Fantastic Cache of Hitler Pics Uncovered! -1 reply

Please wait...

jumjum

Write heavy; write hard.

50 XP

11th April 2005

0 Uploads

6,827 Posts

0 Threads

#1 9 years ago

LIFE magazine has a series on the story of how one of Hitler's official photographers, Hugo Jaeger, buried 2,000 color transparencies of pics he took of Hitler from the 30's until the end of the war. They stayed hidden until Jaeger sold them to LIFE in 1965 - I haven't read yet what kept them from publication until now. But the pics they have published here are breathtaking for their nearness to Hitler and his inner circle. Surprising new pics of Nurmeburg rallies show them as bigger than we had even known through Riefenstahl. Amazing stuff. All color, although it's a little washed out after 70 years or so: Adolf Hitler, Up Close - Adolf Hitler: Up Close - LIFE




jumjum

Write heavy; write hard.

50 XP

11th April 2005

0 Uploads

6,827 Posts

0 Threads

#2 9 years ago

Sorry for the double, but there are some other WWII pic collections at the LIFE site - "D-Day And Operation Overlord": Dwight D. Eisenhower, Bernard L. Montgomery - WWII: D-Day and Operation Overlord - LIFE and "14 Major Battles": Bus Wreckage During the Battle of Britain - WWII: 14 Major Battles - LIFE. "17 Portraits By Margaret Bourke White":http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/23123/wwii-17-portraits "Marlene Dietrich And The Boys": http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/23026/wwii-marlene-dietrich-and-the-boys "The Allies At Play": http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/22971/wwii-the-allies-at-play "Buchenwald": http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/27312/wwii-buchenwald "Liberation Of The Camps": http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/22978/wwii-liberation-of-the-camps

Also some collections not limited to WWII, but still very interesting - "World's Bloodiest Battles": Gettysburg, 1863 - The World's Bloodiest Battles - LIFE, and "13 Battles That Turned The Tide": Battle of Antietam, 1862 - 13 Battles That Turned the Tide - LIFE, and "IN COMBAT: Great LIFE War Photos": http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/26812/in-combat-great-life-war-photos, "Words Of Comfort: Wartime Letters": http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/26872/words-of-comfort-wartime-letters, "Today's Wars: Iraq And Afghanistan" - http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/27032/todays-wars-iraq-and-afghanistan, "Vietnam:War In The Sky":http://www.life.com/image/first/in-gallery/23073/vietnam-war-in-the-sky




Guest

I didn't make it!

0 XP

 
#3 9 years ago

Despairing German Soldier at Battle of Kursk - WWII: 14 Major Battles - LIFE

I find this picture rather powerful. Sorry for the link, couldn't get it to copy and paste.




jumjum

Write heavy; write hard.

50 XP

11th April 2005

0 Uploads

6,827 Posts

0 Threads

#4 9 years ago

Yeah, LIFE really protects their stuff.

There are truly some incredibly moving pics there. Nobody did it better than LIFE. How can a movie match something like this: Jeremiah Purdie - In Combat: Great LIFE War Photos - LIFE




Von Mudra

Lo, I am Mudra, za emo soldat!

50 XP

25th September 2004

0 Uploads

7,064 Posts

0 Threads

#5 9 years ago

Captain Pyjama Shark;4907901Despairing German Soldier at Battle of Kursk - WWII: 14 Major Battles - LIFE

I find this picture rather powerful. Sorry for the link, couldn't get it to copy and paste.

There was a better photo of the same guy, taken from the side. You can really see that he is crying heavily....




MG42Maniac

A man of dubious moral fibre

50 XP

28th May 2003

0 Uploads

3,932 Posts

0 Threads

#6 9 years ago

Thanks for the Link, some excellent pictures in there.




Admiral Donutz VIP Member

Wanna go Double Dutch?

735,271 XP

9th December 2003

0 Uploads

71,460 Posts

0 Threads

#7 9 years ago

*Has a quick look (have to leave the desk right now actually)*

Interesting. Some nice pictures for sure.




jumjum

Write heavy; write hard.

50 XP

11th April 2005

0 Uploads

6,827 Posts

0 Threads

#8 9 years ago

I found out something interesting today. Hitler's sightseeing in Paris to view his new riches? It was at 6:00 a.m. I guess they didn't want anyone in the streets.