Your Worst Gaming Anecdotes -1 reply

Please wait...

Carnivore

It's nice to meat you

50 XP

28th August 2006

0 Uploads

580 Posts

0 Threads

#1 12 years ago

What is your worst possible anecdotes about a table-top 40k game? Let's not be close-minded, you may include Titan Legion, Space Marin or Battle Fleet Gothic as well, you know what I mean. I'll start with three events. I usely play 2vs2 with an ork pal. I play Chaos/Khorne. There was that game against a Dark Angels/Eldars alliance where we got the Initiative. My buddy starts his moves, I do mine, then the Enemy. Shooting phase. My pal starts something with his greenskins and he misfire. One after another, his vehicles blow up and the blast radiuses incinerate half of my army... We were laughing all the time...it was unbelievable. My first turn. Shooting Phase; I got that big chaos dreadnought possessed and all, so buffed up, he leaking Victory Points. I just finished a Bjorn Conversion, a 22 hours work and wanted it to be special on gamle stats too. Anyway, I'm ready to fire my Mk1 Heavy Plasma and I misfire...I roll again...my dreadnought explodes... My eldar opponent couldn't believe his eyes. On the fair side, he told me to forget that shooting phase and start again... My first turn. Shooting Phase. My overbuffed chaos dreadnought become fire-crazy and utterly vape my over-bearded champion with its plasma. Eck!




Inqisitor_Jones

Taking a Exterminatise to YOU!

50 XP

6th May 2006

0 Uploads

353 Posts

0 Threads

#2 12 years ago

i have nether heard of misfire in warhammer 40k. are you sure your not mixing it up with fantisy?. And Plasma cannons in dreadnoughts dont over-heat. Mine was when why battle cannons completly missed the Enemy and hit my ally (he was playing Sisters of Battle) and i killed three 10 man squads. he was quite annoyed.




GoogleMoogleMaximus

Antidotes are useful

50 XP

27th November 2005

0 Uploads

3,551 Posts

0 Threads

#3 12 years ago

i ahve one from fantasy. turn two my elite CC squad of khorne chosen charges the dwarf army, and with the 21 dice i rolled i hit 6 and wounded none. then the dwarfs 9 dice killed 9 chaos warriors. sending them fleeing, and the whole army of ldrship 8+ units fled the table ne by one 40k: my chaos dread which has as many upgrades as it really can fires its plasma cannon, rolls 1 then olls 6 on the glancing hit table. turn two, my eldar vehicle all move 7". one is destroyed and explodes. al other vehicles are either exploded or immobilised (and with a 7" mve that means destroyed)




Marshall_Brant

DEATH TO THE FALSE EMPEROR!!!!

50 XP

3rd April 2006

0 Uploads

4,733 Posts

0 Threads

#4 12 years ago

this happened to a friend of mine: ok we were at a local GW store and we were on a Ork camp map and my friends dread with lascannons was facing a wall and when his trun was going to come about he was going to use the las on the Nightbringer, But a squad of Necron Warriors shot it first and low be hold the dread was immbolized facing the wall and was unable to move and all the warriors and the NB (<-Nightbringer) just waltized pased it. as for me: same store I was fighting an army of Space Wolves and he went first so I was like ok lets see what he can do, and so he did my Raider was immbolized facing a tree, my two squads of Marines were killed my 'lisk was destroyed socerer killed and retinue as well, Randy (my DP) was bannished all I had left was a squad of un-roided 'zerkers which killed three assult Marines than they all died. My Grand Company was killed within four turns and I :bawl: at the sight of all my dead IWs. But the good thing was that I lasted to the sixth turn which ment the battle was over and I didn't suffer a crushing defeat, but a tie :D




Guest

I didn't make it!

0 XP

 
#5 12 years ago

What was it doing facing against a wall! That was a stupid idea lol, my worst thing... well i was using 2 armies against 2 friends (allies) they were the Tau and Tyranids, the worst combination (ranged and CC) anyway, the Tau tore my guard and marines to shreads whilst hormagaunts went from 1 squad to the next just ripping them up!! i gave up in the end, i couldnt beleive it, ass kicked in cc and range cus of a hammer head!!




Carnivore

It's nice to meat you

50 XP

28th August 2006

0 Uploads

580 Posts

0 Threads

#6 12 years ago
Inqisitor_Jonesi have nether heard of misfire in warhammer 40k. are you sure your not mixing it up with fantisy?. And Plasma cannons in dreadnoughts dont over-heat.

It might be an age thing... child... :D In 2nd ED. Chaos Plasma Canon did overheat... InqUisitor Jones child.




WH40K

Ermmm....

50 XP

27th March 2006

0 Uploads

414 Posts

0 Threads

#7 12 years ago

My freind got his entire black templars army shredded by one carnifex, it kept on consolidating into his other units (do carnifexs get additional attacks if they consolidate into another unit, if they have just used up their attacks on a previous one?, otherwise, my other freind was cheatin', bearing in mind my other freind, the Pwn3d one, did kinda deserve it)




hvy weapon necrons

necrons with big guns hehehe

50 XP

26th August 2006

0 Uploads

40 Posts

0 Threads

#8 12 years ago

1st plasma weapons don't overheat when put on tanks 2nd turning doesn't count as moving and so tanks facing walls can turn around. The Rulebook Tells All Go Forth And Buy It




Guest

I didn't make it!

0 XP

 
#9 12 years ago
WH40KMy freind got his entire black templars army shredded by one carnifex, it kept on consolidating into his other units (do carnifexs get additional attacks if they consolidate into another unit, if they have just used up their attacks on a previous one?, otherwise, my other freind was cheatin', bearing in mind my other freind, the Pwn3d one, did kinda deserve it)

Cheating, if you consolidate in to another squad you leave it in combat with them and work out results the next turn, you do not get one unit (in this case the carnifex) to wipe out one squad and continue to another and rip them apart




WH40K

Ermmm....

50 XP

27th March 2006

0 Uploads

414 Posts

0 Threads

#10 12 years ago

Oh well, the BT dude still deserved it!!! (I'll have to remember that incase he tries to do it to me, doesn't the leaping biomorph let him do that or something?)