What's This? 9 replies

Please wait...

Guest

I didn't make it!

0 XP

 
#1 13 years ago

I was looking on my harddrive and i found a folder called My Shared Folder. Its big about 1.3 gig. I need to know if its safe to delete before I delete it. It has some jpg files, desktop.ini, and about 10 files that are called: download(theres a whole bunch of numbers here).dat. Also the jpg files icons seem a bit lighter i'll post a screenshot if i need to, one more thing all of the files labels are in blue, whats that mean? Help is appreciated.




medicfod

The forums staffers think I'm Cool

50 XP

9th June 2005

0 Uploads

233 Posts

0 Threads

#2 13 years ago

Umm im not completely sure but i think the "My Shared Folder" is a folder that holds everything that is shared between the accounts on your pc. And as for being safe to delete im sure it is but create a backup and try deleting it (if you want to)




NoOdLe

Network \"Hitman\"

50 XP

4th November 2002

0 Uploads

421 Posts

0 Threads

#3 13 years ago

Are you the only one who uses your computer, and are you the computer administrator. You usually have to manualy opulate that folder so someone had to have put those files in there for you. I wouldn't delete them until you know who put them there. if you are the only one who uses that computer, then you have/had a virus, it is an open share on a network and someone found it, or some program used it as a some odd temp folder. First I would check to make sure the folder is not shared if you are on an open network.




Revenge VIP Member

Shizzle my nizzle

117,165 XP

28th July 2004

0 Uploads

10,354 Posts

0 Threads

#4 13 years ago

Basically, the 'My Shared Folder' is the place you dump files that you want others on your network (or other people using the computer under different logins) to be able to see and use. Since it's your shared folder, if you don't know why the stuff is there, then you can delete it. No one will be using your shared folder to store their files.

There isn't much point in shared folders if you don't use a network - you can access other users' files simply by going into Documents and Settings.




Bs|Archaon

I would die without GF

50 XP

15th March 2006

0 Uploads

5,910 Posts

0 Threads

#5 13 years ago

Actually, the Shared Documents are not his Shared Documents, it's shared between all the users on the computer (hence the name :p). Soul, there won't be anything there that your system needs, but if it's 1.3gb it's obviously not got that big by accident, so check with anyone else that uses your computer.

You may not be able to delete the folder itself, but anything in it shouldn't be a problem.




Guest

I didn't make it!

0 XP

 
#6 13 years ago

Yes, I have only one account on my computer and im the administrator. When I tried to delete the files the .dat files went but the computer said all of the jpg files and the desktop.ini were system files should I still delete them? I had no idea how they got there.




NoOdLe

Network \"Hitman\"

50 XP

4th November 2002

0 Uploads

421 Posts

0 Threads

#7 13 years ago

yes, still delete them, the desktop.ini jsut contains information on the syle of that folder, give it the boot!




Kilobyte

What does the Fox say?

69,060 XP

23rd November 2002

0 Uploads

6,468 Posts

0 Threads

#8 13 years ago
NoOdLegive it the boot!

Just to warn you. If you do "try" to delete it. It will probably be back later.

Also, if the letters are [COLOR="Blue"]blue[/COLOR], then they are compressed.

That means that either A., they were not taking up 1.3gb, or B. they were a bit more than 1.3gb.




Chris

I pretend I'm cooler than AzH

50 XP

20th February 2006

0 Uploads

5,663 Posts

0 Threads

#9 13 years ago

TBH, be careful deleting anything that claims to be a sys file.




kotfquig

Master skinner-in my mind :-P

50 XP

2nd August 2004

0 Uploads

284 Posts

0 Threads

#10 13 years ago

ok, not looking at any of the other posts my shared folder can be a folder between accounts, but in this case it sounds like the "my shared folder" created by programs shared between user accounts so in my oppinion from what you first said it sounds safe to delete it, but id get a few more oppinions first