*The.Doctor

Trust me, I'm a Doctor

102,440 XP

25th November 2003

0 Uploads

9,964 Posts

0 Threads

#1 11 years ago

Sorry if this have been asked before, but i'm soon going to be getting a good amount of money and have been thinking about getting a 360. But i was wondering, i've been hearing everywhere that you need a HDTV to really make the games look good, and something about problems like not being able to read some text and things like that without HD. but i don't have a HDTV, and can't save up that much money to get one.

I was wondering how well the 360 would look on a plain old 32" SDTV? Would it still look way better than the old xbox graphics do?

Oh, a bit off topic but, how often is the backwards compatibility updated to add more games? right now only half of my old Xbox games are supported.

Deimos

Pierce the Heavens

50 XP

27th January 2003

0 Uploads

9,197 Posts

0 Threads

#2 11 years ago

Well, the 360 looks quite a bit more decent than the Xbox, yeah, but not too much more. A better frame-rate in larger games (such as the living and breathing world of Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion) will probably be more noteworthy to you.

The 360 isn't eye stabbingly ugly in standard definition, no... but having an HDTV makes things much better. You get the full experience, in my opinion. ;)

As far as not being able to read text on SDTVs... the only case I've heard of this is with Capcom's Dead Rising (sweet game, by the way). The excuse given is that the game was developed on the basis of using an HDTV (or something like that).

I'm not sure how frequently the backwards compatibility roster for games gets updated, but I do know that it's easy as pie to get the latest patch for 'em via an Xbox Live update.

I didn't make it!

0 XP

#3 11 years ago

360userbar.gif

Fear-No-Evil

Pending Further Assignment

50 XP

9th May 2005

0 Uploads

750 Posts

0 Threads

#4 11 years ago