Superfluous Curmudgeon VIP Member

AOE2 Addict

11,725 XP

22nd December 2007

0 Uploads

793 Posts

9 Threads

#1 1 year ago

I played a bit during my mid teens, but never really got into it. Partly because of lack of people to play it with (and lack of social initiative), and partly because of lack of funds.  But this last semester I started playing regularly with about 5-10 people and purchased about $500 worth of guns n' gear (much more than I need, but a good investment for a competitive loadout). Also have been to one 100-person game. It's fantastic fun - a combination of hide and seek with strategic thinking and practical skills, all while getting some exercise and sunlight. It also is a tinkerer's sport. Modifications both custom and off-the-shelf can keep you occupied for a great deal of time. In my relatively  small amount of experience, it's done me a great deal of good, so I was wondering if anyone else has played much if at all.

MrFancypants Forum Admin

The Bad

216,815 XP

7th December 2003

0 Uploads

19,996 Posts

6 Threads

#2 1 year ago

Haven't tried it yet, but I'd like to. The relatively high cost is keeping me from trying it out, but I think it would be a fun way of getting some exercise. I played lasertag recently and while I didn't like it very much technology wise (not a whole lot of feedback) it did keep me on the move for a few hours.

Mikouen VIP Member

What?

145,602 XP

4th September 2005

4 Uploads

11,730 Posts

2 Threads

#3 1 year ago

Historically, I've been known to. Not for quite a while though. Even had a UKARA registration, but that's lapsed now.

We've got an over-abundance of airsoft sites in the UK, covering every scenario and ruleset. You've got the guys who just throw on armour and play a team deathmatch, then you've got sites that host full military operations straight out of Ghost Recon. I really stuck to the more casual urban/CQC sites when I played.