Silberio VIP Member

Bourée

392,744 XP

9th October 2007

0 Uploads

37,216 Posts

2 Threads

#1 2 years ago

So I performed a clean install of Ubuntu on my laptop, mainly because I'd been wanting to format the thing for a while and I thought why not give it a try.

Everything went perfectly well except that wireless networking doesn't work. I've been looking up help for two days now with no results. I've managed to install 802.11 Broadcom drivers (whatever any of this means) and I think I got the right drivers according what info I've looked up, but I still have no WiFi.

Now, thing is, I'm completely new to this Linux thing. I've ran a few of these sudo commands, but apart from what people have said in different forums, I have no idea exactly what is wrong nor what I have to do to fix it. I have no idea what info to provide, so if any of ya'll might know what could help, let me know what info to get and I'll do it.

All I know so far though, is that it says my network driver is "Unclaimed", which I read somewhere means that it's not recognizing the wireless card or something, but yeah... I have no idea.

qjyUJrq.png

Superfluous Curmudgeon VIP Member

AOE2 Addict

11,722 XP

22nd December 2007

0 Uploads

793 Posts

9 Threads

#2 2 years ago

What version of Ubuntu did you install? The latest non-beta version? Also, do you know what your network adapter is? If not, the model of your laptop?

Linux can be really finicky when it comes to user-installed drivers.

Lysdestic VIP Member

Dr. Professor Logic, PhD.

44,932 XP

11th November 2003

0 Uploads

4,256 Posts

93 Threads

#3 2 years ago

My Linux is a little rusty, but Wireless drivers are no surprise here.

First thing, I'd suggest hooking in via Ethernet to make your life easier in setting up the wireless drivers.

If you can, run lspci from a terminal so we can see what card you have.