I couldnt find the one I was talking about but this might work: http://dawnofwar.filefront.com/file/Kittys_DOW_Mod;32066
imperial guard and space marines use the same ships. its called the imperial navy. however, Grey KNights use the black ships. the thunderhawk is sm only and may carry 15 terminators, 20 space marines or a dreadnought. imperial guard use things like the aquila lander and drop pods. they also have other means to make planetfall but not the thunderhawk. and theres other fluff, like in the 3rd and 4th edition rule books. also look on forgeworld, codexs and imperial armour for quite a bit of fluff and PROOF.
Space Marines do not use the Imperial Navy.
The Space Marines have their own fleets. This allows for use of special equipment (like thunderhawks, drop pods, land speeders) that the Imperial Guard isn't allowed to use or doesn't use for whatever reason.
And Imperial Guard do not use drop pods or aquilla landers, really. The landers are too fragile to make combat insertions, and drop pods would kill anyone but a SM on arrival. They use Valkries and grav chutes and similar stuff.
If you'd look in Imperial Armour, at any Imperial Navy aircraft, they are only available to Imperial Guard armies. And Thunderhawks and Drop Pods are for Space Marines only.
Andon, horus, I'm giving you rep for telling people SENSE!
And also, guad use massive dropships. On the map editor, go to armies - npc - units - Guard Megaship. You'll see what I mean
yeah but i though you said that dow was wrong. and thse books all say that the SM use thunderhawks but doesnt say ig dont use them
while DoW can be wrong about a whole ton of things, and should not be used for fluff evidence (Scouts operate in squads of 5-10, not 2-4, for example, and Marine Squads, even Devastator squads, can never get 5 heavy weapons. Basilisk has a much longer range, Ordiance should do soo much more damage and hav a large blast radius, etc), there is nothing against Guard using dropships.
And Moogle - using the excuse of 'it doesn't say I can't' or 'it doesn't say they don't' flys about as well as a rock. in the TT game, that would be like saying you can have an army consisting of a Land Raider, a BaneBlade, Terminators, and FireWarriors. Just because it doesn't say you can't doesn't mean you can.
actually it does say you cant. it says unless the codex in question specifically says you can. yu cannot ally between codex's. and if the rulebook doesnt say i cant transport IG in a thunderhawk, then i dont see why i shouldnt
Ok to settle this dispute I went straight to GW, and GoogleMoogle unfortunately this was the answer: Hello, No they don't. Thanks, John Spencer Games Workshop - Hobby Specialist
LNA-Big_DOk to settle this dispute I went straight to GW, and GoogleMoogle unfortunately this was the answer: Hello, No they don't. Thanks, John Spencer Games Workshop - Hobby Specialist
Sorry, but I find that rather hard to believe. This genuine? If so, how about providing an e-mail screenshot? I can't believe they would reply with "hello, no they don't" Surely they'd go into more detail than that. So, e-mail message screenshot please.
Well, the e-mail format you'll get from Games Workshop varies from peron to person, so you're doubtful to get the same thing twice.