Got a question for any model makers out there. -1 reply

Please wait...

I didn't make it!

0 XP

#1 12 years ago

Ok, I hope this isn't in the wrong section, but I only registered to ask a few questions. First off, I am completely new to model making, and only wish to fool around and see if I can do what I'm pictureing in my head. So first question. I and a few friends have tried finding an answer to this question, and we've come up with nothing so far. Is there a way to take an existing model from the game and edit that? An example of what I want to try doing with one of the models, using the model of Damarus and make a maskless version of it. I have the MayaPLE program that came with the game and a friend suggesting also using blender and Blender.org. So is it possible to use one of the existing models with one of these programs? I can't figure a way to get the meshes or anything to load without getting a "unrecognized file type" message. One of my friends who does practice with modeling can't even answer this. I've found countless walkthroughs and explanations on making a model from scratch, but nothing about taking a model from a game and editing it from there. (Not to mention I can't get anything other than maps to load on UnrealED which I am assuming is supposed to work like that.) Any help would be very appriciated as I have no clue where else to try finding an answer. I'm not looking for anyone to do anything for me as one of my friends offered already, just something I want to try doing and need some information to start.

crackpatch

The forums staffers think I'm Cool

50 XP

31st December 2003

0 Uploads

158 Posts

0 Threads

#2 12 years ago

from what I know ut packs everything together, meaning an utx file can contain several files etc, in the unreal editor, export the model u want to change, I can't help u much further :(

I didn't make it!

0 XP

#3 12 years ago