Zero Punctuation Gives the Best Metal Gear Solid 4 Review Around

Thank you, Yahtzee Croshaw. I knew I could count on you to be the guy who finally played Metal Gear Solid 4, stood up, and said “What the hell?” Reviewers everywhere have been slathering praise all over the game‘s redundant story and brushing aside its ridiculously long cut scenes, but not Croshaw. This has to be the most spot-on review of MGS4 I’ve seen. It is a great game to be sure — when you’re actually allowed to play it — but yes, Kojima really needs an editor.

Via The Escapist

Join the Conversation   

* required field

By submitting a comment here you grant GameFront a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution. Inappropriate or irrelevant comments will be removed at an admin's discretion.

24 Comments on Zero Punctuation Gives the Best Metal Gear Solid 4 Review Around

ManOfTeal

On June 25, 2008 at 12:33 pm

:lol: I was laughing so hard at this one tears fell from my eyes. I’ve never been a fan of Metal Gear Solid……one of the reasons being is it’s confusing and difficult to follow plot. He hits it right on the head. The other major complaint I’ve heard about MGS4 in particular is that it is more of a movie than it is a game. I’ve not played it myself so I cannot attest to that personally but that is what I’ve heard.

Well done once again….I’m still laughing. :lol:

Go Marlins!!!!

housemaster

On June 25, 2008 at 12:47 pm

It’s still a really good game and its “redundant story” is one of the best in any video game I’ve played. As for the “ridiculously long cut scenes” YOU can skip them, all of them if you want. You don’t have to watch them Hideo Kojima isn’t sitting there with a gun forcing you to watch them. God Jonathan you make some stupid posts.

Norbit

On June 25, 2008 at 1:16 pm

The game is currently rated at 94/100 on Metacritic for a very good reason and that’s because its a masterpiece.

Jonathan when 99.9% of the reviewers in the world are declaring something to be brilliant the 0.1% saying its crap are probably not the ones giving the ‘spot-on review’.

If you want to read the best review of MGS4 imo then read this one, ironically from an Xbox 360 site;

http://xboxoz360.wordpress.com/2008/06/21/metal-gear-solid-4-review-closest-thing-to-perfect-since-ocarina-of-time/

When an Xbox 360 site declares a PS3 exclusive to be the best game released in the last 10 years there must be something pretty special about it :mrgreen:

webcore

On June 25, 2008 at 1:25 pm

That review nearly made my ears bleed.

Too much trying to be clever and not enough info.

The Dunce

On June 25, 2008 at 1:46 pm

Hey guys I’m a troll, I like to take Zero Punctuation’s reviews seriously even though they’re meant to be comedic. I like to flame anyone says that the review was funny or true. I flame anyone who disagrees with me because it’s just what us trolls do. I like to start flame wars anywhere that promotes this review. I also like to whine about how the review is just trying to be funny, even though that is what the purpose of it is. I also like to flame people who say that MGS4′s cut-scenes are too long, because they can just skip them and not know what the hell is going on and ruin the entire game. Well goodbye guys, I’m off to my troll cave to flame anyone who says a game I like isn’t absolutely perfect.

Karl98

On June 25, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Johnathan = way too opinionated (opinions don’t belong in journalism)

Actually, we encourage our writers to voice their opinions. It beats the heck out of dry old news. Besides, we’re writing about VIDEO GAMES here, not world peace. -Editor

BritishPerson#12

On June 25, 2008 at 3:03 pm

@ Norbit:

Merely the idea that the majority is right automatically because they are the majority is flawed. 1 out of 100 can be right and the 99 could be wrong. We have seen before in examples where the minority can be correct.

As for the review, a standard romp from Mr. Croshaw. Good show!

ManOfTeal

On June 25, 2008 at 3:08 pm

@BritishPerson#12

All of Norbit’s logic is flawed….this is nothing new. It comes from having his head stuck up Sony’s ass so long he doesn’t even know what his real name is.

Go Marlins!!!!

Norbit

On June 25, 2008 at 4:32 pm

@ ManOfTeal

WTF are you on about my not knowing what my name is?

Are you talking about someone posting under your name because that was not me. I would never do that and I would have thought the way i reacted to you doing it would show that. If I were that pathetic I would have done it when you did it to me :roll:

BTW please explain exactly what logic of mine is flawed. According to you all of it is so explain exactly how. Or STFU.

I know you probably tossed yourself off to this review but the fact is MGS4 is one of the greatest games ever made. Absolute 100% cast iron fact. Its the highest rated exclusive of this generation according to IGN and the highest rated PS3 or 360 exclusive according to Metacritic.

As I pointed out (as you convineinelty ignore) even an Xbox 360 site thinks its the best game in the last 10 years.

This all proves beyond any doubt whatsoever that its a brilliant game no matter how much you want it to suck. The fact that you are joining in with the criticism of it when you haven’t even played it is simply another indication of how pathetic you are :roll:

Ron Whitaker

On June 25, 2008 at 5:00 pm

Facts:

Metal Gear Solid 4 is a good game.
Metal Gear Solid 4 is better than GTA IV.
Metal Gear Solid 4 is not the greatest game ever.

Yahtzee actually hit the nail on the head. I really enjoyed MGS4; however, any game that makes you wait over 20 minutes to take control for the first time is a wee bit full of itself. I sat so long between hitting start to begin a new game and actually taking control of Snake that my controller went to sleep. Then, I was forced to sit through ridiculously long chapter intros on the off chance that there might be a gem of information in there that I would need to accomplish my mission.

Still and all, I liked the game. It’s definitely worthy of being next in the series, and definitely fun (when you get to play it). It doesn’t emphasize stealth as much as previous iterations, but that’s okay. Not every game can be Hitman (which, in case you are wondering, is the greatest third person stealth game EVER MADE).

If you like MGS, you should play this game. If you don’t skip it. It’s that simple. It’s not as good as the first MGS title, but it’s definitely worth playing.

iKiddo

On June 25, 2008 at 5:14 pm

“Facts:

Metal Gear Solid 4 is a good game.
Metal Gear Solid 4 is better than GTA IV.
Metal Gear Solid 4 is not the greatest game ever.”

Opinions – ARE NOW FACTS!

Karl98

On June 25, 2008 at 6:10 pm

Haha, it’s funny I got a response from the editor (I don’t know why I bother replying b/c this probably won’t even get read). Alright, fine, we’re talking about VIDEO GAMES – video games are for kids and not to be taken seriously… That’s why when they end up on the news (a la Mass Effect video) writers afiliated with video games become serious and formal. Otherwise, in every other incidence we should approach video games as just “VIDEO GAMES”.

I think video games can be an art form. There are moments in games like MGS4 that, in my OPINION, approach levels of story and presentation that are reminiscient of some of my favorite Sergio Leone flicks.

By stating opinions like they are a matter of fact, I see it as spin that is polluting a germinating mdeia and an artistic outlet – also western gamers, in general, tend to misunderstand cultural implications grounded in Japanese games like MGS (fullyramblomatic is an exception in his apparent love for Silent Hill 2 – Konami). MGS may border cheesy, but the sheer amount of polish and love that went into making that game is what I admire – also half of the motifs within that game are lost through translation. At least the game makes you use your cerebrum (unlike the swarms of mindless shooters out there that are dumming down our already programmed population).

“NEWS FOR GAMERS”… not “OPINIONS OF GAMERS FOR GAMERS”

Matt

On June 25, 2008 at 6:10 pm

@ the Xbox 360 fanboys.

I too, own at 360, and love it to death, and dislike the PS3 quite a bit…but lets just face it:

MGS4 is actually a good game. I know you would love to hate it, but in the end your wrong. Yes, the cut scenes are long, yes some of the controls are ing retarded, yes it sometimes gets very slow…but overall it overcomes all of these things to produce a (fairly) great storyline w/ an engaging plot and some fun action.

You all sitting here saying just because the reviews say its good doesn’t mean its really good is kind of like all the PS3 fanboys saying that all of the Halo games suck even though they are well reviewed. Lets not be brash here and lower ourselves to their level.

DancingCorpse

On June 25, 2008 at 7:14 pm

Hey Karl, hate to break it to ya, but JOURNALISTS are not what this site has, as the editor stated they are WRITERS; writers can give their opinion all they like, as well as bloggers, which technically this site is a blog (unless the site management would state otherwise).

Furthermore, he not once said MGS4 sucks and that you should not play it, in fact he suggests you play the other MGS’ first, no matter how much you don’t like the way he said it. All Yahtzee does is criticize, as he is a CRITIC. He is not an actual reviewer, as he does not score or recommend or not recommend any game. Before you say he does recommend and not recommend games, he does not, he merely states what group of people will like it, and which will hate it.

Also before you try to be a head about the writer/journalist stuff, check these links out:

Journalist: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Journalist
Writer: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Writer

And if you don’t accredit Wikipedia:

Journalist: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/Journalist
Writer: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/Writer

Now please stop being s to eachother, thank you.

Shawn Sines

On June 25, 2008 at 7:47 pm

@karl: I can appreciate your position here but let’s talk about audience for a second. Firstly you assume that journalism is always serious and centered. Well I’m a publishing journalist. I write for a number of outlets.. Gaming Today is a news blog. The voice is informal and opinion based. The work I’ve done in print is often what you might consider normal journalism as well as feature journalism. I’ve written hard news and interviews, I’ve also spent a lot of time doing features like reviews. Frankly the audience for the outlet drives the approach.

No one here is promoting “spin”. This is an outlet that asks us to put a personal face on the news, which is often dry. Personality – love it or hate it – drives our community and comments. If we published just the raw facts what would we be offering that you could not read on a PR Wire newsfeed? One of the roles of a features journalist or columnist is to give the news a perspective for discussion or debate.

If you want to question our journalism then consider that all the writers here are really Games Columnists giving opinions on gaming news.. opinions that some people feel are idiotic, while others find enjoyable.. and we’re happy to have both trolling the posts and adding their collective opinions to the mass.

And from a personal position I’m the first to laugh when someone claims what this site represents is traditional journalism.. just ask Ron:)

If you feel news and opinions on games should be relayed with the same gravity as genocidal world wars then I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree. We’re talking about fun.. but if you’re citing the jarring change when the hobby/industry is attacked (a la Mass Effect) then I think you misunderstand that to get a reasonable point across against unreasonable acts it sometimes takes a serious tone and approach to make an impact. You can do both and still be true to the information you are relaying.

Karl98

On June 25, 2008 at 8:16 pm

that’s soo cool that this generated such a response! Good input.

Sk8man

On June 25, 2008 at 8:29 pm

Ahh Yahtzee, true to your wit and funny as always.
I actually love this game, best game I have played in a long time. Games like MGS4, Bioshock, heck even Heavenly Sword give me a sense of hope that games truly can be a dramatic art form and push the envelope when it comes to interactive story telling.

I still LOL’d my face off at this review, funny funny stuff.

@ Shawn, I had a chance to read that review that Norbit posted. It’s actually the best review I’ve seen for MGS4, Gaming Today should do an article on that review. I’ve never seen a pro 360 site review a PS3 game before or the other way around. Seems ground breaking to me, perhaps even more worthy of note than Yahtzee’s latest fast talking, hilarious review.

Not trying to nit pick here or join in on the ferocious fanboy flap fest going on above. Just a thought!
Oh and one more thing; Yahtzee rocks! LOL

Karl98

On June 25, 2008 at 8:36 pm

I just feel that when it gets to the point that I become offended, something is wrong. I come to this site daily to become more informed – but after this post I ended up offended to the extent that I took the time out of my life to express my opinion (which doesn’t happen much).

“Thank you, Yahtzee Croshaw. I knew I could count on you to be the guy who finally played Metal Gear Solid 4, stood up, and said “What the hell?” Reviewers everywhere have been slathering praise all over the game’s redundant story and brushing aside its ridiculously long cut scenes, but not Croshaw. This has to be the most spot-on [[[review]]] of MGS4 I’ve seen. It is a great game to be sure — when you’re actually allowed to play it — but yes, Kojima really needs an editor.”

Looking at the tone of this post, there is such a “negative” undercurrent. I guess that is why I reacted the way I did – I’m no journalist so I’m not going to refute anything someone with more qualification/ethos than me should purport. But I am an educated human being who has pride in a heritage of games I grew up with – and when my baby gets stepped on like that, I naturally react.

Sorry for the negative energy I generated, but at least maybe the post might slip past the pride of a “writer” – to be considered in the future (less fiery mudslinging please)

Shawn Sines

On June 25, 2008 at 9:04 pm

Karl we’re actually allowed to comment on comments – something I can’t do as a journalist in other media.. and I know I appreciate the opinions of our readers.. even when they antagonize or insult the writers for their seeming personal gratification knowing we can’t fire back because we have jobs to protect (which is not what you did.. I’m referring to some of our other community members).

I think Johnathan was basically agreeing with Yahtzee’s always pointed criticism of games in the case of MGS4.

Personally I’m loving the game, I agree its less game than movie or art.. and for me that’s fine.. then again I am a huge fan of story and cutscenes in games that focus on it like Xenosaga or MGS. If the story is compelling I can wait 45 minutes to play, in fact I find myself rushing through gameplay to get to the next plot advance in many games… but as I’ve said before I think I’m a bit odd.

Stick around, participate and get to know us and we can all have a good discussion when comments generate “feelings” like this post did for you. Your opinions are no less valid than anyone elses.. especially ours.

Ron Whitaker

On June 25, 2008 at 9:08 pm

What Shawn said, and I’d add this:

Different opinions, when expressed maturely (as they have been in this thread), are the cornerstone of a strong community. I welcome folks with varied opinions to post here anytime. A mature, robust discussion makes for better consensus, just as a hotter fire makes for stronger steel.

On point:

Games that are cinematic in nature are fine. I was one of the 7 people in the world who thought Heavenly Sword was great, simply because the game felt so much like ‘playing a movie.’ I just could have done with a wee bit less movie in MGS4.

DancingCorpse

On June 25, 2008 at 11:56 pm

All in all, I’m in different about MGS4, because I do not own a PS3; therefore, can’t play MGS4, meaning I am not entitled to an opinion about it. :cool:

And it is good to see more mature responses than I have gotten for mature and educated responses in the past.

Steve

On June 26, 2008 at 4:33 am

Apparantly, its hip to worship MGS4/PS3, and if anyone so much as badmouths either, they are shoved into pits full of flaming wild dogs.

To me, MSG4 is a whole lot of “meh”, but interesting enough to keep you playing. But seeing as a certain core group of self appointed elitists think it’s the second coming of Christ, I’m inclined to slap my head and recall a certain other game that failed similar epic mainstay.

In a few months (probably less), everyone will have moved on. Mark my words.

Props to Yahtzee for not sugar coating the goods. Keep it up, good buddy.

ManOfTeal

On June 26, 2008 at 7:07 am

@Steve

You have just become my hero for putting into words what I think every time fanboys post something.

Just for the record for everybody to understand here I own every console currently on the market. I am not a fanboy, I am a gamer. I have my opinions about games just as you do and I don’t worship one console over another.

But I do feel the need to call bull on the fanboys that annoy and irritate everyone else with their “flawed logic.”

Go Marlins!!!!

DancingCorpse

On June 26, 2008 at 5:57 pm

@ManOfTeal

Liverpool 3