and completely secure would delay shipping Diablo II. Fundamental, major changes to the Diablo II, Battle.net, client-server architecture would be required. Testing and all-important balancing would make our fans wait even longer. In the interests of getting the game to our fans — we had to decide to drop Guilds. Rest assured that we are exploring ways of adding Guilds after Diablo II ships.”

Gee, this kind of language looks awfully familiar, huh? A better title for this article would have been “I can’t figure out how to remove my rose-tinted glasses” or “Writer overcome with nostalgia makes specious claims.”

Row

On May 11, 2012 at 12:29 am

” But most alarming of all, Blizzard has broken its most sacred of mantras: “When it’s ready,” and is releasing an incomplete product.”

Exactly. They’ve been cutting left right and center to make the May deadline. PvP, some of the weapon attack animations, the Mystic, the last-minute UI…

But I think that when comparing D2 to D3, nostalgia is a big factor. If you give both games, side by side, to someone who hasn’t played either, their opinion will probably be quite different than those of us who played D2 for years. The question is, can D3 ever be “awesome enough” for us?

Row

On May 11, 2012 at 12:49 am

yAak

“Furthermore, the rune system remained very similar in function to its early form. The primary change was shifting its implementation from item-drops to level-unlocks — this was to improve usability, not alter function.”

I strongly disagree. The only similarity is that runes still give you variations on how skills work. But they used to have levels of quality (1 to 7 I think), so they could also make your skills more powerful. It was basically the only thing left of that sort since they they removed skill points. Also, the fact they were items added a whole dimension to character customization. You would be able to hunt for them, trade for them (they would have been a pretty big market on their own) and basically build up your char.

I’m not saying I disagree with the change completely, they could have been overwhelming considering the number of different items (runes) this would have meant. A bit too much for Average Joe to handle or for a future console version. But I still wish they were kept in item form in some way.

One last thing, I find that skill runes in the current UI look quite ugly and uninformative =/

Smythe

On May 11, 2012 at 1:24 am

Call yourself a games journalist? Focus on the released game, not who made what, when, to your rose-tinted ideals. If you can’t disentangle yourself from this, you need a new job.

Kancklefrug

On May 11, 2012 at 2:09 am

“The game was essentially made by World of Warcraft developers.”

Jay Wilson, the lead game designer, never worked on World of Warcraft. In fact, every games journalist should know that Blizzard has a number of dev teams that focus on specific games. I’m pretty sure the WoW team is working on Mists of Pandaria, not Diablo 3.

Do you have a nice list of developers actually working on D3 and what their history is, like you did with the people who left?

Atheos

On May 11, 2012 at 4:40 am

Clams – I agreed with you till you got the liberals part.

The reason liberals are, to an extent, not as effective at selling their policies is because they’re trying to sell facts to a dumbed down public, where as the “conservatives” use simple catch phrases and dumbed down ideas that boil down to creating an Oligarchy. Also… considering what Conservatives tried to do to Clinton and Obama, which is all character assassination and not able to debate their policies without resorting to platitudes and lying, it’s sad you’ve taken a huge gulp of their kool-aid.

On a seperate note, been coming here since the ME3 catastrophe and like what I’ve been reading since then, look forward to the honest review! :)

Jeff Poirrier

On May 11, 2012 at 6:52 am

While I haven’t played the D3 beta at all, I’ve heard many negative rumors regarding its balance, polish, and having an ambiance and style that was too cartoony-happy-unicorn-worldofwarcraft-ish.

Anyway, I agree whole-heartedly with your thoughts on reviewers’ possible lack of honesty. Lets hope that is not the case… but most of all… lets hope Diablo III doesn’t let us down.

chaoscorpse

On May 11, 2012 at 7:37 am

Give it to me then.
I´m not a fanboy of Diablo, or Blizzard.
I dont have much experience with Diablo either.
I couldnt be influenced in any way, and i give a damn about the rage of pissed of fanboys.

Give the game to those ppl who have the least interest and let them play it. They will give you the most neutral review you can get.

Stone

On May 11, 2012 at 4:42 pm

Yeah ok it isn’t the same team but having played the beta I am not worried at all. As far as releasing without the PvP I think at some point you just have to release a game. Sure Blizzard goes with the whole when it’s done thing but seriously it has been over a decade, we don’t want another Duke Nukem.

Rob

On May 11, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Too much psyching yourself out, not enough going into it with open mind! I don’t care about the scores, I’ll be right there playing it and enjoying it on launch day. The fanboys who will criticize you for giving a bad review shouldn’t worry you, those who might not be sure on whether they want the game should. That’s who will look to your review to decide whether to get it, so do your best to give a good or bad recommendation to those people.

Jay

On May 11, 2012 at 8:28 pm

This is why I love this site, honest & well written articles.

As far as D3 itself, I agree that the “When it’s done” concept has been compromised by several months.. I’ve actively been playing the closed beta since january, and he’s right, these huge changes to the game so late in development are troublesome. Especially when some of them have caused a huge outcry from longtime beta testers. Based on this, a september/august release date would have been better. But oh well.

I think that the game will be great, both better but it will be a long while (and a number of patches) before the game matures enough to be on the same level as D2:LoD was.

Dan

On May 11, 2012 at 10:29 pm

When I saw “world of warcraft” and heard his tone I just realized its another WoW ex-fanboy who is on the hating blizzard gravy train. People leave companies to do their own thing, it isnt like Blizzard is the only developing company who has had staff changes over the last TEN YEARS (did you really think your logic was sound when you typed it, or did you just forget to proof read?). The fact that diablo 3 is now the HIGHEST pre-ordered PC game of all time on Amazon.com, and the massive history the series has is going to make for an amazing game. Besides, outside of your opinions in the WoW universe (I dont play anymore but the major changes in MoP are probably going to bring a lot of people back) has blizzard released a bad game in the last 10 years? Nope, everything has been quality. Nobody cares if you are afraid to review Diablo 3, We will all be busy hack/slash/poison/burn/freezing the greater minions of hell while you struggle to look down from your throne, Shylock

Zarwo

On May 11, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Well write whatever you want. This “article” sounds like some posts I have read a couple of times.

gfury

On May 12, 2012 at 1:00 am

There are numerous people that share your concerns, unfortunately they are overshadowed by the ever-following-fanboys. Your honestly should be commended, regardless of whether we agree with your opinion or not. Like you stated, you certainly didn’t have to say anything. You could have just went along with it and faked a smile.

[P.S.] Pretty sure SWToR had record breaking pre-orders as well :P It’s ignorant to “wish for / think” that D3 is going to fail but some people are just flat out dissapointed with the choices they have made.

[P.S:2] I agree heavily with the “lack of customization” argument.

Swirlyball

On May 12, 2012 at 1:36 am

I don’t really care what you say in your review. I’m still getting the game and I am still going to play it and enjoy the hell out of it. Honestly we don’t need paid reviewers anymore, there is usually enough discussion generated through social media from everyone anyways to predict whether a game is going to be a hit or not.

Martin

On May 12, 2012 at 5:28 am

Blizzard’s not living up to their own ‘when it’s done it’s done philosophy’?

IMO they’re exactly living up to that philosophy, while still listening to their fanbase. A game like Diablo is never finished, otherwise they wouldn’t have patched diablo 2 just 1 year ago. PVP isn’t finished, so they don’t release that part yet (living up to the philosophy).

So now what? Delay the whole game? (against the will of the fanbase) nope.
bring it out with a shady PVP and hope to fix it in the feauture? Nope, living up to their philosophy.
comprise, keeping both sides happy? yupp

Next. The reason they made core changes was because they’ve never developed a diablo game before? It’s a bit easy to say, but hard to prove or disprove, non? I think it’s funny you spend half a page on the problem, while only using 1 sentence to backup your claim.

Also, just wait ’till the game’s actually out before you start spreading garbage. if you still don’t like it after release, grow some balls and write an honest review about it.

Where is your experience with the beta? If there is ANYTHING you could base your negativism on it’d be with the gameplay/feel of the beta. I’d say they did an awesome job in translating the Diablo-feel into this game. And if the beta can give me that feeling, just you wait for the actual game.

bLah

On May 12, 2012 at 6:45 am

Hm, half of the article is based upon this:

“When it’s ready” has always been one of Blizzard’s core philosophies, and it has never compromised that ideology on a full release — until now.

Which is just completely wrong. Starcraft 2 wasn’t finished game when it was released. Not even close. There weren’t even chat channels in the game when it was released, and there was ty balance, bad custom game system etc.etc. Even today, 2 years after start of the sc2 beta some features are witheld so they can use it as a hype when they release new expansions.

paulb3rd

On May 12, 2012 at 7:53 am

Maybe I am in the minority, but I have no such reservations. Here is way…

The same things were said about Starcraft 2. Not the same dev team, the game wasn’t finished, parts were missing, the beta left people scratching their heads, and so on. Starcraft 2 rocks and I haven’t stopped playing it since it came out.

The things you point out as being negatives are plusses to me. The fact that the WOW team created Diablo 3 is a bonus. Agree or disagree, WOW is one of the most addictive, balanced, and successful games ever made. The guys that left Blizzard who were on the original Diablo dev teams haven’t duplicated that level success in their new ventures. Maybe the gaming industry has passed them by and younger and brighter minds are carrying the torch now.

I have complete faith Diablo 3 will be great and a huge success. One things is for sure, we will all know this time next week how the game really is.

Snow

On May 12, 2012 at 7:55 am

“concerns about souring a professional relationship with Blizzard”
And then you write all that garbage? Heh.. lie much?

Snow

On May 12, 2012 at 7:59 am

Dont you dare (mr writer) get on Blizzard for releasing the game with no PvP.. I don’t want to wait another 3 months while they polish it up. Let me gear up for my pvp, I (and the VAST majority) will happily farm, farm, farm for a few months till we have PvP.

phil

On May 12, 2012 at 8:08 am

“When it’s ready”

WoW launched without Dire Maul/Maraudon, as featured.
TBC launched without Arenas, as featured.

I’m sure there are more examples.

Enough with the QQ, times move on, people change career paths. D3 is still going to kick ass, you just need to lose the hate.

Eric

On May 12, 2012 at 8:11 am

For the record, stating facts is not “fanboyism”.

The 3 leads on the Diablo 3 project (Jay Wilson: Director, Jason Regier: Programming, Christian Lichtner: Art), have never touched WoW. Jason was a programmer on Diablo 2 in fact. Without having seen the credits, I don’t think it would be a stretch to assume that most of the team was hired specifically to work on Diablo 3.

All the coemments made about “last minute core system changes” and “it’s not done” are said without a sense of history. Almost every game blizzard has released has had design changes and compromises at the last minute.

The above ae simply facts, not opinion. Just facts that are ignored that could be found in about 1 minute of googling.

David D

On May 12, 2012 at 8:21 am

I am never playing Diablo or Warcraft or any game made by Blizzard again!
Full story @ http://www.facebook.com/​TEAM666
Gamefront James, Mitch or Zac need yur help on this!

Eric

On May 12, 2012 at 8:41 am

Two minutes of googling would reveal that all 3 leads on the Diablo 3 team (Jay Wilson, Jason Regier, Christian Lichtner) never touched WoW. Their names are barely mentioned in this article.

To think that Diablo 3 was the first game to iterate on core game systems late in it’s life, is to again, ignore research into the matter. If you look more closely at past Blizzard releases, you will find these sorts of things in every game they’ve created. The WoW release in 2004 saw even more extreme changes late in beta, as did StarCraft 2, as did Diablo 2.

The difference now is Blizzard is giving everyone an “all access” pass so you get to see how the sausage is made.

These are all facts, not opinions.

axy1985

On May 12, 2012 at 9:04 am

“Is it possible to write a sequel to another author’s novel? Certainly. But it’s easy to lose the author’s creative vision, the essence of the work, and while the result may be a great novel in its own right, it may disappoint fans of the original.”

Mass Effect 3, anyone?

Meh, never been a fan of the Diablo series, it’s just not one of my genres. But I’m interested in seeing how this turns out.

Ryan B

On May 12, 2012 at 9:40 pm

I like how the fanboys are willing to hand wave anything. Fanboys in [brackets]

“The game is mind numbingly, insultingly easy, to the point where it hurts to play it and I can’t get through it with all the characters”. ["Whatever, it's Normal, it's supposed to be like that. You have to play through it and Nightmare to get to the harder difficulties"] (No mention of an acceptable minimum difficulty level for Normal, or why it’s acceptable, much less desirable, to play through difficulty levels below your skill set for 20-40 hours before getting into the “real game”)

“Blizzard has almost no relation to Diablo II anymore, and the art and style are blatantly reminiscent of WOW” ["Whatever, this is D3, not D 2.5"] (No mention as to why they believe the team currently behind D3 can deliver the “awesome” game they apparently expect)

“They’re cutting features as they approach the launch date, and show no signs of actually being ready to launch” ["Whatever, features get cut all the time, it's normal for games to experience major changes at the 11th hour, I just want to get my hands on it, and you're a retard if you think otherwise"] (No mention of the fact that they have been hand waving all feedback received from those who actually have had their hands on it, and for the love of all that is good and holy why is no one concerned that the Blizz D3 website STILL has no itemization details, and indicates that they’re “working” on legendary and set items, less than a week from release!?!?)

“No, like, really, I’ve played the game and it blows, seriously. It’s completely uninteresting to play, and as you have ZERO CONTROL over the leveling process, there is no incentive to continue to play it AT ALL, especially as getting better items is NOT NECESSARY as ALL PLAYABLE CONTENT CURRENTLY EXPLORED DOES NOT REQUIRE ANY ITEMIZATION TO COMPLETE. Also, at some point when I “dinged” to level up, before I checked to see what ‘gifts’ I had been arbitrarily bequeathed with this level, I realized that the most interesting part of leveling had become the act of the ‘ding’ itself and the AOE effect it provided, as certainly I did not feel any more powerful from having increased in level. The game seriously sucks, from first hand experience with it.” ["Dude, you're a retard, everything you say is irrelevant, uninstall your beta and go kill yourself, your opinion is worthless and we've gone over this- it's fine, it's supposed to be easy, uninteresting, and practically a chore to play. It's normal. It's fine for them to not have any solid itemization a week before release. That's normal. Items aren't even needed anyway? That's normal. Play through 40 hours of garbage gameplay, and get to the inferno mode like me, and I'm sure you'll love it as much as I will. What's that? Firsthand experience, or any logical reason whatsoever for my viewpoint? No, I don't have that, but that's normal. No one has played this mythical experience I expect to be awesome, nor seen the gear that I'm so advocating will make it worth playing. In fact, it's fair to say that Blizzard has been hyping up part of the game, and revealing a different part, almost like a bait and switch, almost like the mythical part I'm so adamantly excited about isn't actually that awesome, and they don't want people to see that yet, until they have a metric ton of sales. Should anyone get to see inferno mode and review it before I make a purchase decision? NO, because I'm so super SMRT "smart" that I love arbitrarily giving a company my money based upon nothing at all, beyond my love for a game of a similar name made 12 years ago by completely different people, and the promises of the PEOPLE MAKING THE GAME that I will enjoy playing the very end game content. Even if every person out there says the game sucks and is boring, repetitive, and lacking any meaningful depth, I'll buy it anyway, because I'm THAT GUY, and I'm awesome.]

Arangarx

On May 12, 2012 at 9:45 pm

@Herobotic I was making fun of clamsarehot lol. I almost word for word copied the end of his post.

Arangarx

On May 12, 2012 at 9:47 pm

@Elliot You can’t know anything about D3 and say that it’s dumbed down and has no customization. It has more customization than D2 had in its wildest dreams. And the system isn’t dumbed down, it’s actually fun and customizable now.

trinity

On May 13, 2012 at 7:08 am

“I’m not convinced it’ll be as good as Diablo 2.” When will people realize that Diablo 3 isn’t Diablo 2 and never was intended to be its equal? If they wanted a Diablo 2 equal they would make a remake of the game, improvement of engine, graphics, etc.

BUT THIS ISNT DIABLO 2, ITS A NEW GAME SO STOP BITHCHING ABOUT IT. seriously this guy’s review remembers me of all the whinning idiots on the forums

Punxdelirium

On May 13, 2012 at 7:50 am

If you want nothing to change, jus keep playing Diablo 2 then.

Bheasty

On May 13, 2012 at 10:13 am

First off, people hate success and always want to see those at the top fall. Blizzard’s WoW always has been and still is a great success, people have been crying “WoW is dead” for the last 4 years… well they still have over 10 million subscribers….

To my point…..D3 has already broken numerous records before it’s even been released (top pre-order sales etc) and it’s Open Beta weekend had close on 3 million players logging in to test it out. In my honest opinion you take an awesome series like Diablo 3, keep the awesome gameplay mechanics, story…..add some updated AWESOME cinematics/graphics (I’ve seen a couple) and add to that some WoW/Diablo like boss mechanics and it’s a WIN.

We’ve tasted a tiny % in the Beta weekend and we’re hooked, the entire game is going to be magic. All the haters and doubters can go play something else and miss out on AWESOMENESS.

Gigi Duru'

On May 13, 2012 at 10:47 am

No. You will not give D3 a honest review (btw you can give “A honest review”, not “AN honest review”, you learned english in Bangladesh?), since your whole article is firing pathetic arrows at Blizzard, your arguments being at best ad hominem when they weren’t complete bull.

Basically your whole “preview” on 3 in’ pages can be summed in a simple phrase:

The people who made Diablo 100 years ago are not here anymore, therefore the game will suck, especially since they had (THE NERVE!) to change some systems with 3 months (OH THE SACRILEGE!) and the game’s lack of PvP.

I read all what you wrote and I can say you’re exactly the blatant moron, who in life I am so hard trying to avoid. Somehow they seem to find me from time to time and today’s no exception. I am no Blizzard’s fan, I never was. I didnt played SC, didnt played SC2, didnt played Diablo 1 or more then 1-2 weeks of Warcraft. I only played D2 and some WoW. I was astonished how perfect Diablo 3 was on beta, absolutely stunning, perfect graphics, perfect sound and perfect gameplay. Perfect story too.

So whats exactly there to condemn ? Nothing if you ask me, everything if we ask you. You dont like that some mercenaries from original d1-d2 team are not longer there, you dont like that the pvp is not here (even if you dont have anything to do with it untill you are not 60), you dont like that people like Blizzard games or the journalists who praise the studio, period.

A complete blatant idiot, like I was sayin’.

Kevin

On May 13, 2012 at 1:39 pm

@Gigi Duru’ — I quote you: “btw you can give “A honest review”, not “AN honest review”, you learned english in Bangladesh?”

“An honest review” is proper English–not “a honest review.” Your entire attack on the author began with an attack on his correct use of the language. Thus, you negate your entire argument when it’s clear you will attack someone, even when you are factually in the wrong. Merriam-Webster tells us that use of “a” or “an” is based on the vowel sound that follows, not whether a consonant or vowel begins the following word–and uses the word “honor” as an example.

“Honor,” of course, is not a word with which you seem familiar, based on your personal attack. (How funny that you would accuse the author of an ad hominem attack, and then proceed to do exactly that which you just condemned.) However, before deriding someone for grammar, know what you are talking about. To quote you again: “You learned english in Bangladesh?”

Ace

On May 13, 2012 at 6:42 pm

You know, I cant work out if your just trolling or you really believe that crap you wrote. They make a few changes to the game game and you write this bollocks. They release the game without PvP so we can ACTUALLY play the game. Who cares about PvP until LvL 60 anyway?
Oh wow, I know, lets ask Blizz to delay the game another two months so we can PvP…..

It’s dumb ass articles like this that make developers stop telling us guys whats going on and why. Stop writing your crap until the game is out. You review games, so shut yer trap until its out and you can review it. Jezus man, If its , then I’ll be the first in queue to tell them its .

Oh and I’m gonna review you now. Your a troll, who get off on attention. There are better review sites than this, and certainly better writers than you.

Jamie

On May 13, 2012 at 6:53 pm

I feel like this is going to be a modern day Blizzard expansion. They noobify anything in all the games they develop since about 2009. They do not care about use hardcore gamers, its more about the little retarded kids who don’t know how to game. They make it easier for them, because they know that parents these days will cave in to buying anything.
I’ve loved the Diablo series since I was a kid as well, but it is not a game that will ever be replaced nor upgraded. Sorry to say, but I feel like Blizzard (the new Blizzard) is going to tear the heart and soul out of this game.

Nobody

On May 13, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Man, I definitely applaud you for your commitment to write an honest review/mark an honest score.. But I am honestly con fuddled by your stated concerns here. I think you, seemingly in step with the swarms of D3 naysayers, are romanticizing Diablo 2 a wee bit too much. I mean it’s a classic, to be sure–a great, solid game. But one that is not without considerable flaws and shortcomings..Many of the arguments commonly brought against the third, could easily be leveled at the 2nd..Repetitive, click-a-thon, etc.. But it was every bit worth the carpal tunnel. Why? Because of the gothic vibe, haunting story, and hordes of beasts raining down on you, as you stood, surrounded by goblin carcasses, One felt that they were part of a classical epic. A journey that perhaps connects somehow to to the human condition.

The best in the series, in my opinion, is the first one. Nothing will ever compare to that first fight with The Butcher. As a 10 year old I was scared half to death by that dude.

Anyways I digress,

You can never make a game that successfully clones the original. That is why it is precious, because it is unique. And D3 will never be D2..But it will be a new iteration in a evolution of a great story, and game..And in the end, barring some huge deviation in story, I expect us old time diablo fans will wipe away a tear or two as the 3rd chapter comes to a close. And ultimately, I bet it will be tons of fun.

I don’t care if the team is different, or if some of the WOW aesthetic leaked in..It doesn’t matter to me. And PVP is not actually a big deal to some of us out there..From playing the beta, I get the sense this game does a lot of things right, and might just (heresy alert) be better than the 2nd one.

Nobody

On May 13, 2012 at 8:31 pm

Anyways I sense that your review will be an unbiased and dynamic one, which, tragically, is a rarity these days. For some reason a lot of gamers are allergic to criticisms, even if they are constructive. So good luck, and here’s to hoping you don’t get to much of a backlash fro speaking your mind.

Pgood

On May 13, 2012 at 11:49 pm

I really appreciated a cautious counter-balance to the fan fever generally sweeping the game criticism world right now. However, I’d like to posit some counter-arguments.

Your arguments of the game being rushed without considering a “huge” part of the previous games, PvP, would be understandable if Blizzard actually balanced Diablo 1 or 2 for PvP. Regardless of however many people participated in it, Blizzard never EVER considered PvP important in the totality of either the previous games, and the ignored uproar from a small but vocal PvP community as each patch basically kept the long range classes (and to some extent, Paladins) on top in PvP should remind you of that. As well, their lack of care towards the way PvP was implemented (PK griefing being the huge example) showed that they never cared about how it blended with the PvE experience either. PvP in Diablo was always akin to simply flipping a friendly fire toggle with a blanket damage reduction. At best, duals could be sorta fun, but again, basically unsupported except by existence alone.

The fact that they want to do more with it in Diablo 3 (in terms of teams, arenas and a semblance of score-keeping, as well as separating it totally from PvE) is actually commendable. The fact that they don’t care about it enough to delay the release of the parts of the game they actually care about is really just par for the course.

As for your arguments about the rune changes and changes to itemization, well, I can sorta see your point there, but as I remember, most of those “itemization” changes were intended to make their jobs quicker and easier. The three stats that were “removed” were simply reassigned to other item affixes. Making the stats class specific in some way (the biggest change) allowed them to focus players on the desire for certain kinds of items in a way they had a hard time doing before.

Your biggest worry was that all these core systems were added just a couple of months before release: how could they possibly balance in that sort of time? And that’s well taken again, especially because they felt comfortable announcing the May 15th release in March, merely 1 month after the rune overhaul. Well, again, just playing devil’s advocate, but it’s 2012, 10 years after D2′s release, and I’m guessing since then, they have developed an AMAZING array of data capturing programs that they just didn’t even think to even need back then (I think this is probably where WoW helped them). I bet, during the beta, they gathered more data on the use of Magic Missile alone (as well as ways to quickly visualize it) than they did for every skill used in the D2 beta. Perhaps they just didn’t need that time.

Finally, if you’ll remember the D2 release, the first few patches still had MAJOR bugs to fix, many relating to game and full computer crashes. I doubt we’ll be getting anything like that for this game. In sum, I think that, while it will certainly pay to be cautious, I don’t think we should let opinions based on a possibly ill-placed nostalgia for Diablo 2 affect our opinions of the game to come either.

Whatever happens, we’ll get to figure it out in a couple days!

magusat999

On May 13, 2012 at 11:55 pm

I’m with the guy who said he predicts it will be the biggest flop of our time. I see this not satisfying Diablo series veterans, and new gamers will be turned off by it’s WOW “clone-isms”, most aggressive DRM of all time, micro-transaction heavy, forced DLC elements of this game. There isn’t enough here – can you customize your character? NO. There are what, 3 characters to pick from? Please. Stop. Now. They have been marketing to single-players but they have made the game like an MMO. This Diablo 3 is shaping up like Duke Nukem’s last game, and may topple it as the biggest disappointing in gaming of all times…

MPSewell

On May 15, 2012 at 12:13 am

Lmao, wow, the fanboy Blizzard-Defense-Squad sure came out of the woodwork.

Rather proved the article true, didn’t it? If you dare to question the greatness of the teenagers and their holy Blizzard then they will scream and spit and curse you.

Quite a lynch mob we have going here, isn’t it?

mr pillows

On May 15, 2012 at 3:14 am

all i hear are a bunch of whiney fanboys defending a game thats not even out against a journalist that is cut and dry unbiased as they come. did anyone even read this article? its an explanation of the title. And after reading the responses to his “pre-review” its obvious why he titled the article what he did. its because people are stupid and caint reed good when you tell em that their favorite toy is silly.

laughterjones

On May 15, 2012 at 5:08 am

Dang peeps, calm down. Good grief. The author is doing market research about the to-be-released product, and he’s establishing a standard to grade the game against. For D3, this is especially fair. We all have high expectations for the game and the author can’t remove that from his psyche either.

At least let him review the bloody game before you light the torches.

Happytrees, the Ogreborne

On May 15, 2012 at 5:43 am

Completely sums up my reasoning for why this game won’t be as good as Diablo 2. With the exception of Blizzard obviously using this as an attempt at another cash-cow, the requirement of online activation and lack of singleplayer/LAN is a huge disappointment, and a blaring horn at the fact that Blizzard is(for whatever reason) still money hungry.

At 10% install now, I’m crossing my fingers.

Jason

On May 15, 2012 at 2:51 pm

ddgdas

Lemon

On May 16, 2012 at 1:18 am

I completely agree with the author, this is one of the most genuine reviews I’ve seen yet. I was a diablo 2 fan, but d3 really isn’t all that innovative. The fact that blizzard has so much money, power, and control over the game market/media is very very scary, they shouldn’t be called blizzard anymore, it’s now just a empty name used to hog money. The game industry no longer encourages new ideas, innovation and passion, everything is just money money money, and apparently D3 is on the same boat.

LordDeSeis

On May 16, 2012 at 5:09 am

Diablo 3 is a crap. Yesterday I have went trhough the entire game and in my opinion they did nothing to satisfy me with the story and lore. They mixed thing up. They simplified the story and made it more predictable than I thought.

I love cunning stories where even massive spoilers cannot spoil you a final product but this one even without those spoiling lads and lass is spoiled enough for me to stop playing this game. If there is no expansion with story continuation I will say goodbye to Blizzard and stop my interests in their games and franchise.

Regards
Adam

Paul

On May 16, 2012 at 11:26 am

The game definately has its problems.

Very irritating DRM for one, requiring someone to always be online even if they just want to play alone, which was used because “giving you single player would lead to hacks, bots and insecurity”. The day after the game was released someone released a single player crack for it, so the that seems to be a load of trash. There is a bot out for the thing too. The DRM boots you off every time blizzard’s servers go down, which will be every Tuesday and whenever they have problems.

The writing is terrible too. Seriously guys, the quality of writing for a game should be better than for a world of warcraft quest. They clearly used their WoW quest writers to write this thing. The ending fell flat on its face and was very cheesy.

You can’t even fight other players if you want to, but at one point they do promise to release a patch where you can fight in WoW style arenas. The game is pretty short too.

The graphical quality of the cinematics are excellent, but as I said before the bad writing hurts it, especially the ending,

John

On May 16, 2012 at 6:52 pm

My thoughts exactly with majority of the consensus. Diablo 3 is not worthy of being in the same series as the other two Diablo games. A more suitable title would have been World of Diablo.

Made the mistake of buying it inspite of a gut feeling that urged me not to. The game is rubbish. It’s a casual game, mixed with Diablo lore, half baked with a money making free2play model.. only this time it’s not free.

I wonder if this has anything to do with Activision as we have seen EA corrupt BioWare in the recent past.

All I can say, as a huge fan of Blizzard games since Lost Vikings, is “you [Blizzard] have changed, man!” You used to be about the quality and fun games. WTF is this rubbish I bought?! Your name has been tainted in my eyes. Your reputation has slipped. And sorry to say, I won’t be looking forward to any more of your releases. My loss? Maybe. But there are many better games out their now that the king of pc gaming has lost his seat on the thrown. It’s been fun.

Nulltron

On May 17, 2012 at 11:09 am

It is not only you that is not reviewing the game. After 3 days, nobody is. Server problems aside, there must be someone that go to play enough of it to take a chance with a review, what with all the “walk trough”s and all “this is how it’s done”s all over the gaming sites. Obviously the game is not as good as it should be. It most certainly is something like 7 out of 10 or even 3 out of 5.

Rage

On May 17, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Wow, really smart conversation out here… So if you enjoyed the atmosphere of Diablo 1 & 2 and you wonder how that WoW-ish looking can really be taken seriously as Diablo 3 it’s absolutely clear that YOU want Diablo 2,5… Okay, let me get this straight: Diablo 1 &2 was all about great atmosphere, about music that makes u feel freezy and scared but cool at the same time, you could smell the amount of work the people put in this pieces.
So if i tell you now that Diablo 3 is a piece of for addicted WoW whores this might be no new point for you, but its the truth. I dont want Diablo 2.5, I want the in atmosphere of a Diablo game you in heads!!! That has nothing to do with the old game, Diablo 2 was a lot different from Diablo 1 (i liked the atmosphere in Diablo 1 even more even though i was mainly playing Diablo 2)…

You have nothing on your side than in arguments, not the same developers – hey surprise, but still mainly in WoW developers…

From the changes this game experiences and experienced in the last months you can tell that this company is going to suck any as long as it means profit, and thats not the old blizzards spirit…

So if you in love this game so much and your holy Blizzard then spread your holes and get ed by some greedy s..have fun naive morons srsly…

Nulltron

On May 18, 2012 at 10:21 am

Four days and no reviews yet. Granted no reviewer wants to make the same mistake he made with ME3, but with Diablo III it must be rather different. The game is at best very ordinary and at worse no good at all. The gaming industry is the beginning of the end of the road.

Raul

On May 18, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Save your money, don’t buy it. Trust me.

Kenobi

On May 18, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Hello,

Played a full day of Diablo 3. I have no words to describe how bad this game is, in fact im extremely furious that I had to pay 60$ for this game. Completely upset about this hype, in fact my some of my friends of who bought it are in complete denial about it. They dont wanna admit they wasted 60$ for this huge disappointment. The author of this article is right about people not giving an honest review, this has been the case for a while though. Just wish ass kissers would roll over and die somewhere.

Lester

On May 19, 2012 at 12:29 am

Actually, after reading this article, I can feel it deeply that they are not very passionate on Diablo series. Why? I went to the launch event in Singapore. when the Q&A session, the emcee asked the blizzard guy about diablo stuff, I can say that i know more than him. and when the ultimte question comes.. “What is the thing we should look forward in the next bliizard development?” He answered you guys should really look at the new WoW that is gonna be release, it is super awesome.. blah blah bah… dammit, i feels like telling him, This is Diablo dude, stop talking about ur WoW stuff here, we are not interested.

doncdxx

On May 22, 2012 at 4:33 pm

I didn’t like the game because it’s essentially a side scrolling action game. After an hour of Diablo 3, I dropped it and played Secret of Mana instead. If I am going to play a side scrolling action game, I might as well play a good one.

Blizzard didn’t try to make a good game, they tried to appease old Diablo fans so they could have time to work on their new MMO. The three major franchises Warcraft, Starcraft and Diablo have their current incarnations so they are free to develop a new franchise from scratch with far less constant mail asking for a sequel to games the developers are probably starting to lose their drive to work on. Any artist wants a fresh project and since I already wrote off Diablo, I eagerly await their next new creation.

Brendan

On June 5, 2012 at 11:01 am

Diablo 3 is a sad joke. Diablo 1 and Diablo 2 are superior in every way. This game is doomed in my opinion and has close to no replay value. No Skill Tree, No Runewords, No Ladder, No PVP, No Lobby, Terrible Itemization, Absurd difficulty curve, Stupid story, constant lag, errors and bugs, Hacking is out of control and with the RMAH skill is no longer needed and players can buy their way to victory. Blizzard YOU FAIL…YOU HARDCORE FAIL! D3 is a painful, grinding exercise in futility and a cheap money making scam.

Josh Strachan

On June 22, 2012 at 11:24 pm

I’ll review it for you.

3/10 at most.

Absolutely destroyed by the 1.0.3 patch and the development team completely and consistently ignores the entire community and says that they “want to do it THEIR way” and that they “have their own visions”.

The franchise was hijacked, shat on, and it’s a disgrace. There were a few mechanical things that got it points; shared stash, auction house, etc.. They took the worst parts of diablo 2 and bolstered them and took away everything that made diablo 2 fun and then consistently told us that we don’t know waht we’re talking about, and that the nostalgia of d2 was blinding us and that we really weren’t having fun.

Well, guess what? Public games a week ago famed 25,000 players. Now I’m shocked when I see more than 2,500.

The game is a flop, don’t waste your money until you hear about massive improvements and the community actually being pleased with the product; right now everyone is outraged by the utter destruction of the Diablo franchise.

Demi

On July 25, 2012 at 7:52 am

I love to see all the haters of this article now , 3 months since release and just laugh at their poor comments. (LOL at Jonny)

The poster of this article COULD NOT have been any bit more accurate with his words and predictions. Genius. It’s a shame that it came true but it’s the reality and I have moved until D3 gets “fixed” or simply completed as it should have been upon release.

FiachSidhe

On October 18, 2012 at 2:17 am

“Concerns about backlash from seething Blizzard fans, concerns about souring a professional relationship with Blizzard, concerns about negatively contributing to the game‘s success…”

If any of this concerns you, then you have no business reviewing games.