Radeon 9800 Pro - Rendering problems 9 replies

Please wait...

I didn't make it!

0 XP

#1 11 years ago

Hey guys, new here I was just hoping that some of you's could help me sort out a problem that I've been experiencing, not for the first time either. I'm pretty sure it's a problem with my 9800 Pro, and fairly certain it's got to do with rendering OpenGL graphics in games.

I'm no expert, but I thought that Oblivion and Fable weren't supposed to be played exactly with disconnected lines and polygons splayed across the screen, which tend to be connected to the center of the screen. I've upgraded my software to the latest Catalyst 6.11, and I still get this problem. Let me show you to start off with (vids filmed using Fraps):

http://hosted.filefront.com/awesomestreak/

If you look at the Fable and Oblivion videos, you'll see my problem...which sucks. I have yet to upgrade the BIOS on my card, but if anyone could give their two cents I would appreciate it! All the other DirectX games run fine, like NFS Carbon, NFS Most Wanted, Call Of Duty 2, Serious Sam 2 (I'm not entirely certain which games are DirectX and which is OpenGL, but yeah.....)

Sorry to talk alot :) Harley

Rookie VIP Member

128,030 XP

3rd May 2005

0 Uploads

11,953 Posts

0 Threads

#2 11 years ago
me-myself;3402194Hey guys, new here I was just hoping that some of you's could help me sort out a problem that I've been experiencing, not for the first time either. I'm pretty sure it's a problem with my 9800 Pro

I'm gonna stop you right there and suggest that you consider getting a new card. :p

The effect you're describing is extremely common to a lot of 9800s, it's called artifacting and occurs when the graphics card is overheating. In this case it's usually due to ATI's absymal cooling solution, and the fact that the card is extremely inefficient - in that it generates a shitload of heat.