Gorillastein

I don't spend enough time here

50 XP

6th August 2005

0 Uploads

16 Posts

0 Threads

#1 14 years ago

I have no modding experience in terms of creating content. Though I am a lover of mods. I often enjoy them much more than the original. FH is an example of this. My question is with the mod tools that are out now, are the custom maps made to play in 1942 portable to the BF:2 mod tools? Where I am going with the question is this: If the maps, or at least portions of them can be ported, it would save time on development, right? So those of you in the know, can you enlighten me? Thank you in advance, :cheers: Gorillastein

Dime_a_Dozen

FH Dev Team Member

50 XP

1st January 2003

0 Uploads

324 Posts

0 Threads

#2 14 years ago

I think some parts of the maps are indeed "portable" but talking from experience of "reworking" a few DICE maps (Wake, Iwo, and Guadalcanal) as well as tweaking other teammates, a mapper quickly realizes his limitations and the urge to make new maps takes control of his motivations. I don't think it will save on development time. And you'll probably want to see different versions of old maps anyway (El Alamein for example).

Gorillastein

I don't spend enough time here

50 XP

6th August 2005

0 Uploads

16 Posts

0 Threads

#3 14 years ago

Hey Dime, Thanks for the response. I am looknig forward to FH2 with great anticipation! Keep it up!

[SYN] hydraSlav

SYNERGY Member

50 XP

2nd October 2003

0 Uploads

2,372 Posts

0 Threads

#4 14 years ago

From what i've heard, you can't use any of Dice objects anyways. So, the only thing you could port would be the heightmap only.

Diabolos_

The semipro smacktard

50 XP

22nd January 2005

0 Uploads

192 Posts

0 Threads

#5 14 years ago

Actually porting heightmaps is also prohibited. Read all about it HERE.

Arisaka

Staff suffers from PCD

50 XP

16th August 2004

0 Uploads

1,495 Posts

0 Threads

#6 14 years ago