*The.Doctor

Trust me, I'm a Doctor

102,440 XP

25th November 2003

0 Uploads

9,964 Posts

0 Threads

#1 12 years ago

Hey guys, i'm doing some overclocking to my 7300GT here and was wondering something. The memory absolutly refuses to go above 800Mhz (stock speed is 667Mhz), but my load temps are still quite low when i start to get artifacting. While overclocking with ATI tool, as soon as the memory is set at 800Mhz the screen starts artifacting like crazy, but load temps are only around 53C when this happens. The core overclocks very well though, i stopped it at 452Mhz (102Mhz above stock) just because it seemed high enough for now, it was still going higher will no problems.

My temps are: Stock speeds = 40C idle / 48C Load OC @ 452/778 = 43C idle / 53C load

Is it possible that the memory equipped on the card just will not do 800Mhz regardless of heat?

Chris

I pretend I'm cooler than AzH

50 XP

20th February 2006

0 Uploads

5,663 Posts

0 Threads

#2 12 years ago

Looks that way, those temps are fine. Not sure, but could it be pre-programmed to not go higher than 800Mhz?

rob.

I am the Walrus

50 XP

24th October 2004

0 Uploads

5,580 Posts

0 Threads

#3 12 years ago

-StaticX-Hey guys, i'm doing some overclocking to my 7300GT here and was wondering something. The memory absolutly refuses to go above 800Mhz (stock speed is 667Mhz), but my load temps are still quite low when i start to get artifacting. While overclocking with ATI tool, as soon as the memory is set at 800Mhz the screen starts artifacting like crazy, but load temps are only around 53C when this happens. The core overclocks very well though, i stopped it at 452Mhz (102Mhz above stock) just because it seemed high enough for now, it was still going higher will no problems.

My temps are: Stock speeds = 40C idle / 48C Load OC @ 452/778 = 43C idle / 53C load

Is it possible that the memory equipped on the card just will not do 800Mhz regardless of heat?