Oblivious

I tawt I taw a puddy tat...

50 XP

30th December 2002

0 Uploads

2,806 Posts

0 Threads

#1 10 years ago

I'm an absolute laptop noob, so I'm hoping those of you in the know here can lemme know if this sounds worth it...

(quick back-story) So my girlfriend of 2 months gave me this Dell Latitude D820 laptop to spite her ex. He got it and another that she uses from his work, presumably unscrupulously, if you catch my drift. Now we are breaking up (amicably, long story), and I'd like to give her some money for it. I was thinking in the neighborhood of $400-500 (USD). Looking up this laptop online, I know it sold for $1500-$2400 new (1.5-2 yrs ago). This unit also hasn't been used much at all (essentially new). I know it's more of a business person laptop than a gaming one like I desire, but the ones I desire are in the $1500-2000 range, so that ain't happening soon.

It seems this laptop isn't the stock model either. Here's the specs on it:

Specs: Intel Core Duo T2400 (1.83 GHz) 2GB Samsung DDR2-533 (1x 2GB; 1 slot still free) Nvidia Quadro NVS 120M (GeForce Go 7400) 512MB 80GB Fujitsu HDD (SATA, 5400rpm) CD/DVD combo drive

Networking: wifi: Intel 3945ABG EV-DO wireless WAN Internal Toshiba Bluetooth + EDR wifi network available indicator (when laptop is off)

ports, jacks & slots: 4-pin FireWire, VGA, infrared, serial, 4x USB 2.0 ports (one = half USB port, half power jack); 56Kbps modem, Gigabit Ethernet, headphone/mic jacks; and one each slots for Type II PC Cards, Express Cards, & Smart Cards

Battery life is typically 4-5 hrs

Why do I want it and what for? 1. I don't have a laptop 2. Web Browsing, Word Processing 3. I don't have a laptop 4. Watching movies when on the road, plane, etc. 5. I don't have a laptop 6. Light gaming (i.e. - older stuff, pre-2005; so I'm not expecting any miracles here)

As I said, I intend to give her $400-500 for it, and she is fine with that. So, should I pull the trigger or should I just give it back to her?