pun-3x

pilot-wannabe

50 XP

5th June 2004

0 Uploads

2 Posts

0 Threads

#1 14 years ago

I'm new to the multiplayer arena of BF1942. I've been practicing hard in single player at piloting (stick) and am capable of shooting down a plane in almost no time if he's lined up just right. Now, this part isn't so much about the AI, as it is where I hit him (engine-shots are like head-shots, I understand that part)

Anyway, I get into Multiplayer, and shooting down a 109 is like knocking down a bomber--it takes forever. I'm scoring hits; debris goes flying. But I just can't seem to take a plane down as fast. HOWEVER, other players take me down in the same amount of time I would shoot down the AI pilots. It isn't about AI vs. real-players that I've noticed. Plenty of enemy pilots fly that straight line that lets you just take your time on them. I'm wondering if it's just lag, or if I have something turned on or off that I don't know about. I have the game, RtR and the 1.6 patch, but haven't made any manual adjustments/mods of any kind. Is it the connection lag? (have cable, worst is 180 ping, best is about 80-100) Any help would be nice, even if it's to tell me that, well, I suck... ;)

WW2dude

/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

50 XP

29th July 2003

0 Uploads

3,825 Posts

0 Threads

#2 14 years ago

It has a lot to do with your ping. You have to lead your target. Depending on how high your ping is, aim ahead of him. Higher = farther ahead. Since BF's netcode is a little retarded, you only see the debre if where your shooting would hit if your ping was zero.

So just aim ahead of your targets. One more thing: The little things that show up around your crosshairs for a second are hit indicators. If you caused damage, they show up.

pun-3x

pilot-wannabe

50 XP

5th June 2004

0 Uploads

2 Posts

0 Threads

#3 14 years ago