101 Noob questions -1 reply

Please wait...

I didn't make it!

0 XP

#1 10 years ago

Ok I'm a noob Just got the game and I have alot of questions. First off I geather I need foundation but what is it and what does it do exactly? 2 what exactly are PY and TGL files? 3 What all do I need to make a ship operational in game? 4 How do I edit the ships weapons and equipment?

laguardia528

GF makes me horny

50 XP

2nd March 2008

0 Uploads

82 Posts

0 Threads

#2 10 years ago

First Off: Foundation is a script that allows mods to be added to the game. To get it, download BCMP (Bridge Commander Mod Packager) and BCMI (Bridge Commander Mod Installer). Those two are essential to using a pimped out game.

.py scripts are the heart of the game. these files are your ships, planets, weapons and required for the operation of the game.

i believe (but am not sure) that .tgl files are ship description files. Either that or textures.

To edit ships, either look to forums like bc-central.com or bc-universe.com; they have tutorial posts that could better explain how to modify and create ships than i could.

Freakydude

You will succumb to the Freaks

50 XP

24th August 2006

0 Uploads

205 Posts

0 Threads

#3 10 years ago

A continuation of what laguardia528 said. The .py files are the un-compiled python scripts that you can use to edit BC. The .pyc files are the compiled files. You can get the BC SDK here at BCFiles to mod anything stock. As for the .tgl files, they are used only for ship descriptions. They're only really useful for QuickBattle or the subtitles in SP which I have never touched. Besides, there's a command in the .py files that let you add a custom ship description without .tgl files but it only works when you're selecting friendly and enemy ships in the QuickBattle menu. Anyways, I would also recommend you get the latest version of the Ship Menu Creator. This mod makes it easy to add new ships into the game. I believe they're on version 3.0.

I didn't make it!